×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus
     

Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus

4.1 9
by Elyse M. Fitzpatrick, Jessica Thompson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Helps Christian parents raise their children with grace and the gospel, addressing topics such as the law, God’s forgiveness and love, and true heart obedience. A great resource for raising grace-filled kids.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Give Them Grace (Foreword by Tullian Tchividjian) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It was an easy read, but had a lot of information. It was a lot of practical things that I didn't even realize I wasn't doing, but should be. The gospel should be present in my parenting and before reading this book, unfortunately, it wasn't...just the law. Definitely recommend for any Christian parent or soon to be parent...wish I had read it before now (my daughter is currently 3).
bamagv More than 1 year ago
Give Them Grace is a beautiful book that is co-written by mother-daughter team, Elyse Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson. "We've encouraged you to dazzle (your children) with the message of Christ's love and welcome, and then when you think that surely they must be tiring of it, go back and drench them with it again." This book is written from a Reformed Evangelical approach and neither of these mothers pretend that they are perfect or that their lives/families are perfect. This is certainly not a "parenting tips and techniques" book but rather a book that is all about Jesus and pouring Jesus into your child's everyday lives. I have to admit, that this was not a book I could just "breeze through". It is one of those books whose material is so rich that you almost have to take breaks to digest it all and ponder what you are learning from its writings. They show us that even though we are imperfect parents, God's grace covers us and our children. It also shows us how to improve our relationship with our children and show them God's grace through our own lives. This book also covers the 5 types of parenting that God has called us to: Nurturing, Correcting, Managing, Training and Promises. Give Them Grace is available through Crossway Books for just $11.99 and is a great book for anyone who is a parenting or considering becoming a parent.
sawboyer More than 1 year ago
"the irony of gospel-based sanctification is that those who end up obeying more are those who increasingly realize that their standing with God is NOT based on their obedience but on CHRIST"
Adayriddle More than 1 year ago
Grace - the one thing most of us struggle with. After all what does this word actually entail? How do we show grace? Have we really accepted fully the grace God has bestowed on us - or do we understand the depth of that grace in its fullness? This is a radical approach on parenting as it presents the idea to parent with the gospel of grace of legalistic rules. A home dominated by the telling of "the Story" instead of the implementing of rules and regulations. The over-arching view is that as parents each of us is imperfect however we can live and parent with extreme grace. I am a big believer in "teachable moments". In fact our home has scripture posted on the walls (thanks to the new vinyl cling lettering that looks hand-painted), we have scriptural art work on the walls and shelves - all constant reminders of whom we serve. In fact above the archway in the living room our family theme verse (Joshua 24:15) is posted. My children even memorize a verse for every letter of the alphabet along with other theme verses for their schoolwork. I also love to use moments of life to teach a life lesson based on scripture. However, I found some of the sample conversation in this book to lesson the effect of the gospel and Christ and to even diminish the power of certain scriptures. For instance I do not apologize when have to discipline my children with spankings by saying "I am sorry to cause you pain...." This quote goes on to diminish the suffering and power of the cross. A more applicable scriptural reference to use is that like God punishes His children out of love so too must we as parents, for if we love our children we will not spare the rod but will chasten them when they are disobedient. All in all the book is an excellent parenting book in that it is not a list of rules for christian parents to take not of and apply. The danger though is that the sample conversations will become a list of conversation and instead of prayerfully asking that God reveal "teachable moments" the parent might try overly hard to apply scripture everywhere and by default becoming a pharisee of sorts. Parenting must be done in grace - for this there is no argument. But it must also be approached prayerfully. It must never diminish the gospel or power of the Word of God. And we must all be careful not to use scripture to beat up our children - for in this they will become bitter and revel against the very thing you are trying to teach them to embrace. My advice: parent with grace by living grace. All the scripted conversations in the world - all the scripture memory that can be done in a life time is null and void if it is not demonstrated in your daily walk. After all what makes God's grace so appealing to us? It is the fact that Jesus Christ demonstrated grace daily - not by repeating the scripture of the day, but by living and walking it. This is worth the read and may inspire you to live with grace. I received this review copy from Crossway in exchange for an honest review of the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book while excellent for parents is a great encouragement for us to be gracious in all relationships. The parenting focus is really for parents of little ones but be willing to apply it to all your kids.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago