×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Give Me Tomorrow: The Korean War's Greatest Untold Story--The Epic Stand of the Marines of George Company
     

Give Me Tomorrow: The Korean War's Greatest Untold Story--The Epic Stand of the Marines of George Company

4.4 26
by Patrick K. O'Donnell
 

See All Formats & Editions

“What would you want if you could have any wish?” asked the photojournalist of the haggard, bloodied Marine before him. The Marine gaped at his interviewer. The photographer snapped his picture, which became the iconic Korean War image featured on this book’s jacket. “Give me tomorrow,” he said at last.

After nearly four months of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Give Me Tomorrow 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
bobbyjuly More than 1 year ago
I was a member of George Company, 3rd Battalion, 1st Regiment, 1st Marine Division or G-3-1 in Korea. I've waited 60 years for someone to tell our story.. Fate must have sent Patrick O'Donnell to uncover this story before it was too late. He brought this story to vivid interest and readability. We were 19 and 20 year olds that had to be the least trained Marines going into a battle. In World War ll we usually outnumbered the enemy but in Korea it was the opposite. Usually 10-20 to 1. I still can't believe we did what we did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
all though i am a former marine and knew the story of the marines in south korea this story really hit home and brought out the feelings all of these marines endured. this story is hard hitting and makes you feel like you were there. the hardship these men had to endure shows the spirit that our fighting men had for each other.
MSC82 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed learning more about my Dad's Marine Corps history and the book is really great, featuring vivid and unbelievable accounts from the Marines, the "Frozen Chosin" who survived the assaults and freezing temperatures with inadequate clothing and weapons. My Dad is still dealing with the frostbite and schrapnel that he was exposed to in 1950-1951. I highly recommend this book, a terrific example of Qualitative Research with amazing oral histories.
SoldierScholar More than 1 year ago
Give Me Tomorrow is a good read for anyone interested in a ground level view of the Korean War, or in the Marine Corps experience during the conflict. Patrick K. O'Donnell constructs the narrative from oral history interviews that he conducted, but supplements them with well known Korean War secondary literature. The story follows the exploits of George Company, Third Battalion, First Marines during the Korean War with particular emphasis on the Company's experience in the Chosin Reservoir. O'Donnell does a fine job weaving together the remembrances of these forgotten heroes into a coherent narrative that is engaging and fast paced. The experience of combat varies for every person and the more complex the fight, the more diverse the memories. George Company faced impossible odds in each of the battles it participated in starting with the Inchon landing. The men faced complex enemy situations including ambushes, roadblocks, snipers, and tanks during their missions. Crafting a lucid narrative from all this was no easy task and O'Donnell's greatest strength is his ability to do just that. Give Me Tomorrow would benefit from the addition of more official sources such as Battalion logs or after-action reports, but nevertheless, the book is a testament to the resolve and bravery of the young men who faced immense hardship and personal loss in the harshest of places. I was fortunate enough to be at the George Company reunion in November 2010, when the Company dedicated a memorial at the Marine Corps Museum in Quantico, Virginia. It was an honor to meet these heroes in person and witness the powerful bonds forged between them in battle. They taught me as much about leadership and comradeship in a few short days as I had learned in fifteen years in the Army and two combat tours in Iraq. I remain humbled by these men and can only hope that my generation of Soldiers and Marines earns their respect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story about true American heroes!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
davehoy More than 1 year ago
man. I really was taken in by this book. Read it in record time. Really enjoyed this and have read it twice more. Awesome!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining take on a little known war.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very good and informative.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Nice addition to my library
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a gift for my husband.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved "Band of Brothers" and the movie 300. George Company had many epic stands throughout the war and in a sense this story is a bend of the two movies. A truly outstanding book. These men are heroes! Semper Fi through the ages!! This should be made into a movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago