×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gold of Kings
  • Alternative view 1 of Gold of Kings
  • Alternative view 2 of Gold of Kings
     

Gold of Kings

4.2 23
by Davis Bunn
 

See All Formats & Editions

Harry Bennett, archeologist, and Storm Syrrell, an antiquities dealer, go on a worldwide treasure hunt with implications far beyond monetary value.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gold of Kings 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
GOLD OF KINGS by Davis Bunn is an historical treasure hunt thriller. Gold and treasures from the Second temple in Jerusalem are the center of the hunt. A threesome of a bereaved daughter who was given information about a treasure from her recently deceased grandfather; a treasure hunter who was mysteriously released from a Barbados prison where he was imprisoned without cause; and a US Treasure and Interpol Agent travel in search of answers and the treasure. The treasure hunt centers around the Copper Scroll in Quran as told about by the ancient Jewish Historian, Josephus, and treasures that had been in the Second Temple. The history of the Jews, the first Christian Jews, and the Romans in the first few centuries AD is fascinating. The interaction between those in search of the treasure keeps changing and makes the reader want to be in the action - faster and faster. There are twists and turns between those who honestly want to find historical artifacts and those who just want to get rich quick. This book is for all readers who enjoy a great fast passed adventure. My only complaint is that is the first in a trilogy and I want to read parts two and three NOW!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another excellent book from Davis Bunn. The research and delivery with a few chuckles thrown in with a dump truck made a perfect read. Well done Mr. Dunn, you did it again. Keep up the wonderful writing.
RLubow More than 1 year ago
In this captivating treasure hunt novel, Davis Bunn causes readers to consider priorities, legacy, and loyalty. Bunn's writing is refreshing and restrained. While reading Gold of Kings, I often paused to consider artful structure, masterful phrases, and strong word choice. Both scenes and characters are vivid and memorable, and the story is not overly emotional, dramatic, or cliche. I also appreciated the characters' imperfections and the novel's ending, which was satisfying yet not too tidy.  I recommend Gold of Kings to readers searching for a fresh, mature, fast-paced novel written by a Christian who tastefully communicates important themes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jrwitty55 More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent book. Great thriller. Love the team of Harry Bennett and Emma Webb. Started reading and could not put it down.
rodman2735 More than 1 year ago
Good read, ending was a bit predictable but overall well done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. It wasn't an 'edge of your seat' book but it was very interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I would recommend for anyone who likes treasure hunting tales. --K--
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cherryblossommj More than 1 year ago
Now this was a fun book! "Gold of Kings" is quite adventurous and easily can be visualized as an action film much like National Treasure or the Da Vinci Code films in theory. The reading of this book gives off a similar vibe to Matt Bronleewe's August Adams series, although it is not quite as cool in my opinion as I just loved those books, but really like this one. There are really three main characters that you are following through out the book in their physical, mental, and spiritual battles. The adventure is laid out for the reader to enjoy right along with the characters. The only flaw points that draw me back are the parts where a character figures something out, but it is hidden from the reader. That makes me feel like an outsider, and I love the stories that are as if you are right along side them, and not viewing from a window, you know? One of the best parts about this book are the historical facts and images that are brought to life and explained through out. As the characters are learning some historical pieces of the puzzle the explanations are given to the reader as well in an intriguing manner. Maybe it is because I have a Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies and this is just my thing, but over all I was thoroughly impressed and plan to look for more titles like this from Davis Bunn in the future.
ChristyLockstein More than 1 year ago
Gold of Kings by Davis Bunn is a fast-paced suspenseful thriller about the quest for an ancient treasure. Storm Syrrell's world has fallen apart. Her grandfather Sean fired her from the family business of selling rare and high priced pieces of art just before dying of a heart attack. To make things worse, she's not even mentioned in the will. Harry Bennett has spent the last three years of his life wasting away in a jail cell in Barbados for a crime he didn't commit. Sean's actions in his last days will bring them together, along with federal agent Emma Webb on a search for treasures from the Second Temple in Jerusalem that sends that traveling across the globe and fighting for their very lives. In the growing genre of treasure hunting books, Gold of Kings is unique in its various subplots of family betrayal and international money laundering. Harry and Emma are a interesting, romantic couple who seem to have too many differences to ever overcome their chemistry, and Storm is the emotional touchstone of the book with her grief over Sean's death and her struggle to understand his life. There's a lot of suspense, double-crosses, and treasure, and it would make a fantastic movie. My one quibble with the book, is that I never felt emotionally connected with the characters. I didn't feel Storm's grief or the romantic sparks between Emma and Harry. Even the nail-biting scenes were a bit removed. I'm not sure why I didn't connect with this book, but if Bunn writes a sequel (as the ending seems to imply), I'll definitely check it out to give the characters who have so much potential another chance.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Palm Beach Sean Syrrell owner of Syrrell's Galleries knows that killers are after him; this is why he suddenly fires his beloved granddaughter Storm. He proves right the hard way when someone snuck into his basement of Steinway's and sprayed him with a toxin that killed him. Shortly after his death, events he anticipated and planned for resulted in the release from a Barbados prison of treasure hunter Harry Bennett. His instructions include protecting Storm, who has found some interesting odd items in her grandfather's safe deposit box. Combined with what Harry knows, they conclude Sean has sent them treasure clues from the grave. ------------- When ancient Jewish historian Josephus' Copper Scroll of Qumron is found in Israel; it includes a list of Temple treasures not previously seen on Titus' Roman arch. They are joined by US Treasury agent and INTERPOL agent Emma Webb on a quest to find the GOLD OF KINGS even as governments, religious groups, and others try to prevent their success any way they can including assassination if need be.----------- GOLD OF KINGS is a seat of your pants thriller mindful of Indiana Jones; filled with false leads and non stop action, readers will enjoy the escapades of the lead trio as survival is not enough any longer with each having a touch of biblical gold fever. Since the threesome quickly learns friends prove false, they trust no one except the "guiding" spirit of Sean who each feels is with them somehow as everyone else has an agenda. That agenda is a key ingredient to the plot with some wanting to claim the treasure and others wanting it destroyed before it becomes publicly known. Fans will enjoy joining the global treasure hunt for the Temple's gold.-------- Harriet Klausner