×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Girl
  • Alternative view 1 of Girl
  • Alternative view 2 of Girl
     

Girl

3.8 49
by Blake Nelson, Ali Smith (Photographer)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Meet Andrea Marr, straight-A high school student, thrift-store addict, and princess of the downtown music scene. Andrea is about to experience her first love, first time, and first step outside the comfort zone of high school, with the help of indie rock band The Color Green.

"After I saw Todd Sparrow something deep inside me began to change. It was not a big

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Girl 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'll start out blunt - I've never read such a horrible book. And I never thought it would be possible for a book to mentally scar me like GIRL has. I remember thinking halfway through the book it may possibly get better, however by the end of the book I wanted to buuuuuurn it. Sounds horrible yes, but here is why: I saw GIRL in the bookstore about a week ago. The back summary seemed really interesting and like an enjoyable book. I started reading it right away, its easy to follow and most likely too easy to follow - more like an amateur writer who never did well in English class. That aside, I continued reading and the plot began to fall apart 'it contradicted the back cover, too!' And after a while, the book began to drabble on and on in an completely unrealistic manner. Look at it this way: If you put yourself in the narrator/main character's shoes the actions made in the book are nonsensical and simply ridiculous! And is it just me or when a book focuses on trying to be a realistic interpretation of a teenage girl and does the complete opposite - something isn't right. At all. Furthermore, there is no climax which leaves the book on a slow, static journey to um, no where. Finally, the author hints at the end there is a possible sequel, and oh my, if there would be anything worse than GIRL in this world it would be its sequel... I really shouldn't say something like 'This book sucks' in a review because most people won't take a comment like that seriously. But please trust me - this book sucks. I don't believe I will ever be able to look at a Taco Time again without holding back vomitttt. Thank you for reading, and I hope you find this useful!
Orwick_Girl More than 1 year ago
Do Not Read if You Like the Following 1. Dialogue 2. Mainstream Fashion (Hot Topic included) 3. Romantic and Happy Endings Other than that, its a great book. When I first read it, I didn't get it because I was so used to things like Meg Cabot and Stephanie Meyer. Still, it you want to be driven away from those books, Girl is a perfect way to start. I eventually got how it was about underground music and getting away from the high school image. It's also a real good book if your into the 90's. Needless to say, I will probably be buying this book a second time for my nook and I have read countless times.
AvidBookReaderMMP More than 1 year ago
At the beginning of this this book, I thought that it was pretty good and pretty interesting. The way that it is written as a kind of continuous monologue was a little weird but I got used to it and began to like it. The main character, Andrea, is kinda stupid and naive. Towards the end, the book became really sad and depressing. When I finished it, I felt like crying, it just sucked the energy and life right out of me. After reading a book like this, I wonder why any people want to go into the music business because it just sounds horrible. And this is not the first book that I read about the music industry and makes it sound bad. Guitar Girl by Sarra Manning made me feel the same way as this book did when I finished reading it (unhappy and sad). I don't dislike this book, but I don't particularly like it either. It's an okay book. Read it if you want to.
Delonna Ford More than 1 year ago
this book is not very good at all....it had no real purpose at all...basically it just went throught her high school years and it know meaning. she just hooked up with a couple different guys and took this personally of being cool..but the ending wasnt how i would expect it....it was alot of changes the author could have started an endless drama to make a purpose to the story....but it was stupis over all.
MeganNoel More than 1 year ago
This book was the worst I ever read. The only reason I finished it was because I can't stop reading a book till it's finished, an ocd of mine. This story is told in a first person narrative, it has little to none dialogue. It's all 'He did, then she told me blah blah blah.' The girl is a boring teen who whines all the time. It follows this skanky girl around through sophomore to senior year. She is the definition of skanky teenager. The girl in the novel is constantly trying to look 'cool' and be cool. It covers how she does drugs and drink alcohol, and lie to her parents, and sleeps around with many different people. Don't let the cool cover trick you, it really is a terrible book. Please take my advise and don't buy this book.
Megann More than 1 year ago
I am 15, and i read this book today.
It was intense to say the lease.
This book deals with the underground music scene, and this girl strggling to find herseelf and fit in with the cool crowd that hangs out at the Clubs.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is like entering the journal of a nerdy girl who gradually learns about bands and stuff mostly through her friend Cybil who shaves her head and starts her own band called Thriftstore Apocalypse.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this was very interesting, it shows the issues teenagers have being labeled, and even labeling themselves, finding out who you truly are. Written as if you are in the mind of a teenage girl trying to figure out who she is in society, in high school, and how she see's herself. A little raw, not your typical bubble gum happy teen story. Worth reading.
EllenRozek More than 1 year ago
I think my favorite thing about this story was how not serious it was. There were plenty of serious things that happened, but Andrea, the main character who relates the story's events in a confessional fashion, doesn't dwell on any of them for very long. Eating disorders, drug abuse, and dubious consent within relationships are all mentioned, briefly discussed, and then forgotten. I typically prefer stories that delve into a little more detail as far as tough subjects are concerned, but I found GIRL'S breezy, unconcerned narrative style to be weirdly refreshing. Some things are a really big deal when you're in high school, and some things only seem that way because you have nothing else to compare them to. And as much as life seems to change constantly when you're gaining more freedom and thinking about college, or just plain getting out more, I really appreciated the emphasis here on how life goes on, even when it isn't always pleasant.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found some diamonds if you want them reply and you will be 1000 years old. Like call me my number is 540-0163 home phone i will take a girl to the garbage dump. Minecraft rules
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wanna chat?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As i read the summary i was thinking huh this sounds familiar and then the name todd sparrow clicked this is a movie with sean patrick flanery as todd sparrow and dominidue swain as the main character made in 1998 i liked the movie
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was horriblely awesome even though im a little young it was a really good book.i mean it had plot dialoge everything a cople of misplaced commas but other than that it was sooooooooooooooooo totaly cool
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book sux
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Narline B More than 1 year ago
i liked it and. .......it was an interesting book, kept my attention.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book started of really fun and exciting then started getting a little more depressing towards the end. I enjoyed this book vey much and couldn't put it down, but when I finally finished it, I felt so bad for Andrea that I wanted to cry for her. I really enjoyed this book and think you should read it and that you would enjoy it,however. So if you still wanna read this book, I hope you enjoy yourself.