×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The God Box
  • Alternative view 1 of The God Box
  • Alternative view 2 of The God Box
     

The God Box

4.5 73
by Alex Sanchez
 

See All Formats & Editions

Paul, a religious teen living in a small conservative town, finds his world turned upside down when he meets Manuel—a young man who says he’s both Christian and gay, two things that Paul didn’t think could coexist in one person. Doesn’t the Bible forbid homosexuality? As Paul struggles with Manuel’s interpretation of the Bible,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

God Box 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 73 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Out of all of the books i've read about sexuality, this is the best one i have read yet. If you've ever had doubts about sexuality and spirituality, or even just one of the two, this book is a major help. It's a great love story and you will fall in love with Paul and Manuel.
ringo More than 1 year ago
i am neither gay nor christian but this book was great for insight and perspective. WARNING:IF YOU, LIKE ME, ARE LIBERAL AND GAY-TOLERANT, THE CONSERVATIVES IN THIS BOOK WILL MAKE YOU VERY ANGRY!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Paul is a boy who is highly religious, goes to a Christian school, lives in a very small town, and loves God and his girlfriend of several years. Living in such a small town and going to a small school, everyone knows the new kids.

The knew person, Manuel, is weird. Everyone talks about him, especially when he joins Paul and his friends at their lunch table. Manuel proceeds to tell them that he is both gay and Christian, two things that don't mix well.

The girls love Manuel, but the boys want to stay far away from him -- except for Paul. Manuel is trying to be Pauls friend and all the guys start talking about the both of them.

As Paul and Manuel hang out, a friendship is formed and Paul challenges Manuel about God, the Bible, and being gay. Every answer Manuel gives makes Paul think differently about his religion and what it says. Is being gay okay, and can you still go to Heaven?

While examining his feelings, Paul wonders about his own sexuality and if his friendship for Manuel is just that -- a friendship. When a series of events happens, Paul finds his true feelings, his true identity, and, most importantly, love.

Alex Sanchez's latest novel is amazing. It gives a new interpretation of "the Bible says that being gay is a sin," an excuse that many use. Very thought-provoking, this book will keep a smile on your face until the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Paul is a boy who is highly religious, goes to a Christian school, lives in a very small town, and loves God and his girlfriend of several years. Living in such a small town and going to a small school, everyone knows the new kids. The knew person, Manuel, is weird. Everyone talks about him, especially when he joins Paul and his friends at their lunch table. Manuel proceeds to tell them that he is both gay and Christian, two things that don't mix well. The girls love Manuel, but the boys want to stay far away from him -- except for Paul. Manuel is trying to be Pauls friend and all the guys start talking about the both of them. As Paul and Manuel hang out, a friendship is formed and Paul challenges Manuel about God, the Bible, and being gay. Every answer Manuel gives makes Paul think differently about his religion and what it says. Is being gay okay, and can you still go to Heaven? While examining his feelings, Paul wonders about his own sexuality and if his friendship for Manuel is just that -- a friendship. When a series of events happens, Paul finds his true feelings, his true identity, and, most importantly, love. Alex Sanchez's latest novel is amazing. It gives a new interpretation of 'the Bible says that being gay is a sin,' an excuse that many use. Very thought-provoking, this book will keep a smile on your face until the end. **Reviewed by: Jeremey
hotch2014 More than 1 year ago
Do not hesitate in purchasing this book. You will not regret it. Especially young adults doing their best to navigate their sexuality and spirituality at the same time. This book helps reinforce that mutual exclusivity does not exist among these two important structures in one's life. The characters in "The God Box" are all incredibly endearing. As a young gay reader, it is impossible to not fall in love with the character of Manuel. Strong, confident and assured in himself and his faith. The reader also has Paul, whom just has to be cheered on by the reader throughout the duration of the story.
Janai Caron More than 1 year ago
I know how Paul feels, I have for a while, I couldnt put this book down it was so good, and at the same time it helped me believe God loved me too and that I could be closer to accepting myself also
Kira More than 1 year ago
Ive read other books by Alex Sanchez and in the God Box this book opened up my eyes the most, if your a christian this book makes you more aware of what the bible can be interpreted as. Ive asked my friend to read this book too and she loved it and I love it too!! The characters were amazing and it was written so well! this is the type of book that the schools should be asking students to read, it opens your eyes and really makes you think of whats happening around you.
superplatapus More than 1 year ago
This book was an outstanding book. It help me come to terms with the reality tha not many people see and helps understand life a bit more. I recomend this book to any gay Christian.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first picked up this book, I thought it was going to be the typical 'high-school teen' drama. I soon found out that this book went WAY beyond any of my expectations. Within the first three chapters it easily became my new favorite book. It not only changed my outlook about the christian community, but it also changed my view about the Bible. I would HIGHLY recommend this book to all readers!
AvengingSon988 More than 1 year ago
Best Book I Ever Read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book.
DustinS More than 1 year ago
This book was something that a friend of mine ended up reading due to my recommendation. When I came out to her she had reacted negatively but thanks to this book and some of her own soul searching she has come to accept it. This book is PHENOMENAL. I could not put it down. It was hard to read at times because a lot of things struck close to home. I cried and I laughed. This book is a beautiful and realistic portrayal of the struggles someone who is gay and also spiritual goes throught. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked the rainbow series better....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bolkonsky More than 1 year ago
There is something so captivating and natural in Sanchez's writing style; when I pick up one of his books, I just can't put them down. The only reason I don't give this one five stars is because there are some cliche story elements, but those are almost necessary to broach the spirituality v. sexuality subject. I've struggled with my faith (and sexuality) all my life, and as I try to explore my Catholic roots more deeply, I've ended up feeling more and more frustrated and unwelcome in church-- something I never thought would happen. As I've always understood it, the Church is supposed to be a loving, welcoming community. Though I've never been faced with some of the extreme events in this book, Paul's questions and mixed emotions are all very relatable for me, and Manuel's answers are all very freeing. For further Bible study and reflection, consider "The Gay Gospels," a well-researched book that looks at context and further explains the often-used "terror texts" that are used against the LGBTQ community. You'll recognize some of Manuel's alternate interpretations and get even more to consider.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the stories that made Alex Sanchez one of my most favorite authors. I love everything about this book. :D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book in three days, it was so good! I definatly recommend it for anyone who is religious and struggling with their sexuality.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books very sweet