×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gone to Green (The Green Series #1)
     

Gone to Green (The Green Series #1)

4.0 111
by Judy Christie
 

See All Formats & Editions

In Gone to Green, Lois goes from being a corporate journalist at a large paper in the Midwest to the owner of The Green News-Item, a small twice-weekly newspaper in rural North Louisiana. The paper was an unexpected inheritance from a close colleague, and Lois must keep it for at least a year, bringing a host of challenges, lessons, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gone to Green 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 110 reviews.
LeAnneH More than 1 year ago
Lois Barker is not Father Tim, but if you felt at home in Jan Karon's Mitford, you will love the lively characters in Judy Christie's Gone to Green. When big city journalist Lois Barker inherits a small town newspaper from a friend, she only intends to stay the required year in Green, Louisiana, before unloading the paper and moving on to something better. But is there anything better than being her own boss and making a difference in a local community? Of course, readers know from the beginning that Barker will stay. (After all, there are more titles to look forward to in Christie's Green series!) But it takes a few scandals and news scoops and a whole lot of new friends (including an attractive lawyer and a helpful catfish farmer) to convince her that she has at last come home. Judie Christie writes in a fun first person voice that had me on page one. Each chapter begins with an amusing excerpt from the Green News-Item. Although Lois is also on a spiritual journey, the preaching never overwhelms the story. I enjoyed the Mitford books, but it always bothered me that Father Tim had to be a "professional Christian" for readers to consider his spiritual insights appropriate to the character. I am hoping that in Lois Barker Christie will break out of that mold and show a lay believer whose commitment to God makes a difference. The setting is still a small Bible-belt town. Who is going to write me a Northern urban tale where the gospel is seen through someone in the marketplace? I'm thinking maybe an African American hairdresser in a neighborhood that is a cross-section of urban American life.
graycyn More than 1 year ago
To start, I got this as a free ebook. I had gathered that it might be Christian oriented, so I wasn't sure if I'd enjoy it much, given that I am NOT religious whatsoever. However, it was better than I expected and reasonably enjoyable. The actual story idea wasn't bad, and had promise, though I don't really feel it was fully realized here. I'd have like more gritty ins and outs of the small newspaper biz, rather than a float-along, all is well and getting better all the time, fizzy little charming view. Still and all, there were plenty of likeable characters, even if I didn't feel they were developed particularly well. There's certainly charm to the general rosy and positive outlook and I do think there is a place for that. I could have done without the Christian aspects, but they weren't hard hitting and did not overwhelm the general plot line. Speaking of plot... not a lot of drama to this one, more of a "will she, won't she sell" and hardly a page turner. More of a "cozy" style, if you know what I mean. Predictable ending. I'd consider reading the next in the series if it were free, but would not go and buy it. It is also a fairly short book of 144 pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very good story with humor, friendship, and coming to love the place you're at.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the entire Green Series. Did not expect how the story worked out. However, I checked out remaining books in series from the library due to cost.
N_M_K More than 1 year ago
Read 2/3's of it and then it got way to preach-y for me.
autumnbluesreviews More than 1 year ago
In Gone to Green find out how Lois a corporate journalist at a large paper who is moving up in the company unexpectedly ends up working for a small town paper after an inheritance from a close colleague. Lois must keep the company for at least a year and suddenly she finds herself battling town prejudices and inner doubts. Lois also discovers the goodness of people in this new town and the importance of being part of a community which leads her to make friends with some surprising folk. She soon finds out God might indeed have a plan for her and it does not include returning to her previous life. I have had the pleasure of conversing by email with the lovely author of this book Judy Christie and I have received a signed copy of Gone to Green to read and review. During my review of this book I found myself looking forward to the next chapter again and again. In this story I found Lois to be a gentle soul who struggles with her faith in God throughout the book. Lois is very strong willed and although at first in her new life she tries to push people away she soon finds out she enjoys their company more and more. The setting for this book a small Louisiana town of Green and the quirky characters were easily transformed in my imagination. I totally fell in love with and anticipated the new love relationship Lois had acquired toward the end of this book. I am more than looking forward to the next book in this series and already got a head start with the bonus chapter at the end of the book from Judy's next book titled Goodness Gracious Green. Quote from Judy: "I try to focus on doing God's will for my life and enjoying each day more. Part of that is hurrying less and worrying less". About the Author; From the Website of Judy Christie: Judy Christie is an author and consultant who lives in Northwest Louisiana. She writes inspirational fiction and nonfiction. Her popular Green series chronicles the goings-on in the small Louisiana town of Green and is part of Abindgon Press's new inspirational fiction line. The third book in the Green series, The Glory of Green, will be released Spring 2011. It follows Gone to Green, her first novel, published in 2009, and Goodness Gracious Green, which came out in 2010. Judy is also the author of the popular Hurry Less, Worry Less nonfiction series, published by Abingdon Press: Hurry Less, Worry Less for Families; Hurry Less, Worry Less at Work; Hurry Less, Worry Less: 10 Strategies for Living the Life You Long For; Hurry Less, Worry Less at Christmastime. A journalist for many years Judy is a frequent speaker at retreats and workshops. Judy is an amazing person and an inspiration to me. Stop over and visit Judy at her website and send her a note she loves to hear from people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable. God has a plan for each of our lives!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mellis More than 1 year ago
Interesting little read. Enjoyable. Now on second in series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful read. Helpful for those having trouble understanding the path for their life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story youll love the series