×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Girls
     

The Girls

3.5 37
by Amy Goldman Koss
 

See All Formats & Editions

Maya has been part of the group ever since the day Candace asked her if she wanted to "do lunch" in the cafeteria. Yet when Candace suddenly deems her unworthy, Maya's so-called friends just blow her off. While Maya just wants the girls back like they used to be, she knows that can never happen-because whatever Candace wants, Candace gets, no matter who gets hurt.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Girls 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not likit at all. It was very boring and did not make sense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not read... it was a good book but it was to short it end to fast and not worth your time or money it would be good if it was longer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am reading this book in book club and i luv it. I like how it is about how you shoud treat friends. To me Candace is just mean
Faith Crist More than 1 year ago
This book is a good book for girls who are having trouble at school or in life. Its about five girls that are very rude to this one girl named Maya. Candace is the leader of this mean groop. If your daughter or if u are having trouble with bullies this is the book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
flipflop10 More than 1 year ago
I think this book was amazing and that it might not grab your attention in the beginning of the book but just keep on reading and it will grab your attention. I also like how the title of each chapter is one of the friends name and it will be about that girls point of view. In this book you learn about friendship and how if one friend turns on one another will you do it too??? Will the girls stay friends or will they be enemies. written by a 4th grade girl
nshigg More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for a funny book buy Diary of A Wimpy Kid,if your looking for a mystery get Lightning Thief,if yuor looking for a more to the dull side short story,clique book buy The Girls.The main character Maya gets excluded from the clique by her so call friends and she finds out that she needs better friends.THE END.This practically 2 sentence book is okay for the Middle Schooler trying to get her Summer Reading List out of the way.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was such a realistic book that was the main reason why it was so good!The author put so much into it ,it made it seem as if she were writting about my own personal expieriences or most likely in any girls situations . That's why i think girls will really like and realate to this book as much as I did.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book may have a good plot, but it was too short. It would have been better if the author put in more details and explain more about whats happening between the 5 girls. But otherwise, this book was great, it showed what really happens in a teenager's life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Girls was an awesome book explaning the cliques of Middle School. The leader Candace was snobby, but nice to new comers in her clique.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a powerful story about five girls who get in to some trouble in the begining but end up great friends in the end. This book is for readers who enjoy learning and relating to their life as a teenager, it will help you get through some tough times and laugh out loud. I sincerely recommend this book for ages 11 and up..
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am 12 years old, I read this book with my friends in our book club. I loved this book, it seems so real. All of my friends seemed to enjoyed it as well. 2 thumbs up!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read A LOT...and this book was the worst book I have read in a very VERY long time. It didn't give any informationa and it didn't have enough detail. If you want to read a good book, read something by Meg Cabot. Anything written by Meg Cabot is better than this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book was great, and i enjoyed readig it, guys this book is a keeper!! maya, i understand how she feels, sometimes you feel like there are some friends that you know for a fact that you can't trust but, since you want to be popular, you try to see the good in them, even though that isn't the case. so candace reminds me of those popular girls who try to be nice and first, but then once they got you to believe that they actually consider you as a friend, they start to be mean to you, and leave you out of things. and it made me apprieate all of my friends, because i know that they would never do this to me! when times get rough, it's your REAL friends, that will stay there and stick it with you, and not just turn their backs, they're there throughout the GOOD and BAD times! and i think the moral of this book is choose your friends wisely, because you don't want to end up like maya!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book so much. It reminded me a lot about how my friends and I treat other girls it even made me want to be nicer to other people. My friends and I are always getting in dumb fights and this book tells about that so much. I would recomend this book to anybody I even acted it out for a book report It was set up in talk show formation I got to let my friends act out characters in the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Candace, Darcy, Brianna, Renee and Maya were all best friends until Candace, who is the leader of the group, decides that Maya can¿t be part of the group. Everything began to change the day Mayas father was taking her to a theme park and said she could invite a friend. When Maya called her friends houses no one was home, and she found out from Brianna¿s mom that Darcy invited every one for a sleep over, except for her. At the sleep over the girls made a prank phone call to Mayas house. When Darcy¿s mom heard about how mean the girls were to Maya she grounded Darcy until she apologized to Maya and her mother. The only girl left in the group of friends is Darcy who is desperate for Candace¿s friendship even after Candace kicked Maya and Brianna out and befriended another girl named, Nicole
Guest More than 1 year ago
i just loved Candace and Darcy. The things they did to Maya I do that to my friends!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book I thought this story was very interesting because of all of the action that went on in the story.Maya didn¿t understand why all her friends ditched her until she got back from magic mountain and her family and she were talking and the phone rang when she answered it the person hung up. She called back to see why they hung up. At Darcy¿s house her sister answered the phone then she aked Darcy why they did that she said because we don¿t like Maya any more. When they went back to school Renee & Brainna cut in line to say sorry but Candace & darcy wouldn¿t.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THE GIRLS I enjoyed this book because the author made this book sad just like my life, the story begins when a girl named Maya was exited about magic mountainbut her friends where at Darcy¿s sleep over Maya wanted to go but Candace and the others kicked her out of the group Candace and the others apoligized to Maya and became friends again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The gilrs were well developed characters and that one named Candace was maddening. She was also recognizable in your life i will bet. I sure recognized her from my life. I thought the book was real satisfying the way the gils handled the problem Candace caused. Of course, some of the girls helped contribute to the problem too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. The way it was narrated by the different girls was wonderful and original and made it all the more interesting. Plus, the issues that they dealed with in this book are all very real and something I think a lot of young and even older girls can relate to!