×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Glamorama
     

Glamorama

3.7 48
by Bret Easton Ellis
 

See All Formats & Editions

A young man in what is recognizably fashion and celebrity-obsessed Manhattan is gradually, imperceptibly drawn into a shadowy looking-glass of that society, there and London and Paris, and then finds himself trapped on the other side, in a much darker place where fame and terrorism and family and politics are inextricably linked and sometimes indistinguishable. At

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Glamorama 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
PittTenor More than 1 year ago
This book messed with my head. Ellis writes so well I seriously had to convince myself these were not my memories but an amazing piece of fiction. The lead character is a model living on the west coast in the 80s. Ellis writes so amazingly that as someone who is very not into this kind of scene, I found myself reading this character's thoughts as my own. I've never experienced anything like this. With the lead character getting involved with a very dangerous scene, the plot gets crazy towards the end. It was thrilling, scary, and awful with moments of levity scattered throughout. I loved and hated this book at the same time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
a brilliant book because it makes you hate the story, the writing and the characters as you read the first part. brace yourself and make it through that because, that is when the story goes insane. only then do you start to see the purpose of the first part and the characters. black comedy is not a strong enough description - it succeeds as a satire because as you go through it seems so horrifying accurate and real. manhattan, or any other major city will not look the same to you again, nor will the 'beautiful people'.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The title only hints at the brilliant roller-coaster ride contained in the pages of iconoclastic genius Ellis's latest literary funhouse mirror. As with 'American Psycho', 'Glamorama' is not for the sqeamish, faint of heart, or those looking for a light read. The initial pages of 'Glamorama' are trippy and seem to be all in good fun as they follow a day in the life of sweet-but-clueless New York model Victor Ward, but Ellis's MTV video-like imagery and wild narrative style quickly kick the story into higher, scarier planes. As Victor gets drawn into a web of deceit and terrorism, he keeps partying at breakneck speed in the world's fashion capitals as his worlds collide, elide, and implode. 'Glamorama' is a black-comedy mirror that reflects both the emptiness of pop-culture worship and the blurred line between order and evil. And, again as in 'Am. Psycho', Ellis weaves an outstanding pop/rock/alternative-music sountrack into his surreal, magic carpet-ride text. 'Glamorama' is his best work yet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is possibly my favorite book of all time. Living in Manhattan, I was initially absorbed by his detailed descriptions of all the sights and surreal attitude...but that all changed very quickly. What ensues is the most thrilling and ingenious story I have ever read. After recommending this to all my friends, they all reacted with the same enthusiasm and adoration for a great novelist and amazing storyteller!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's hard to say which was more pornographic, the sex or the violence. Having read previous books by Bret Easton Ellis, I thought I was prepared, but this one really blew me away. Only those with cast iron stomachs should consider reading this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ok. I'm going to start off by saying i'm a 14 year old and a freshmen in high school. I came here and saw sophmores and seniors saying that it was 'the most confusing book they've ever read'.. if you can read, and then can actually comprehend what you read, this book is mere child's play. Ok. now let me get to the book. This book, i bought it under the pretenses that it'd be confusing. I quickly read through it, and i loved it. I love how he created a self absorbed character and threw him in a situation that changed his whole world and outlook on life. I loved the way the story unfolded, and the chapters went backwards as a countdown, to the anything but disappointing ending. Ellis, yet again, has created a masterpiece. This book was written perfectly. Words alone cannot express how good it was. This book is something i'd recommend to anyone. No matter what style of reading you enjoy, you'd like this book. This book actually scared me because all of it can REALLY happen. I loved the way it mixed the whole political thriller into the whole modeling-entertainment industry. I loved how it was actually thrilling. This is a must read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Luxurius book for the masses. Enjoy the B.E.Ellis pain attack. Remember, is a GenX man.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The biggest attack on materialism since American Psycho.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If vapid characters, superficial plot lines, gore and gratuitous sex appeal to you, this is your book. Still trying to figure out what the point was, what was real/imagined.
Irving_Washington More than 1 year ago
I don't know what it was about the first 150 or so pages of this book that really just got me into Victor Ward's world and made me not want to leave, but whatever it was kind of...fizzled out for the rest of the book. I mean, sure, it stays interesting, but it's a completely different story after after part 1. I've never read a spy/terrorist thriller type story before, mainly because the people who write them are just terrible, and the stories are contrived action movie plotline wannabes, and that's just not worth reading. Anyway, Glamorama turns into one of these espionage-esque stories and does it well, in my opinion. I liked the way it worked. This does not mean it jives with the first part of the story. It's as though Mr. Ellis was making this up as he went, as a character says in the story. And all the stuff with the different film crews isn't confusing or anything, it's just...pointless? Sure, it has its funny moments, and it's thrilling moments, but Glamorama is like two completely different books mashed into one. I know that's the whole point, the two different worlds Victor inhabits throughout the tale, but the entire tone of the novel shifts, which is jarring. There were points where it was just boring. When he talks about people and clothes and useless things in the first part of the story, it's a narrative that's got spark and life. Everything after that is monotone, even the violence. Speaking of violence...what is everyone complaining about? This story barely has any violence, and the violence that does come (in heaps) doesn't show up until the last half of the book. There are a few graphic sex scenes but it's American Psycho sex here, so it's not erotic or sensual at all, just details. Which is fine. I don't know what I'm trying to say. I liked Glamorama, maybe even more than American Psycho (though Psycho wins for humor), I'm just not entirely sure why I liked it. I guess when you're traveling at such a blistering pace in the beginning, everything afterward has no choice but to seem slow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago