×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

God, No!: Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales
     

God, No!: Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales

3.7 94
by Penn Jillette (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

The New York Times bestselling reinterpretation of the Ten Commandments from the larger, louder half of the world-famous magic duo Penn & Teller.

A scathingly funny reinterpretation of the Ten Commandments from the larger, louder half of world-famous magic duo Penn and Teller reveals an atheist's experience in the world: from performing on the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

God, No! 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 93 reviews.
Dr_Wilson_Trivino More than 1 year ago
One late night channel flipping I came across Pier Morgan interviewing Penn Jillette on his latest book, God, No! At six feet and seven inches, this larger than life performer and talking head was delving into the atheist view. I expected this book to be guide to converting into atheism but it turns out to be much more. Cleverly in God, No! Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales by Penn Jillette, the author starts out each chapter with the tradition blend of the Ten Commandments mixed in with Penn Commandments. Rather than take a preachy approach to atheism Jillette candidly shares stories from his gypsy life on the road as the other half of the Penn and Teller duo. Love, sex, and adventure are well chronicled in his tales. I must admit this book made me laugh, cry, and sometimes cringe to how this outer tough guy covered his inner teddy bear and found his way. Reading this book will either strengthen your faith in the almighty or lead you to a path of discovering another option. God, No! Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales by Penn Jillette is a perfect read about a modern renaissance man who still has that mischievous twinkle of a young boy ready to discover the wonders of the world.
Joe74 More than 1 year ago
I will preface my short review by saying that I am a HUGE fan of Penn Jillette. I have been excited to read it since that day it was announced. It did not disappoint. I have read several books by atheists; Dawkins, Hitchens, Harris, etc. This is the ONLY one I have read that made me laugh out loud. It is also the only one that made me cry like a baby. Penn writes (rants) from his heart and it's easy to feel the love he has for his friends and family in the stories he tells. Do yourself a favor and buy this book. You won't be sorry.
TEST NOOKUSER More than 1 year ago
Its mostly pretty interesting and he's definitely an entertaining writer, but some areas of the book kind of drag on. He would be talking about something interesting and then run off on a tangent that wasnt quite as interesting for pages. Its not really a problem, i felt the book as a whole was quite the page turner, i just wish it was a little more focused. But then again, he openly admits to his tangents early in the book so there isnt really a reason to be surprised or upset over it. Overall, a good entertaining read from a honest, entertaining and true to himself fella. Check it out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the course of the book, Penn explains that he was challenged by his friend, the personality and pundit Glenn Beck, to create of basic atheist guide to life modeled after the 10 Commandments. Penn calls them "One Atheist's 10 Suggestions". He introduces each section of the book with one of them. The book is not so much a defense of atheism or of Penn Gillette, but rather stories from Penn's life that explain his worldview. He looks at the world through the lens of there not being any kind of God. He doesn't feel that religion is the problem, but rather it is belief, or faith itself –"the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen" – which is the driving force of a lot that is wrong in the world.
Steve Lynch More than 1 year ago
Penn being penn. Very honest an heartfelt book with a lot og laughs.
Mortimer4074 More than 1 year ago
A good book about the Penn's beliefs about knowledge, God and religion. I'm an atheist observant Jew (it's oddly common) and found good writing. There are a few very observant and very intelligent discourses on the nature of what passes for faith bound together with a huge amount of very funny anecdotes. WARNING: much of the book is very obscene and way out there. It scares me to think that these stories are true, as I'm sure they are. I think that Penn would be a great guy to watch -- from a safe distance....
BookJunkieOK More than 1 year ago
very interesting, logical, thoroughly enjoyed this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It opens up as promised with the rantings of Penn Jillette about athiesm with some personal stories sprinkled in. It ended up a tome of personal stories with a little religion sprinkld in. Not that I'm complaining, I loved all those pesonal stories. Penn is a genius and an amazing entertainer, so I loved every minute of the book The one place where Penn has made an error in most of his.athiest rants is that he is comparing against organized religions, not necessarily spirituality.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The ten commandments were fantastic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The stories are out of this world. I couldn't put the book down once I started. My only criticism is the premise for the telling the stories is weak. If you're looking for a book about atheism I would read Dawkins, Harris or Hitchens instead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
but once you get past that - the book is quite good. Not recommended for those hoping to stay "in the religion," especially if you are a logical person.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago