×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Good Harbor
     

Good Harbor

3.2 24
by Anita Diamant
 

See All Formats & Editions

Anita Diamant, whose rich portrayal of the biblical world of women illuminated her acclaimed international bestseller The Red Tent, now crafts a moving novel of contemporary female friendship.

Good Harbor is the long stretch of Cape Ann beach where two women friends walk and talk, sharing their personal histories and learning life's lessons from each other

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Good Harbor 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read the red tent first and thought 'oh my god i can hardly wait for the next book!!' good habor was good just as good as the red tent only different. instead of being taken back in time to a history that didn't exist, Diamant tells an everyday story about two lonely women who find each other and surprisingly enough themselves. Women need books like these to keep their sanity. It's nice to know that some one is at least thinking thoughts if not living what my life is like. I'm a true crime buff but every now and then my friend forces me into fiction, which is a real good thing cause now I have another writer to choose from.
NicoleTrist More than 1 year ago
I put this book down a few hours ago and I still have tears in my eyes thinking about it. Every now and then a great book comes out about the power of friendship and companionship between women and this, to me, is one of those great stories. Full Review; http://bookywooks.blogspot.com/2010/01/nothing-beats-walk-on-beach.html
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my first Anita Diamant book. What a great story. I felt like I actually knew these two women and I laughed and cried with each of them. I loved how the author wove the different traditions of Judaism and Catholicism into the book. I also felt anger at the one friend for her 'affair'. I can't wait to read The Red Tent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sauerkraut More than 1 year ago
I was just sitting here wondering if I should buy Diamants' newest book. I was checking what everyone else thought of it and I saw how low the rating was for Good Harbor. This is one of my favorite books about female friendships. I am shocked that these other ladies rated it so badly. I sell my books at a used book store and this is one book I have kept in my library. Whenever I want a soothing, wonderful world to go to, I reread this book. I am very sorry the other ladies did not enjoy it to it's fullest. They all say they read The Red Tent and I never have, maybe that is the difference. All I can say is, give the book a try and make up your own mind!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was definitely not as good as Red Tent. I was apprehensive to read it since i enjoyed Red Tent so much(and didn't want to be disappointed in Diamant), and after reading the back cover I thought it sounded a little hokey. But I am glad I read it. Being 42, with 3 children at various ages, back in school, trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life, and dealing with the constant struggle called marriage, but knowing that I am going to be okay through all of it because of the good friends I have, I really connected to this book(sorry, that was a lot!). It was a little hokey at times, but overall I think middle-aged women like me will really enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'd never read a book by Diamant before . . .after this I don't want to pick up another. The books seemed slow, boring, and dull; I thought the whole thing was predictable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book and liked seeing how these women became friends and helped each other out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being a huge fan of The Red Tent I was eager to read Good Harbor. I was astonished at how bad the book was. Are there two Anita Diamants? How could The Red Tent be such a triumph and Good Harbor be a poor generic Harlequin romance both be written by the same person? 1 star is being generous.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this book just OK at best. I didnt care about the characters the way I thought I would I enjoyed their friendship but didnt really feel it emotionally I found the whole drug dealer chain smoking boyfriend pretty offensive and The rabbi just disappeared at the end with no closure. I liked the husbands and couldnt find the reason why there was so much anger toward them Just a OK book at best
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Good Harbor for a variety of reasons including the fact that as person undergoing treatment for breast cancer (surgical biopsy, surgery, chemo and now just finishing radiation) I appreciated the non-sensationalist approach to this disease. Ms Diament didn't see fit to throw every single horrible side effect at its absolute worst at Katherine. None of this experience is pleasant and Katherine definitely had it easier that most (me included to some extent) but it was nice to read a good story without having to feel like flagellating myself over someone else's misery. I've got the Red Tent on order and am looking forward to some more very good writing even if in an entirely different context.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Picked up this book despite my feelings towards The Rent Tent. I enjoyed reading into Joyce and Kathleen's friendship and how it evolved. I finished the book wishing I had a friendship just as theirs'. It was just a really good read which left me feeling good...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Diamante's The Red Tent was a moving story told in a unique and powerful way. It was a 5-Star book, for sure. Luckily, I read a review of this book before I read it, so I knew enough not to expect another 'one of the best books I've ever read.' I actually read it because of its setting, one of my favorite places, the Gloucester-Rockport (Cape Ann) area. However, Good Harbor, is a relaxing read about the friendship between two middle-age women, and its assertion of the values of such a relationshp is a reassuring one to readers. If the characters, both major and minor ones, had been more developed, this could have been a 'great read' rather than just a relaxing one. The two husbands, female rabbi and the Irish drug peddler all needed fleshing out, for sure. But some days, we just need a relaxing,somewhat comforting book to read, and this fits the bill.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was my once a year delve into popular new fiction and, girl, was I disappointed. First, nothing, I mean nothing happens until three quarters through when the younger of the two women randomly meets a stranger on the beach and dives headlong into a brief triste that ends in the most unlikely of ways. I felt a few pangs for the older woman whose struggle with breast cancer is just about the most interesting thing the book had to offer. But still it was hard to warm up to her. Since she is always putting everyone off, it puts off the reader, too! The husbands are like old furniture, not even worth mentioning, and nothing happens to them either. Their outstanding quality is that they both bore their wives to some degree. Another character she introduces, a young female Rabbi, was mildly interesting but for some reason Diamante just drops her like a hot potato for no particular reason and without any closure as they say. In short, I kept reading because I figured the plot had to go somewhere at some point. Nada!