×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Girls Hold Up This World
  • Alternative view 1 of Girls Hold Up This World
  • Alternative view 2 of Girls Hold Up This World
     

Girls Hold Up This World

4.2 12
by Jada Pinkett-Smith, Jada Pinkett, Donyell Kennedy-Mccullough (Illustrator), Donyell Kennedy-McCullough (Photographer)
 

Actress Jada Pinkett Smith--wife of superstar Will Smith--lovingly captures the strength, unity, and beauty that live in girls in this poignant photographic book.

"We are sisters of this Earth -- members of one powerful tribe. /Every color, shape, and size, we're united by beauty inside." Artistic photographs enhance the positive message of Jada Pinkett Smith's

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Girls Hold Up This World 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recommend that every girl read this book. When I read it I felt powerful and proud to be a girl. It has the prettiest pictures of any other book that I have read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the book. I bought the first book at Borders, in Dearborn, Mi. The book comforts me when I am down. I know being a 15 yr old myself is a hard thing. A lot of elder women try to encourage young females to believe in them selves, and with the support of her writing a book about it was outstanding. Some people may not like it because every body else is doing it, but since every one is on the same page, trying to make the world a better place by helping young females is a great idea. If we work harder the job will get done. keep up the good work Jada, thanks to my #1 fan God,mommy(Valerie),Grams,Maya Angelou,Sister Souljah,Venus & Serena,Oprah,Madonna,and every other female who has supported girls to believing and achieving thier goals/dreams. Much love from Lauren Reed-Gibson, Jada's #1 fan
Guest More than 1 year ago
'We are sisters of this Earth-members of one powerful tribe. Every color, age, and size, we're united by beauty inside.' With girls comparing everything about themselves to others - and often forced to take a back seat to boys - books like this one are a treat. Author Jada Pinkett Smith celebrates women's diversity as well as our unity. We are magnificent, the author seems to be saying, each and every one of us. It's a thoroughly inclusive book; women and girls of all ages and ethnic backgrounds are lovingly photographed here. Delightful photographs illuminate the author's lovely, lyrical poem and show the many faces of girlish and womanly beauty. The effervescence of one cartwheel-performing child is simply delightful. This is a book about warmth, caring, love, and the strength we get from female friends and family members. It's perfect for mothers and daughters to read together, and for girlfriends to share. But it's not just a feel-good book. Feeling good about ourselves also takes effort: 'We girls hold up this world as we build our self-esteem. We know that discipline will turn a princess into a queen.' Those who enjoy this book may also enjoy another picture book entitled: Ruby Lee the Bumble Bee - A Bee's Bit of Wisdom. In it, a young girl is encouraged to believe in her own abilities and inner strength. Books like Girls Hold Up This World and Ruby Lee the Bumble Bee are valuable tools in teaching children (especially girls) the importance of developing a strong character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have given this book as gifts on several different occassions. It has such a positive message. If media/marketing gave the same message (that's in this book) to little girls today, then those same girls might just believe that they have something to bring to the decision making table in the future. Girls Hold Up This World is empowering, beautifully written, and exactly what every girl needs to hear.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Every little girl should have this book in her collection. Please moms, grammas, aunts. Even if you don't have a daughter find a little girl to give this book too. Its so wonderful. I bought one for every little girl in my life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVE this book! Not only does my 4 year old neice adore it but my nephew loved to read along with us as well. Its a great book to start the process of self love and empowerment in young girls.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book to my young daughter. While she is too young to really understand, I am comforted that she can see such beautiful pictures of her sisters every where. A powerful message that I am proud to share with my daughter.
Guest More than 1 year ago
it doesn't matter if the book is not original as one said i love this book it moves me it really means something it shows that u are the most beautiful being on this world no matter where u live what u look like your size shape anything my aunt bought me this book it was short but it really means something especially right now cause i have issues with my body and i keep calling myself fat but my mom is always like don't say that but it really means something to a person to know that your body size and shape is fine cause no else is like that but you no matter what.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My three-year-old already loves this book... simple, positive affirmations to build strong character. Photographs are very well suited to each affirmation. It's adorable!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Disappointing, just the usual 'girl power' message all bound and glossy. Fluff. Could be a Spice Girls song.