×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Golden Fool (Tawny Man Series #2)
     

Golden Fool (Tawny Man Series #2)

4.6 132
by Robin Hobb
 

See All Formats & Editions

The acclaimed Farseer and Liveship Traders trilogies established Robin Hobb as one of the most splendidly imaginative practitioners of world-class fantasy.
Now, in Book 2 of her most stunning trilogy yet, Hobb continues the soul-shattering tale of FitzChivalry Farseer. With rich characters, breathtaking magic, and sweeping action, Golden Fool

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Golden Fool (Tawny Man Series #2) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 132 reviews.
BluHawk More than 1 year ago
Hobb is my ultimate fall-back author. If ever I find myself in need of a guaranteed good read, I pick up a FitzChivalry novel. I love that the story evolves and that I every time I read it, I am immediately immersed right back into the world. I think these should be on the must-read list for any sci-fi / fantasy lover. Great characters, great story, and overall: extremely memorable! If you liked this book, I bet you will also like the "Magician" series by Raymond E. Feist (Particularly from book 3 on...) as well as his "Conclave of Shadows" series. I also think you would like "Dragon Weather" by Lawrence Watt-Evans, "A Shadow in Summer" by Daniel Abraham, and "Thief's Gamble" by Juliet E. McKenna.
Grandpa More than 1 year ago
As in many trilogies, book two is just filler between the beginning and the end. So is the case here. I was hoping to at least resolve the issue as to wheather the Fool is a woman, (dissapointing), or a man. As much as I like Robin Hobb's work, I found myself saying, "just what the heck was that chapter about?". The character plots meander all over the place, the story line seems to bog down with too many loose ends, awaiting book three. I managed to finish it, because of my devotion to Hobb, and anticipate satisfying endings to all the issues in book three. Having said that, If you like Hobb, you will find enough to make this a satisfying, if skimpy meal.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Robin Hobb is by far one of the greatest writers I have ever read. This installment of the Farseer saga is definitely the best so far; it was almost physical agony to put it down! From the beginning, in Assassin's Apprentice, I was drawn in by Hobb's portrayal of her characters; they are so real, so human...I genuinely feel affection for and a deep connection with Fitz and the rest of the cast (I didn't feel as strongly about the Liveship characters, perhaps because they were experienced through the third person perspective). It was heart-wrenching watching Fitz as he became distanced from those whom he loves most; the fight with the Fool nearly brought tears to my eyes! But that is part of what makes these novels so enchanting...Hobb's characters are far from perfect and make mistakes just like you and me. And if deeply detailed, complex characters aren't enough for you, the plot has enough twists and turns to keep your attention riveted for hours on end. I definitely recommend reading the Farseer and Liveship Trader trilogies before starting the Tawny Man series, as Golden Fool loses a lot of its impact otherwise. I was clearly too enraptured with the plot and inter-person relationships of the book to catch the slip made with Malta; she is Althea's niece, not her sister. However, considering that everything else about this book is perfect, I do not think that the mistake warrants a two-star deduction. I have already started reading the next book, Fool's Fate. Normally, I wait for the paperback edition, but there was no way I wouldn't have been able to wait a few hours to follow my friends on their adventure, much less the many months before the paperback was released. But, I digress...the point I want to convey is that this book, this author, is as magnificent as they come. You absolutely MUST read these novels; you will not be disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WRIGHTMIND More than 1 year ago
ONE OF ROBIN'S BEST SERIES YET!!!!! THEY ARE ALL WONDERFUL BUT THIS SERIES IS ONE OF A KIND. THIS SERIES WRAP'S THEM ALL TOGETHER, WHAT A GIFT SHE HAS GIVEN US.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago