×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

God. Speak.
     

God. Speak.

3.7 76
by Frank Buchan
 

In an age when mankind has uncovered the secrets of creation, the first exploratory mission to the dense inner region of the galaxy still carries with it untold risks. The mission crew finds the truest test of courage comes from having to face something terribly familiar in a distant and lonely place. Can the finest parts of the human spirit can survive

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

God. Speak. 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 76 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Now, I'm not a SciFi reader, and the technical stuff had me wavering in my interest, But damn, this book is EXCELLENT! I LOVE the banter between Steven (main character) and Angus, I found their conversations incredibly enjoyable, and I was even smiling while I was reading! As others have said, you fall in love with the characters, as each one has great development throughout the plot. It gets very philosophical and makes you think and question, which is a great thing. Thank you Mr. Buchan for a great story.
Tammy Matturro More than 1 year ago
Great book. Very well written, believable sci-fi with great character development. As an avid sci-fi reader, this is most definitely one of my favorites.
raelinspalac More than 1 year ago
Could not. Put the nook down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well-written and gripping storyline. The concept makes you think about the scientific as well as the theological viewpoints presented in this story. His characters are well-developed without being tedious. You actually feel for them all through the story, making the "survivors" afterword very poignant and emotional.
Anasuya More than 1 year ago
This book reminds me of that viral email. The one that says you can read a jumble of letters on a page and make sense of the words so long as the first and last letter of the word are in their proper places. The science in this novel is astoundingly pronounced, but inexplicably, I understood the content. And just when I thought the pseudo-philosophical dialogue was bordering on the tedious, some honest character interaction was embedded in the text. I dare say I even shed a bit of a tear at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely could not put it down! Read through twice, loved it both times. Lovable and loathable characters. Totally drew me in emotionally and intellectually! I cried like a baby while reading the last chapter.
Deafguy More than 1 year ago
This book has been one of the best reads in science fiction I have had the pleasure of reading to date.... so good that i spent the weekend on the couch enjoying it.... The worst of the story was it ended.... kudos to the author for a great piece of work!
Lisa Hlava More than 1 year ago
During the sixties, while my friends were buying Archie comics, I was swiping my oldest brothers science fiction. This story reminds me of the classic scifi. Hard science, great and flawed characters, evolving story and a tragic yet uplifting ending. Excellent read. Thank you, Mr. Buchan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Might be a good short story as perhaps the original was but does not work with hundreds of pages of drivel.
conta More than 1 year ago
Started good, very different from what I've read so far. I enjoyed dialogs, but later they become too much. Story was not evolving and dialogues - just not interesting. This book couldn't keep me reading. After more than half of book I gave up. This book was very slow, so maybe shorter version with less of pointless dialogues would be better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As another reviewer pointed out, the book does start slow and technical, but about a third of the way through, all that technical stuff comes into play and makes for a very good book. Great character development and a lot of action with a very believeable ending makes this book worth reading.
Jim77JB More than 1 year ago
The book started out a little slow but picked up a few chapters in. By this time I was involved with the characters and had trouble putting the book down. The science is good enough not to be distracting (as a physics major, bad science can ruin a novel for me) and the characters are fleshed out enough to care about them. The plot, as I mentioned earlier starts slow, but the action picks up, and in the end this could be considered an "action thriller." Overall, an enjoyable and somewhat thought provoking read. I will be looking for more from the author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only made it halfway then just lost intrest. The book was a real chore to read. Granted, some people said the last chapter was great but I have no intention of subjecting myself to anymore. BTW, I dont believe interplanetory spacecraft were built with delta wings. No reason for them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just like it's advertised, great sci-fi in a classic sense. Just the right amount of human drama and techno-babble. This would make a good movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Typos aside ( with ebook it's rampant), this book had so much potential. Reading the authors's notes at the end, it is clear he missed this completely. It's like telling an inside joke...to the teller and buddies it's obvious, .but to me, being on the outside of the clique, I just don't get it. The writer sees his characters as fully realized people and so he forgets that we have never met. It was not ever clear to me what motivated the characters, why they felt the way they did...and it was difficult to keep them straight. Really wanted to love this wanted the style moved to a new level..but it just didn't happen, and the transitions were not smooth from scene to scene or character to character. I would love to see this tightened up, and more meat added. Great title and premis, though! Sorry :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I almost gave up on this book because of all the technical details in the beginning but am glad I stayed with it as it is an interesting book. I'm not a fan of science fiction but this book has a good story to tell. I still like the author's detective stories better but recommend this one as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty good read. A little technical at times and long winded, but an overall good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago