×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Going Home: Finding Peace When Pets Die
     

Going Home: Finding Peace When Pets Die

4.3 21
by Jon Katz
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this invaluable guide and touchstone, New York Times bestselling author Jon Katz addresses the difficult but necessary topic of saying goodbye to a beloved pet. Drawing on personal experiences, stories from fellow pet owners, and philosophical reflections, Katz provides support for those in mourning. By allowing ourselves to grieve honestly and openly, he

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Going Home 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading this book I have shed some tears and felt how it was to lose a dog. I highly recoomend it to pet owners.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the first 40 pages of the book looking for support after losing a beloved pet. This book read more like a horror story of cold and careless people. Here is a sample... A person adopted a cow as a pet. He later couldn't afford it so he had it slaughtered. He split the profits with the friend that took the animal to the slaughter house. This isn't what any true animal lover would ever do. This book didn't bring me any comfort but rather it has given me even more grief and depression.
Just-Aimer More than 1 year ago
I had to have my cat of 17 years put to sleep back on Sept 30 of this year. Heart wrenching but the right choice. After a weekend of tears and sadness I started to feel less grief at her absence. I happened upon this book just after Jon Katz had appeared locally at the WI Humane Society - I wish I could have heard him speak. The book itself is well done. It was comforting for me to read and brought up the tears again - but that's ok. It's normal to grieve a pet. It's comforting to know you aren't alone when you experience a high level of grief over a pet. It really is a beautiful book - quick to read, and resonates deeply.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm still mourning the loss of my beloved dog and reading this book helped me sort through my thoughts and feelings. I think the various anecdotes and author's insight can be helpful to all sorts of people. If you've lost a pet, have a terminally ill pet or have an elderly pet I would recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You can teah ctas how to do tricks. Just get somw good cat treats. Hold the treat above their nose until they sit down, and then immediately give them the treat and say 'sit'. This should work, but it may take a few days. It also works with 'speak', but it takes a while longer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If we can post anout our pets...for theboet of the day, this is my post. Jasmine! Shes my black labrador retreiver(lab for short) and shes FAT! LIKE A WALRUS! She wears a purple flower collar around her neck, she has a son that she like to nplay with, and she has a long tounge that she likes to give kisses w ith! She has floppy ears, and bounces around. She loves to play with the horses at the barn she lives at!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Parts of this book was good. But i was hoping for more. I like his other books better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*smiles at you then looks into your eyes*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KAT a granite island thingie with a bowl of lemons and limes on it plus an oven microwave and coubtee abd cupboards with kitchen supplies
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book completely helped me grieve my dog. I cried and laughed.....but mostly just felt relief.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Touching. It's one of the best books i've ever read. Unlike Katz, I lost a beloved horse, not a dog, but it's still all the same. I highly recommend this book to people who have lost a furry member of their family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
FluffyOH More than 1 year ago
Jon Katz is a compassionate author and in writing this book shows his kindness and concern for his four footed family. I would recommend this highly and it is a fast read.
tempestfan19 More than 1 year ago
Jon Katz is brilliant, as always! He knows dogs, and the people who love them. He knows love and loss, and in this book he provides comfort to those who are grieving. He also provides guidance to pet owners who are faced with the difficult question of euthanasia, and helps with the myriad of feelings which follow that decision.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am less then a few days away from having my beloved dog euthanised because of severe behavioral issues. I have been struggling with the decision for almost a year and have been doing alot of crying and second guessing the decision. After reading this book I feel more confident about the decision and better equipt to cope with the grief that will follow. Thank you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"B-because I thought maybe one day... After I met you... Th-that we might have kits," she replied bashfuly. "Oh, it's at "can you stand" first result."