×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Given Day
     

The Given Day

4.0 240
by Dennis Lehane
 

See All Formats & Editions

Dennis Lehane, the New York Times bestselling author of Live by Night—now a Warner Bros. movie starring Ben Affleck—offers an unflinching family epic that captures the political unrest of a nation caught between a well-patterned past and an unpredictable future. This beautifully written novel of American history tells the story of two

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Given Day 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 240 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Stepping away from the familiar, Lehane takes us back to 1900s Boston. Other reviewers have given loads of info. All I will say is, you won't be dissappointed. Loved it from first page to last and highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a historical but readable novel. This one should go to the top.
kttymoe More than 1 year ago
I have read all the books Dennis has written and this one was no disappointment as well....interesting times and great plot....characters felt like more than one ...almost like a group of people from that time....impossible to put down and sad when I arrived at the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been waiting forever for this to be published. The last time I talked to Lehane, he said it was turning into a 'brick', and he didn't know when it'd be published. He is my favorite writer and I wasn't too happy with the 5 year wait. But, it was worth it, totally. The rest of his novels have been mysteries, this is not. It is historical fiction, at it's finest. Well written, well researched, The Given Day covers a turbulant time in American history, at the end of The Great War and, of course, it's set in Boston. Over 700 pages, but truly a fast read because you can't put it down, it just flows and you are swept up, as you read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a piece of work Dennis Lehane has brought us! I was taken back in time in the early 1900's when Babe Ruth was playing and the Boston policemen went on strike and the city went crazy. One of the most touching characters in the book is Luther. His team played Babe Ruth! I felt like I was there and was angry and hurt as if I had been playing myself. I hate to give too much away and ruin the book. The Given Day also deals with race relations in the 1900's. Later Luther befriends a Boston policeman and his wife. They have a wonderful and amazing friendship. The Given Day deals with power, corruption, good and evil. I loved it!! Thank you Mr. Lehane
Lolly56 More than 1 year ago
Before leaving to spend Christmas in London, I purchased "The Given Day" at my local Barnes & Noble. At the time, I had no idea that I had given myself the best present of all. From the beginning, the characters, plot, pace and writing style had me hooked. What a stoke of genius to include Babe Ruth in the story! I would highly recommend this book for anyone that is a fan of either history, baseball, the human condition or, just wants to read one heck of a story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Lehane does such a great job developing the characters that I felt like I knew them each and was very attached to them. There are few twists that you don't see coming, and some predictable stuff mostly because of the period in time it takes place. He does a great job weaving the story into historical events. This is the kind of story that can go on and on.
kdporteus More than 1 year ago
An interesting snapshot of post WWI Boston.
ClarkP More than 1 year ago
The Given Day by Dennis Lehane is one of my all-time favorite books. Lehane creates some of the best characters and plot-lines that I have ever read, period. Lehane incorporates many interesting historical topics throughout. . .such as civil rights, WWI, unionism, communism, as well as many others. Not only is this book historically educational, it is extremely entertaining as well. 700+ pages seems short for this masterpiece work of fiction. I hope Dennis Lehane receives all the awards and recognition that he deserves for this book. I will be recommending it to everyone that I can.
tpucin More than 1 year ago
This book combined fascinating characters and historical perspective to provide an unflinching portrait of Boston post WWI. Unionism, civil rights, a fear of communism, with a little Babe Ruth thrown in are combined to tell of a changing world. Dennis Lehane keeps you interested from page one.
opbitty More than 1 year ago
LEHANE SHOULD BE A MASTER WEAVER BECAUSE AS HE SITS AT HIS "LOOM" THAT IS THE GIVEN DAY HE MARRIES THE POLITICAL, SOCIAL, & LABOR ISSUES OF BOSTON CIRCE 1919 INTO SUCH A RICH TAPESTRY IT CAN ONY BE DESCRIBED AS GENIUS! 2 LOVE STORIES TO BOOT! KUDOS!
LaurieOH More than 1 year ago
This book started a little slow for me, but be patient and allow yourself to be drawn into the world Lehane has created. The interweaving of real events with the fictional story of these families adds another point of interest. Who knew there was such a thing as a molasses flood? This great big book went all too fast as I progressed. I thought the characters and situations were believable, and I liked that the main characters were not drawn in black and white. This is the first of Lehane's books that I have read, but won't be the last.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
It takes several days to read The Given Day, but each day is worth it. This is just the kind of book one can sink into and get carried away with. Lehane creates the sights and sounds to involve you in the lives of the characters. I was glad that it was a long book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had never read Lehane before. This doesn't make me rush to buy another.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is like the best eva!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Now I'm just a high school student, but personally this was a book that compared to a movie, tv show, a song, etc.. I was actually able to focus, understand, and enjoy this book. The Given Day was about a white man, who ia an amatuer boxer, police officer, and owns two servants, his name is Danny Coughlin. I mentioned his servants because they are just as important to the story as he is. The first servant is a woman, Nora O'shea. Danny and her have had a past and had a very strong relationship thats now coming back into the light. Danny's other servant is his driver, Luther Lawrence; Luther has fled the south and left his pregnant wife behind because the policed identified him to be a shooter in a murder case. After reading this book I realized that I enjoyed the end of the book just as much as the beggining of the book. I'm not going to ruin it, if you're planning on reading this book, but I liked the end because in the end all of he characters were happier considering that their situations are worse then when we first met them. Enough about what the book is about this is just an overall good book, involving hints of Babe Ruth, the Boston Police Strike of 1919, corrupt cops, what one will do for love, and the coming of new technology. Like I said I'm just a high school student but in my opinion any adult would appreciate this book for all its worth! I would definitely recommend this book for anyone who enjoys reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fine portrait of Boston in the 1915 - 1925 (roughly) era. The first part of the book deals really well with Babe Ruth getting himself in a game against some African American baseball players. I'm not a big baseball fan myself, but this was one of the best parts of the book. We get into the meat of the book, and follow two main protagonists. Danny is a Irish Boston policeman being drawn into the police forces struggles to unionize, and Luther is an African American (he's in the baseball game) who goes from Ohio, to Tulsa Oklahoma, and then has to flee to Boston, where he ends up getting a job working in Danny's father's house as a servant. The characters in this book from the main one's on down are really well portrayed. If I had a problem, it was maybe that there are too many big events / adventures. I might of liked to have a little more of the focus on the little things in the life of Bostonians of this era. Overall it's not a Classic, but it's a really good book that is worth reading.
Constitution_In_Exile More than 1 year ago
Having listened to the audiobook version of this book, Michael Boatman's ability to get into audio character of each of the various characters is astounding. He voices the different accents, from thick Irish, to Bostonian, Black, Yankee, and yes, although somwhat lacking, even the female persona. The actors come alive in the story and one finds themself transformed into an era long forgotten. The issues surrounding post war America and an economy struggling to survive, while a true flu pandemic rages throughout the country, are met with various political groups bent on altering America as they knew it. It pits labor against management while focusing on issues of ethnicity, gender, religion, and national pride; all while millions of servicemen are returning to an economy incapable of handling so many white men looking for jobs where none exist. It shines a spotlight on the huge underbelly of corruption. That was the Boston Police Department, and the mob power brokers on the eve of the 1919 prohibition and woven into the fabric of nearly every societal faction, from the lowly beat cop, to the governor of Massachuchetts, to the black culture of corruption in Tulsa, Oklahoma, of all places. One could confuse the conditions of society then with the very issues facing America today. Then it was anarchists, bolshevicks, and unions. Today it is Al Queada, health care, the green movement, ACORN and an out of control government. LeHane pulls together so many seemingly disconnected issues and weaves them in such a way that one finds themself researching historical archives to verify his story. Oddly enough, the historical accounts of the riots and the Boston Police strike are quite accurate and his portrayal of the events are nothing less than amazing. Historical perspective is the biggest contribution LeHane brings to the table. Boatman simply brings his work to life. This would make a great movie on par with Mitchell's Gone With The Wind. Every time I listened to the audiobook, I came away with something new that had escaped me on a previous listening. I will listen to it a few more times before I am completely satisfied. This is a must for any library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yet another amazing book by my favorite author, Dennis Lehane. Deatiled descriptions on the story have already been given so I won't rehash them, but I had to add my 5 stars to such an excellent book.
FootballChick More than 1 year ago
While I enjoyed the change of era, early 1900's, it was difficult to identify w/any of the characters. Also, it is a very long read and the climax comes very near the end. I did enjoy the fact that given the times there was an open and socially unacceptable relationship between a negro, a white woman and her lover, the main character. It demonstrated that not all people felt the need to keep the races seperated. I thought that was rather fascinating. This is my first read of Lehane and I would have difficulty reccomending this book due to how long the book is. So, if you have the time, give it a shot.
Anonymous 19 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dark Shine
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have always enjoyed Lehane's books and this is no exception. Even though the subject matter was so disturbing, the author puts you there with descriptive prose and you feel a part of the story, even if you do not want to be there. That's what I like in an author and this one delivered.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JCD2 More than 1 year ago
An excellent picture of life in Boston after WWI.  The Boston Brahmins rule while the Irish, Italians and Blacks scrape and claw their way up the social ladder.  The minorities are treated like expendable, easily replaceable chattel.  Some of the Irish inch their way to the grand table through graft and corruption, others by trying to organize against all-powerful employers.  The impoverished Italians prefer anarchy while the Blacks serve the whites and detest them.   The book is disturbing at times but so well-written the reader will get to the end and look for more.