×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Gift
     

The Gift

4.6 49
by Richard Paul Evans
 

See All Formats & Editions

A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box and Finding Noel from New York Times bestselling author Richard Paul Evans. Sure to be a classic, this new tale brings to life the joy of the season and demonstrates the redemptive power of love: there is no hurt so great that love cannot heal

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
irishgirl91 More than 1 year ago
Richard Paul Evans did not dissapoint me in this wonderful book. Each of his books are great. This a is a must read. You will laugh, smile and cry. But it is not a sad cry. Read and Enjoy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was wonderful story about courge, faith, hope and love. I will read it again some day.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book from start to finish. I couldn't put the book down. I read it in one day and will be purchasing the authors other books. Highly recommend this book
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
Everyone would love a miracle, especially during the Christmas season. As demonstrated with his mega selling 'The Christmas Box,' Richard Paul Evans is an author who can make us believe in them. As he writes, '...some things are true whether you want to believe them or not.' An especially touching element of this story is that protagonist Nathan Hurst has Tourette's syndrome as does the author. And, Evans once more finds inspiration for his work in personal experience - a dreadful accident occurred to his brother as it does to the fictional Nathan's brother. Thus, this is a book to encourage and enrich us as it renews belief in faith, hope and healing. Our story opens with Nathan remembering his childhood. As he says, 'Tourette's wasn't the worst part of my childhood.' In addition to the ostracization he suffered from other children, his brother suffered a near fatal accident, his father committed suicide, and his mother withdrew. Thus, Nathan was very much alone in the world....until he met Addison Parker and her children, 6-year-old Lizzy and 8-year-old Collin who is desperately ill with leukemia. Working as an in-house detective for the MusicWorld chain, Nathan has a bad case of bronchitis and is on his way home from a business trip when he is stranded by bad weather in the Denver airport. Also stranded are Allison and her family. She has no place to stay, so Nathan offers to give them his hotel room. It is there that Collin touches him and heals him not only of bronchitis but also Tourette's. Readers learn that each person Collin heals weakens him, bringing him closer to his own death. As with other stories by Evans The Gift elicits tears as well as offering comfort because we're reminded that no matter what happen in life, 'In the end, love wins.'
ElizabethLynne More than 1 year ago
This book was very touching.I enjoyed reading this book.My dad's wife lent me this book. It was a very good idea. She thought I'd enjoy this book and I did. This book touched me emotionally. I work with special ed. children at a Children's Hospital. I know how hard it is for children with special needs to communicate with others. I remember this one boy who had Tourette's. I can't believe how much Nathan's boss acted and Addison'ts husband plus her husband's client Riley.Those people were so selfish.Nathan's boss wanted to be healed b/c of his back problems. Addison's husband wanted to get richer and her husband's client wanted to be cured. I felt sorry for Collin,when he healed a person he got sicker.He took a piece of them with him. He first healed their dog Goldie when she ran out of the house and got hit by the car. He brought Goldie back to life. The woman who hit Goldie saw what Collin did and she wanted him to heal her sick son who was dying. Mrs. Pyranovich didn't care if Collin died doing it. She wanted her son to be healthy again. Addison wanted to keep her son safe and alive. This is why she didn't want anyone to see what her son could do. She did it so her son could live longer. When the word got out that Collin could heal, alot of the people came out wanting to be healed or just wanted to be around him. They were so selfish. Especially, Collin's dad who left them in the beginning and now he wants Collin to heal this millionaire for a lot of money. He cared more about getting richer than his own son life. That made me so mad. Collin's dad was never there for them. He left them. Collin's dad and the millionaire Riley got what they deserved in the end. The millionaire-Riley passed away. Collin had tried healing him but it didn't work if Collin didn't want to heal the person. It only worked when Collin liked the person. This man named Hands wasn't a nice man either. He had affairs and he didn't care about Collin. He wanted to be healed. He had poor back problems. Collin had healed this woman-Miche who wasn't able to have a baby. Collin liked her and he healed her. She got her baby in the end. Collin healed people who deserved it. The healing process didn't work on selfish,cold hearted people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nathan Hurst has had a rough life. He left home at an early age after his brother's death and his father's suicide. Nathan's mom was absent after these tragic events so the thought of leaving seemed to be the only solution.

Never letting go of his past, Nathan spends most of his adult life isolated from the rest of the world. His isolation is enabled by his career, which requires him to travel often each year. Returning home from a business trip, Nathan finds himself stranded at an airport due to a snowstorm. While waiting in line to book another flight, he meets Addison and her two children, Collin and Lizzy. This chance encounter sets in motion a chain of events that will change Nathan's life and permits him to unload the burdens of his past.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this to be just as wonderful as Mr. Paul's other inspiring books. This is another one could not put down even when I had to. Love the story, characters are very lovable and you can connect with them easily. Can't wait for the next masterpiece from this brillant author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had this book for about a month before I started to read it. I could not put it down. I was pulled inot the book by each charachter as they came to life by the authors words. I read this book in 6 hours. It made me cry, laugh and feel for each charachter. I highly reccomend this title to anyone who needs a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is sooo good, thank you Mr.Evans for writing such awesome stories, they make me think about my life and what I should do to help myself and others ariund me... bless you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anything Richard Paul Evans writes is a wonderful read.
quaintinns More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book—great storytelling by Evans, as usual. Nathan works as head of security for a music store chain with tons of health issues since birth. With his travels he meets a woman with two children in an airport, stranded and offers to share his hotel suite, as the little boy was a chemo patient. This was the beginning of an amazing relationship. Colin was a special boy with a special gift of healing people; however, it would drain himself and his health when he used this gift. Sadly he was unable to heal himself. With a touch, he heels Nathan and soon after, he falls for Addison, the mother and this sweet family. With some challenges along the way, this book was a very uplifting story about unselfish love, giving, and caring for other---an important lesson for all. Be sure and listen to the audio.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love
TammyK1 More than 1 year ago
LOVED this! One of the best that Evans has produced.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Silvana Gatto More than 1 year ago
my friend told me about it and fom what she said I reallllly want to read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago