×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The God Particle: A Novel
     

The God Particle: A Novel

4.7 11
by Richard Cox
 

See All Formats & Editions

There is a divine spark within us all.
In one man, that spark is about to explode.

American businessman Steve Keeley is hurtled three stories to the cold cobblestone street in Zurich. In the days that follow, a doctor performs miraculous surgery on Keeley, who wakes up to find that everything about his world has changed. He seems to sense things before they

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
As man extends his knowledge, new questions arise needing answers and so it is in The God Particle. A super collider has been built in North Texas to find the ultimate particle that makes up the universe. Mike McNair has been hired as chief physicist at the collider facility to run the program. But, as scientists the world over will tell you, outsiders will fund research for the return of fame, power and money, and these same backers will aslo attempt to manipulat eht research, pressuring scientists for quick results. For private reasons, the backer of the super collider orders Mike's boss, Donovan to accept another researcher on the team and Mike suspects she is meant to soon replace him, but he doesn't know why.And the boss wants results--now! Then internal sabotage by a co-worker is discovered to be why they've been getting the results they wanted so far. To add to the story's complexity, an ordinary businessman is having hallucinations following surgery. His visions connect him to the collider. Talented author Richard Cox has opened up new areas for specilation in a field most reders know little about. You'll enjoy the lifelike cast of characters who are all too human with their personal foibles affecting the plot as you read. Enjoy. Recommended for reading pleasure.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The God Particle is an interesting read, to say the least. Mr. Cox manages to combine science, theology, and even a bit of romance in this novel of suspense and intrigue. Personally, I would have liked to have seen a bit more character development for a couple of the characters, but overall it was a very solid effort. I will certainly look forward to future works by Mr. Cox.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This author is fantastic. Once you start the book you can't put it down until you are finished and then you want to read it over to see what you have missed. It is as good if not better than Cox's first book, Rift.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The story is about two men one, a brilliant young physicist on a search for the force that binds the universe together (the God Particle) and the other, a young business man whose life takes on new meaning after a near death experience. Though the two men seem to be unrelated in the beginning of the story, their paths intersect in very important ways. Cox definitely did his homework with this one. Not only does he delve into the world of physics, but he also explores the fine line between science and religion in a tactful and respectful manner. The story Cox has created is brilliant and intriguing, and is highly recommended if you're looking for something different to read..
Guest More than 1 year ago
The God Particle is one of the most exciting novels this summer. It keeps you guessing, thinking and wanting more. The ending is one that does not let you down. This is not a 'Science Fiction' book... it is a hard science/thriller, and it's amazing. You can tell Cox did his homework and researched everything...down to the smallest detail. If it were up to me, Cox would be considered a best selling author. Watch out Dan Brown and Michael Crichton... you have some serious competition.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book to anyone that is looking for an entertaining fast read. I really enjoyed the way the author described some of his pasages. I could really picture the scenes in my head and visualize what the writer was talking about. I really enjoyed the female interest (Kelly) and the interaction she had with Mike. This book really picks up speed in the last half of the book and I couldn't put it down. I am really looking forward to another novel by the writer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked this up a few weeks ago after reading and enjoying 'Rift' by the same author and was extremely entertained. The scientific aspects of the plot were handled in ways that the non-scientific readers can understand it and the plot twists were dramatic and emotional enough to have impact on the reader. All in all this book was a fascinating summer read. I highly recommend it to any interested readers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked up this after it was recommended to me and was thankful to have such an engaging and interesting book to fill my summer days with. The theological discussions that pepper this sci-fi thriller are well thought out and thought provoking and the characters become fleshed out, flawed people that you're truly invested in. I'd recommend this book to anyone that's looking for a book that's not your average page-turner, but rather one that will make you think.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Because you won¿t be able to put this one down. If you have trouble thinking on your own or don't like to push your brain to the limit, I would definitely stay away from Cox's second book. While I won't give it away, the ending will leave you coming back for more. This is a great second novel from a young, up and coming writer. The research that went into the book is phenomenal; Cox most certainly put his heart and soul into his second thriller. At the same time, his writing style makes it so that even if you aren¿t a world renowned physicist, you can understand what is happening. If you like science and physics this is the book for you, and there is even some love plot woven through the pages. All in all, great novel, great writer, and I am looking forward to more from Cox.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Los Angeles-based businessman Steve Keely is in Zurich with his assistant Serena who does not hide how much she wants him although he plans to marry Janine. After a spat with Serena, Steve answers his ringing cell phone to overhear his beloved Janine making love to someone named Barry. Heartbroken he quietly and sadly says goodbye. He picks up a Russian, Ana, in a bar and goes to her place, but someone enters her room and beats Steve up. He goes to the hospital where after physically healing he finds he is able to predict the future with uncanny accuracy and perform things on a par with a Jesus miracle.................. Mike McNair is the head physicist of the North Texas Superconducting Super Collider project. On a plane heading to Dallas, he meets news anchor Kelly Smith over Mark Twain. As they become acquainted his Noble Prize obsession takes back seat to this woman who has opened his eyes to a vast world he ignored. However, she will take a back seat to the universe that Steve shows him when the business mogul desperately turns to the physicist for help as he struggles to cope with powers beyond that of a human.................... THE GOD PARTICLE is a superb science fiction thriller that uses relatively up to date theories on subatomic particles as a base for a terrific action-packed thriller. The amazing feat of this tale is even with a deep science base that educates the reader and plenty of non-stop action, the key players, especially Steve and Mike, seem genuine. Richard Cox writes a deep thriller that will remind readers of Ursula Le Guin¿s THE LATHE OF HEAVEN.................. Harriet Klausner