×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A God Who Hates: The Courageous Woman Who Inflamed the Muslim World Speaks Out Against the Evils of Islam
     

A God Who Hates: The Courageous Woman Who Inflamed the Muslim World Speaks Out Against the Evils of Islam

3.5 31
by Wafa Sultan
 

See All Formats & Editions

On Feb. 21, 2006, the Syrian-born and raised Wafa Sultan gave one of the most provocative interviews ever given by a Muslim woman on the Al Jazeera network. In the middle of the interview she told her male Muslim interviewer that it was her turn to speak. And, she did. She told him to "shut up". This simple, yet radical, act of a Muslim woman asserting herself in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A God Who Hates: The Courageous Woman Who Inflamed the Muslim World Speaks Out Against the Evils of Islam 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Shakesphere More than 1 year ago
Keen awareness of the affects cultural beliefs have on individuals & how the person behaves, moves and interacts within the world. A must read for everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As we try to wrestle with and understand the recent tragedy at Fort Hood, might I recommend a book that I just completed last night. The title is: "A God Who Hates," authored by a female psychiatrist who was born and raised a Muslim - her name is Wafa Sultan. I devote much of my time to reading about terrorism and those nation-states, organizations, and individuals who commit themselves to supporting and/or carrying out acts of terrorism - particularly the radical Islamic variety - and our efforts to counter it. Of all the books I have read on the subject recently, hers is one of the more enlightening and truthful that I have come across. The book is available at any Barnes and Noble bookstore, online, etc. She was born and raised in Syria, educated as a medical doctor, and emigrated to the United States in 1988. Her book gives reader's an insider's view of the Islamic culture that she was raised in and her professional training as a psychiatrist provides her observations as to why she believes terrorism has been embraced by so many adherents of that culture. She does not downplay the real danger that we are facing from these adherents. She does not engage in political correctness. Here is a quote from her book: "The Koran says: 'Allah has purchased of the faithful their lives and worldly goods and in return has promised them the Garden. They will fight for His cause, slay and be slain.' (9:111) And so it is the Muslim's objective in war either to kill his enemy or to be killed by him, and he considers himself to have won whichever turns out to be the case. If the Muslim kills the enemy he has won, but if his enemy kills him, the Muslim's victory is even greater, as this action on his enemy's part has served only to allow the Muslim to meet his God all the sooner." As you might imagine, she has placed her very life in danger by speaking out as she has. Her book is a story of personal courage in the face of evil. By writing this book, she decided to do something about it. "The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it" -Albert Einstein
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank You Wafa for writing this book. Your first hand experience validates your writing. I have already passed on my book and plan to not only buy additional copies, but to email and recommend to my Pastor as well as famiy, friends and acquaintances. I must also recommend the new revised addition by Hal Lindsey's, "The Everlasting Hatred,The Roots of Jihad", (just released) which gives deep historical understanding why the Muslims want to build a mosque by ground zero. It traces the history, from the beginning. The most significant thing Wafa says in the last couple of chapters is that there is a difference between what the Arab version of Islam reads compared to the West's interpretation, which is why everyone should read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be extremely enlightening. It is very difficult for the Western mind to wrap itself around the philosophy found in Arabic Islam. This book clearly paints the picture of the thought process and its ramafications. It is fascinating, sad and unsettling but very informative and I think all of Western thought should read this book. I also feel that Wafa Sultan is a very brave woman and I wish her well and that the good Lord would protect her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This provocative memoir is a must read of the year. I couldn't put it down until I had finished. Simply amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is written by a Muslim woman who, during an interview on the al-Jazeera network, told the male Muslim interviewer to "shut up" because it was her turn to speak. This had never happened before, especially on television in the Islamic world (a woman never tells a man to "shut up" there). She was instantly famous. Overnight, in fact. After the interview-that is, after the tore her male Muslim opponent a new one, showing her viewpoint to be superior to his-she wrote this book. It's about her journey out of Syria and to America. The way Sultan was treated as a Muslim woman in America was far superior than the way she was treated in Syria, a predominately Muslim country. In the book, Sultan has many critical words for Allah (whom she humorously calls an "ogre"), for the philosophy of raiding (a dominant trait in the Muslim's psyche), for how Muslim men treat Muslim women in the Middle East (it's not good), and for the conceit of Muslim males (who think they're superior to everybody else, since the make-believe Allah has commanded them to fight the "infidels" until Islam dominates the globe). She also ends with a warning to America as many Muslims who emigrate to the West are intent on destroying it. A provocative and relevant book, especially with the "refugee" crisis now sweeping across Western Europe and perhaps eventually to America. Read, think, and decide for yourself. Readers would also like "Jenna's Flaw," a novel about the death of God, the crumbling of Western civilization, and how the West can save it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
newyorkstar More than 1 year ago
This woman deserves nothing but a shoe thrown at her. if she is so ashamed of her religion why doesn't she change her name. she is putting herself in a bigger sin by speaking bad of her religion and carrying a Muslim name. Horrible!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AJ34 More than 1 year ago
I am very concerned that you have altered the name of this woman's book. You call it: A God Who Hates: The Courageous Woman Who Inflamed the Muslim World Speaks Out Against the Evils of Radical Islam She has titled it: A God Who Hates: The Courageous Woman Who Inflamed the Muslim World Speaks Out Against the Evils of Islam (SHE DOES NOT USE THE WORD RADICAL. That is one of her key points--there is no such thing as "radical" Islam, and peaceful Islam, etc. She witnesses that it is all extreme and violent. I am very concerned as a longtime customer that you would alter her title.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago