×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Seems: The Glitch in Sleep
     

The Seems: The Glitch in Sleep

4.5 18
by Michael Wexler
 

See All Formats & Editions

Twelve-year-old Becker Drane has definitely got the coolest job of any
seventh grader in Highland Park, New Jersey. He works as a Fixer for The
Seems. From the Department ofWeather to the Department of Sleep, The
Seems is a secret organization that makes sure our world keeps
running-and more importantly, sticks to The Plan that's been made for

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Glitch in Sleep (The Seems Series #1) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book and the series just gets better as you go
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This awsome book will capture your mind and will not let go intell your finished so just dont injoy it to much or you will never finish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lev924NY More than 1 year ago
I had to read this for a project in school and I'm very happy that I got this book because I wouldn't of found it on my own. This is a amazing book! which talks about what really happens in the earth and what causes events. SO good read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Michael Chenevey More than 1 year ago
it has you on edge most of the book, so it is easy to get bored after a while if you try to read the whole thing at once. However, i would definitely recomend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very interesting book. I highly recommend it. It's about a place called the seems where they control the world as we know it. They make it rain,they make us sleep,have dreams,control time,ect. The main character is a Fixer. They fix problems in the seems. In this book there's a glitch (a nasty creature that's a pest) in sleep. Can he fix it or will the world fall apart. Read this book to find out. This is TOP SECRET!!
Matt97 More than 1 year ago
Book Review by Matthew Angle. for The Seems by John Hulme Becker Drane had a pretty boring, normal life until he signed up for a job at a place called The Seems. In The Seems by John Hulme mystical adventures happen. It is a really fun book to read especially for sci-fi, fantasy and adventure lovers. Every chapter is full of action. Becker is only twelve years old and he starts adulthood earlier than most people. He works in The Seems but lives in The World (Earth). The Seems is another world unknown to people who are outsiders. Becker signed up for a job at The Seems when he was seven years old but ended up going there to work when he was twelve. Becker really likes working at The Seems because he likes his job (being a Fixer) and his various friends. Things go pretty easy for him in The Seems until a Glitch comes. Becker's life was going well on Earth until his best friend died when he was twelve. Becker has a mom and dad and a little brother: Benjamin and a Me-2 robot replica of himself. This book is a good and quick one to read. It is not very complicated to comprehend. Even though the plot is sometimes a little outlandish it is still stable. This book's genre is sci-fi fantasy adventure all put into a little book, which sometimes makes it complicated because there are some parts where multiple things are happening. Readers will be able to figure it all out. The Seems is a one of a kind book and certainly delightful to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
I had to sign some kind of form at the front of this book before reading it, so I¿m not sure if I¿m allowed to tell you any of this¿but here goes.

Imagine that The World we know is constructed somewhere else. The sunset is painted daily, the world¿s rain is regulated through a huge water tank, and a Good Night¿s Sleep is packaged, processed, and sent to you nightly, with a specially built dream enclosed just for you. Beyond the In-Between, every detail of the world is carefully fashioned by workers in The Seems.

When Becker Drane was nine years old, he filled out an application for ¿The Best Job in the World¿ on a lark. Three years later, he¿s a newly promoted Fixer for The Seems eagerly awaiting his first mission. However, the one he receives is tougher than most¿to fix a Glitch that is ravaging the Department of Sleep.

The World is in peril as The Chain of Events that depends on the delivery of the night¿s dreams grows in danger of slipping. Becker must use all of his skills and training to find the Glitch before a Ripple Effect occurs, undoing all of the careful work of The Seems and ripping the very Fabric of Reality away.

Humorous and exciting, this first book left me eager for more from this new series, and you can be sure I¿ll be reading the rest.

As long as I can get past the red tape next time¿
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book alot. It's really cool and draws you in. I think all who read this review should at least try to read it. The suspense is interesting, there are twists and turns at every corner, and you'll be staying up all nightreading it. You'll see it's great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The fantastic imaginary world and humor of The Seems kept me reading straight through to the end. As an adult reader, I especially enjoyed the character ensemble that included hero Becker Drane along with a teen surfer girl, an 80-year-old, and a mysterious Frenchman. The non-sequential chapters took me by surprise, but the ten-year-old in my house loved that aspect of the book. We both liked the double entendres, cliches, puns and well-chosen names. It's a great read for kids who love word play and imaginative fantasy+adventure stories.