×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Goldeneyes
     

Goldeneyes

4.9 10
by Delia Latham
 

See All Formats & Editions

A man’s eyes are the windows to his soul … if he has one.
Deep in the darkness of a Depression-era night, a man addicted to alcohol commits an unspeakable crime to obtain it. His vile action impacts the lives of two entire families, and decades will pass before the horrible wrong begins to be made right again.
Two young women – strangers to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Goldeneyes 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
DRSteele More than 1 year ago
Goldeneyes Pick up a stone and skip it across the water, while watching the ripples you will see each skip intersect with each other.  Goldeneyes by Delia Latham is a book full of twist and turns. It teaches us how the decisions of one person can effect the lives of so many for years to come.  One mans bad choice and Gods directing of the characters back to the right path no matter how far they chose to stray makes this story not only good to read but to learn from. It shows how we have free will and have to pay for our choices yet God can use even those choices for His good. What we decide to do today effects not only ourselves but those around us for tomorrow. This story is wonderfully woven together to keep you reading and guessing right up until the end. Like watching those ripples until they are gone. I give Glodeneyes 5 stars!
ClareR More than 1 year ago
I bought this one having read and loved several others by the same author. I wasn't disappointed. In fact, I was surprised on more than one occasion by the twists Ms. Latham put in the story. I read far into the night, unable to put the book down and I was not expecting the ending. Definitely one to keep and re read at some point.
TammyK1 More than 1 year ago
A beautiful story. Loved this one!
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Joy H. for Readers Favorite Would you sell your newborn baby for money to supply your alcohol addiction? That¿s exactly what Jack Kelly does in Delia Latham¿s book "Goldeneyes". Jack didn¿t want kids, but his wife did. So after hearing a fellow worker talking about he and his wife losing their newborn, he decided to do something about his new family member. But of course Jack wasn¿t man enough to admit what he did, so he told his wife the baby was kidnapped. Although Juliana Camden writes inspirational fiction, she is now answering mail from an advice column, which she finds very interesting. I liked the character of Juliana. She has such a caring heart and her advice to others shows the love and care she has for them. One particular letter from a young woman, who is afraid of losing her family as well as her heart, grips Juliana in a way no other letter does. Little did Juliana know she was in for the shock of a lifetime when she found out who this young lady really is. This story captured me from the very first page. Being hit with Jack¿s admission to selling his own flesh and blood newborn baby grips your heart in such a way that you just have to find out what will happen to Jack as well as his little one. Delia Latham gifts us with well-developed characters who are so real and believable that you feel like you are right there in the story with them. The storyline itself keeps you on the edge of your seats, so much happens, with so many twists and turns, so that the excitement just keeps building until the very end of the book. I highly recommend this Christian fictional thriller for you to read. You just can¿t go wrong if you like good clean thrillers to read and enjoy. Truly one of the best books I have read
LASR_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Originally posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com ***** Addiction can drive a man to do some pretty awful things, but to sell his baby? In the dead of night, when the demon takes control and you have nowhere to turn, you might possibly be driven to do even that. Just ask Jack Kelly. He'll tell you. Jack Kelly starts this novel off with a bang and a horrendous confession. And while his physical presence in this novel is short-lived, his spirit is in every chapter. Despite his despicable act, he is a fascinating character. His love for his wife is everything in his world and yet, his demon is more dominant. I would have liked to get to know him just a bit better. Juliana Camden is an inspiration in herself. A writer of inspirational fiction, she finds herself suddenly reading and answering mail for an advice column. This, in itself, will change the course of her life. I loved the fact that she is very devout and yet is still unsure of herself at times. However, she is a very loving and caring person, taking each and every request for advice to heart. We'd all be lucky to have someone like her on our side. Gillian Parsons is quite the opposite of Juliana. While still being an extremely honest and caring person, she has been lacking in faith since the death of her father. She is probably the more realistic of the two women, as we all have a crisis of faith at least once in our lives, although I know women like both of these young ladies. The fact that, just because her faith has been misplaced, she doesn't give up completely says a lot about her character and the upbringing she's had. Watching her grow and find what she'd lost was a wonderful experience. From the very first page, I was drawn into Jack Kelly's story. Rich storytelling combined with believable and lovable characters only enhanced the already well-woven plot. Goldeneyes was filled with twists and turns and surprises I never saw coming. Add to this the faith and Christian values sprinkled throughout the pages and you get an amazing story of love, faith, and endurance of spirit that you won't soon forget. Delia Latham's Goldeneyes is a treasure of story sure to make an impact on anyone who picks it up.
Guest More than 1 year ago
You should get a copy. I absolutely loved it! Couldn't put it down. Read it in one sitting! I'll be keeping my eyes open for the next Delia Latham title.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this story. Once I got into the main storyline I could not put it down. I even gave it five stars, which I usually reserve for books that make me change my way of thinking about something, but the reason for this five stars is altogether different yet still well deserved. I felt it was a book that really got to my soul with the feelings it brought forth and made me feel right along with the characters. It all began in a farm labor camp in California when the lives of many were changed by a choice made by one man. How can his wrongs be made right many years later as truths begin to be revealed. The lives of many are interconnected, and as everything unravels, the truths will be brought to light and the workings of God throughout the whole situation will be made evident. This is a well-written story that has depth of emotion and character. I would highly recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
From the first chapter of this book I was caught up in the characters. This author had me hooked from the beginning. These characters were so real to life to me I just had to know what would happen next. I was surprised with every turn of the pages. I loved it and would love to read a sequel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Goldeneyes Author Delia Latham is a fulsome writer. With her story Goldeneyes I saw through another one¿s eyes. I could find my self in the shoes of a man that fell into the clutches of alcohol and how he found his way out. This journey through a broken heart of losing a child because of situations that arose will leave your heart beating in a new way. This wonderful story is one of the best I have ever read. As I read this story I felt as I was learning, and growing. Soulful, Touching, Stirring and gripping Goldeneyes is and more. This story has such artistic depth and full of emotions, it will send you on a roller coaster ride that will bring such pleasure. I give this book 5 Stars. One of the best writers of our time Delia Latham has a intelligent way with words, it is as if each word in the story has its own color and as you read a brilliant picture is being painted on a blank canvas, leaving a masterpiece in the mind long after you are finished. This is a must read, don¿t miss out, this book has so much heart and soul it lives in itself. Wonderful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has so much potential for a bestseller!! I enjoyed it so much I almost couldn't put it down long enough to eat. The storyline basically captivates you from the getgo and just keeps getting more and more interesting as you read. It has been very cleverly written to bring you into the character's world of emotions so that you're anxious to get to the next page to see what the outcome will be. The book does not slow down from getting interesting but just keeps building right up till the very end. 'Goldeneyes' is a mustread!!!