×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Going Rogue (Also Known As Series #2)
     

Going Rogue (Also Known As Series #2)

4.6 9
by Robin Benway
 

See All Formats & Editions

Having a permanent base in Manhattan has its pros and cons for 17-year-old safecracker Maggie Silver. On hiatus from her usual international spy missions, Maggie gets to spend more quality time with her former mark-turned-boyfriend Jesse Oliver and insanely cool best friend, Roux, which makes having to attend SAT prep class almost bearable.

But when Maggie

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Going Rogue 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
BethanyL More than 1 year ago
Going Rogue is fun and so fast-paced that at times I was breathless while reading it. And there is international intrigue! And some new internationally intriguing characters! But the root of the story is still Maggie, Jesse, and Roux, whom I adore and want to be besties with. Where I felt the emotions were a bit forced and then rushed in Also Known As, the emotional depth to the relationships between these three characters really works in this book.You get the feeling that these three characters have bonded completely and are able to trust each other without question, which I imagine is incredibly important when you’re all of a sudden on a team of international spies. Sadly, I don’t know this for real and for true since I’ve never been invited to be on a team of international spies, but I can imagine that it would be stressful and that emotions would be running high, and that trust and faith in your team is one of those things that is pretty necessary. Overall, Going Rogue is an extremely readable spy adventure that will have you practicing your French (and every other language on the planet. You know, for when the time comes.) and trying to figure out which skills you can develop that will make you indispensable as a spy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There was a sense of adrenaline that made you want to read more. This book is happy with the humorous jokes and the romance keeps you off the edge. A great read. Hoping for the third! o
Lisa-LostInLiterature More than 1 year ago
After finding out that Robin Benway narrated her own audiobooks, I knew I had to try it with this one. There’s just something about an author reading their own book. You just KNOW you’re going to get all of the emotion for each character exactly how the author originally meant it to be read. And Benway did a fantastic job of writing AND narrating this book. I really enjoyed it! In Also Known As we met this group of characters, and I instantly felt connected to most… especially Roux. She was a fantastic addition to the story. And now that she knows about Maggie’s spy-ness, it made it even more fun with all of her little jabs here and there. Jesse and Maggie are still together as well, so having him along for the ride this time was an added plus. Compared to Also Known As, this story was a little more mystery, a little less fun high school drama. So I have to say I enjoyed the lighthearted nature of AKA a bit more. But Going Rogue had it’s drama as well, so don’t fret. Lots of fun, spy-ish things going on up in here.  :) Another great story from Robin Benway. Though I rarely ever continue on with series, this is one I’m really enjoying and I’m looking forward to seeing more of these characters. And listening to the audio was definitely the way to go. Can’t beat hearing an author read their own story to you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can somone plz lend me this book
Amy-T More than 1 year ago
Friends, I just can never get enough of good spy stories. Since I enjoyed the first book in this series, ALSO KNOWN AS, so much, I was super excited to read Robin Benway’s GOING ROGUE. I’ve been craving more shenanigans with Maggie and her spy family, but there are fewer best friends I love more than Roux, or boyfriends I love more than Jesse. GOING ROGUE was everything I hoped it would be: fun, adventurous, funny, swoony, and fast-paced. I hope very much that Robin Benway keeps these books coming because they’re good stuff from start to finish. Now that Maggie and her parents are retired from the Collective and living in New York permanently, things have taken on a vibe of normalcy. Maggie is spending her summer studying for her SATs with her bff, Roux, spending time with her super adorable boyfriend, Jesse, and meeting up with her still-mysterious but always awesome “uncle” Angelo. Things are going along just fine, thanks, until the Collective cooks up some drama and accuses Maggie’s parents of stealing some valuables from a job the worked decades ago, and all of a sudden things are moving at warp speed as Maggie and her friends travel the globe to prove her parent’s innocence. The standout in GOING ROGUE is Maggie. I have to admit that I liked Roux the best in ALSO KNOWN AS, and she is still her sassy, excellent self in GOING ROGUE and I luffed her. But I really enjoyed seeing Maggie take the reins of this job, and taking so many things on her shoulders. She gets to flex her skills as a lock-picker and takes on the responsibility of locating the gold coins and their true thief with gusto, so that her parents might be spared the awful retribution of the Collective. WORD, Maggie. WORD. Of course, all of this going on surveillance missions and traveling around trying to find some gold coins and facing off with the bad guy leaves her relationship with Jesse in a weird place. She misses some things and has a hard time juggling her responsibility to her parents and her loyalty to Jesse. The good news is that GOING ROGUE just basically cements the two of them as the most adorable couple EVAR, and Jesse as the cutest, awesomest boyfriend around. I love how he and Roux support Maggie and want to do whatever they can to help her and her parents. Jesse warms my heart, though. And GOING ROGUE has some of the best flirty banter thanks to Maggie and Jesse, and the swoons were legit, too. One of my favorite things about spy stories–and about GOING ROGUE specifically–is the way they always seem to expose secrets, real or imagined, about things we all know or things that are right under our noses. We get some lore about Faberge eggs, a secret subway station under The Plaza hotel, and some scenes in the catacombs under Paris. Getting to jet around the globe with Maggie, Jesse, and Roux was fun and full of intrigue and danger and action. Big fan of that, ALWAYS. Also, can I just say that I really enjoyed the little hints and glimpses we got of Roux and Angelo’s father-daughter relationship? I loved that we learned of their get-togethers and chats. It gave me warm-fuzzies to learn that Roux–amazing, vibrant, loyal, hilarious Roux–had a grown-up who cared and paid attention to her. I cheered for her when she forged a really sweet butterflies-in-my-tummy connection with one of the new characters we meet. (The new characters are all super, by the way. Trying not to give away too many details! But they make GOING ROGUE even better.) I really can’t say
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
book4children More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the Also Known As series. Maggie and her friends embark on a new adventure in an effort to clear her parent's names from false accusations. The first half of the book is mostly dedicated to drama and teenage angst, but things pick up in the second half. I thoroughly loved the first book, but I didn't enjoy this one as much. It was missing all the fun and excitement that was so prevalent the first time around. There was still some humor and some action, but I didn't get sucked into the story as easily. The second half of the book was better than the first half. Some new characters were introduced, and they brought a new angle to story that we hadn't seen before, so that was a plus. There was also more of the author's signature humor in the second half, which is one of the reasons I liked this series so much to begin with. Overall, I would still count this as a win, but I hope the next book goes lighter on the drama and heavier on the fun. Content: profanity (no f-words) and innuendo.