×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gingerbread Architect: Recipes and Blueprints for Twelve Classic American Homes
     

Gingerbread Architect: Recipes and Blueprints for Twelve Classic American Homes

2.3 16
by Susan Matheson, Lauren Chattman, Alexandra Grablewski (Photographer)
 

What happens when an architect who is also an avid baker gets together with a house-obsessed pastry chef? Twelve classic American homes rendered in gingerbread.

Are you dreaming of a colonial Christmas? Here’s your chance to build a traditional Cape Cod house in freshly baked gingerbread, complete with breath-mint pinnacles, Twizzler shingles, and a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gingerbread Architect: Recipes and Blueprints for Twelve Classic American Homes 2.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We've made 6 of the designs over the past few years; we don't follow the decoration ideas, just the construction, but the houses go together fine!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is a cute coffee table book to bring out around christmas time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have made two of the designs in the book.  The Tudor Revival house and the Adirondack Cabin.  I love this book and will be making the Victorian Farmhouse for Christmas this year.  The designs are not really for beginners unless you are very keen.  They also leave out one of the most key pieces of advice about putting your cut pieces of dough into the freezer prior to cooking and it helps immensely in keeping the shape exact. The plans are detailed and accurate.  The color schemes are so cute and I have learned general principals of color selection just from closely examining their color schemes.  Highly recommend for anyone who loves architecture or gingerbread or Christmas!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
More than any book in our crafty gingerbread-house-ogling (and, occasionally, -making) collection -- and we have one (or five...ahem) of 'em -- this book, more than any other, not only captivates with its varied designs, it also manages to keep a few of them small enough in scale for me to actually attempt. And it has an entire first section on technique and recipes, so that one can plunge in headfirst to a design feeling prepared, or you can just dip in and out for inspiration, be it from the lovely photos or the detailed instructions. More than just a "coffee table" book -- although it is that, and a good one -- it is one that can whip my children into creative powerhouses. And at the very least, it can encourage you to experiment with a little extra panache, even for those of you who just want the comfort of the ol' square ginger-shack.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As an architect who hosts an anual holiday gathering, this book provided us with both a perfect gift as well as a great resource for our annual gingerbread architecture competition. Great photos, good directions, not too expensive. I loved it.