×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Goliath
     

Goliath

4.6 34
by Steve Alten
 

See All Formats & Editions

Commander Rochelle "Rocky" Jackson is aboard the aircraft carrier USS Ronald Reagan when the "unsinkable" naval vessel and its entire fleet are attacked from the depths and sunk. As Rocky struggles to stay alive, a monstrous mechanical steel stingray surfaces, plowing through the seas it now commands.

A U.S. Navy-designed futuristic nuclear stealth

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Goliath 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Demeter1957 More than 1 year ago
I got this book for my husband and he loved it and was telling me all about it. This from a man who doesn't really like to read. He loves Steve Alten's books and this one didn't fail him either. If you want to get something that has the right amount of action and adventure you can't go wrong with Steven Alten.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is why Steve Alten has become one of my top three authors. Just a great read. Plenty of action and written in such a way that actually makes you think about our cultures insanity. Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A cover to cover read. I couldnt put it down. Thanks for the great action!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a good book. I think that anyone who likes Alten's work will enjoy this. I did, but do have to say that it is not as good as the Meg series or The Loch.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Taken right from World War three. Domain is a well researched novel showing how important submarines are to a nation's protection. Also involved A.I. (artifical intellegence). The perfect scifi novel to read on the couch on a rainy day.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This guy, Steve Alten is a superb writer. You read the first few pages...and you're hooked. A must read. The book is fabulous! I would love to see this book on the Big Screen.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Steve Alten writes the best books I have ever read. I do a lot of reading and all of his books have caught my interest.I have enjoyed reading his books, I highly recommend them to everyone!! He also has his own website, that is a lot of fun. I really enjoyed MEG and The Trench!! His third book in that series should be out sometime in the summer, and I cannot wait for it!! Then he will publish his next book in the Domain series, Resurection, another book I cannot wait for!!! Anyone who likes to read Michael Crichton, will enjoy Steve Alten's books, I certainly do!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
What an incredible book! I lost a lot of sleep because I could not put it down. I check out most of my books from the local library and I was lucky to be able to check out Meg and Domain also. All three Altman books are great. I am patiently waiting for the sequels. Hurry up Steve!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book it was well researched and just as good as all his books. Recommedned- Any Steve Alten book
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was well researched and that stands out. There were great characters scenerios. And I think this is Alten's best work to date. Can't wait for the sequal!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I have been a fan of Steve Alten's work since I read Meg several years ago. As with his previous books, you can see that he does a tremendous amount of research and the line between fact and fiction blurs. If you like Tom Clancy and/or Clive Cussler, you'll love this one. You even begin to care about the 'bad guys' a little. The most amazing thing is how plausible the plot is. Read this book -- you won't be sorry. Then take the time to look up his previous books and read them too: 'Meg: A Novel of Deep Terror;' 'Trench,' and 'Domain.' You'll be glad you did and you'll be a fan for life!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Take one part Tom Clancy, one part Michael Crichton, add a pinch of Ian Flemming and sprinkle liberally with Arthur C. Clarke's '2001 A Space Odyssey' and you have Steve Alten's 'Goliath'. It's a boffo, sci-fi, action, techno-thriller destined for the big screen. Alten effectively mixes science, with breath taking action, with a good deal of philosophy. This is book that will make you think. At the center of 'Goliath' is the character Simon Covah; a villain in the best James Bond tradition. Yet unlike the usual amoral Bond villain Covah has an almost overdeveloped sense of morality. Covah is a brilliant ex-Soviet scientist who sets out to reform humanity through force. His engine for change is the Declaration of Humanity. The means through which he will enforce his will is the US designed, massive, nearly invincible, stealth super sub the Goliath. At the heart of the Goliath is the super sophisticated bio-chemical computer call Sorceress (think HAL from '2001 A Space Odyssey'). Standing between Covah and his plans for humanity are three things: former US Army Ranger and convicted traitor Gunnar Wolfe, the beautiful ex-fiancé of Gunnar Wolfe Navy Commander Rochelle 'Rocky' Jackson and Sorceress itself. The editing in 'Goliath' is a bit sloppy. I detected a couple of misspellings and there is some confusion regarding Jackson's military service (in one instance they talk about her becoming a general, which is not a rank in the Navy, and in another she talks about always wanting to be in the Army, she's a naval officer). These minor things aside 'Goliath' is a first rate read. It provides a thought-provoking premise with edge of your seat action. I highly recommend it and look forward to the promised sequel entitled 'Sorceress'.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Steve Alten has once again written a book that once you pick up you will not put it down to eat or sleep. Be prepared to read all night. The character were outstanding and he could write more books using these highly developed characters. The book is about highly specialized computers and submersables that have been taken by terrorists and threaten the entire existence fo the human race. But some how the characters come to the rescue after learning alot about themselves and the human race. EXCELLENT BOOK The best book I have read this year!!!!!!