×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch
     

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

4.6 591
by Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
 

See All Formats & Editions

According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (the world's only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner.

So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Good Omens 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 591 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would be wasting your valuable time if I were less than direct. Good Omens is one of the funniest and most engaging books I have ever read. Now take the time you've saved by my brevity and use it to start reading this book that much sooner.
lysie More than 1 year ago
This is a great book seamlessly written by 2 authors in a way that you are unable to tell who has written what. The characters are interestingand fun, and the details are compelling and entertaining. I love this book so much that I have purchased 4 copies of it over the years and have had to repurchase because someone has borrowed it and has not returned it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to read an offbeat book that does not talk down to the reader.
Danibelle More than 1 year ago
This is one of the funniest books I've ever read. It's one of those books that has you laughing so hard people start to stare at you. Gaiman and Pratchett together are unstopable! One word of advice: Don't skip the footnotes!
Blue-Angel More than 1 year ago
I first read this book when I was 13, much too young to appreciate every reference, and I liked it then. Every re-read has made me like it more. The fate of the world is at stake, and still I laugh at the humor, the absurdity, the *humanity* that shines through. It's not a simple book - the language is smart and the plot has several lines that do tie together nicely. But it's enjoyable to read, not snooty or dense. The characters are fabulous and unique. I've given this book as a gift for a huge range of people - my mom, my husband, my minister, my best friend's new girlfriend. They adored it. You should know, though, that any humorous book that takes on the anti-Christ, witches, the four horsemen of the apocalypse, angels, demons, and Armageddon is not going to appeal to everyone. Especially not those who have an extremely literal take on Biblical matters and an underdeveloped sense of humor. For everyone else, this is highly recommended.
saradippity More than 1 year ago
I keep having to buy it again and again because it's so good I keep loaning it to my friends and I never get it back. They refuse to let it go! But now it gets to stay with me and be mine forever :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quite possibly my favorite book. I've read it three times and pick up on new things with each read. Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett have created something truly exceptional and wonderfully witty.
Ashes524 More than 1 year ago
I had heard about this book and thought i might try it out, and thank goodness i did! Its a wonderfully funny storyline and dramatic at the same time. And as some reviews say, "The Apocalypse couldnt be any funnier!" Heck, who wouldnt want the end of the world to be funny? Its fun, and a must read! I know that i'm going to have to buy more copies since i read it so much! *wink*
KittyGliter More than 1 year ago
If it weren't for both authors' further writings and illustrious careers this would be a "one hit wonder" showing a "flash of brilliance." Alas, they went on to write copiously and sell obscenely (not vice versa!) so it is just a damn good start to a fine vocational pathway. Lucky us, the readers. There are pithy theological jests, and protracted post-modern diatribes that delight those who are comfortable challenging religious fundamentalism. Oh...and we finally get the answer to "how many angels can dance on the head of a pin." Brilliant and deceptively challenging while highly entertaining.
bookends74 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. I love books that take place in England, it's such a charming country. Plus the story put a funny spin on the Apocalpse. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy novels or a good comedy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I stumbled upon this left of center book while browsing in the clearance bin. Little did I know I was picking up what would easily become my favorite read. I've lost count of how many times I've read it and every time, I find myself laughing out loud. I bought an extra copy just for lending; I wasn't about to risk my original! If you like clever, British humor, you have to read this book!
Ca_dave57 More than 1 year ago
A truly entertaining book that is so funny. If you have never read Gaiman or Pratchett take the plunge you will be glad you did. I am a HUGE Discworld fan but this is one of my favorites, I too have had to buy several copies because no one wants to give them back.
IrisBlue More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite books. Humorous, thought-provoking, and intelligent.
HookdNMac More than 1 year ago
This is a very funny book that will literally have you laughing out loud. It has hard to describe it without giving too much away.. but I wish they would make it into a movie because it would be just so much fun to watch. Every needs a good laugh!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm a avid reader and have read plenty of books in my day but this one continues to be my favorite. Thos book not only makes you think but makes you laugh at nearly every page. The characters are just too likeable and this is book portrays a wonderful view of Armaggedon. If you don't believe me just look online and I guarentee you will find millions of people raving about this awesome book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book, high energy, fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U dont get it cuz u dont know half of the stuff written in the bloody book. And it is funny u just need to know what the whole thing means.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderfully funny, drole, clever and extremely well written. Fun to read aloud.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my all time favorite book. I wore out the paperback version!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books i have ever read. Its hilarous and incredibly well written. I can' t recomend this book enough
Thecelticdragon More than 1 year ago
One of the funniest takes on the apocalypse there is! Hysterical premise, funny and quirky characters, uplifting message, and just too funny to miss. A must for every bookcase! Gaiman and Pratchett at their best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the few books I read over and over again!
FocoProject More than 1 year ago
You will never hear me complain about Neil Gaiman¿s imagination or creativity. I would not know much about Terry Pratchett, author of Discworld, because I have never really been interested in reading his stuff, but I simply had to give this book a try, based entirely on the irony of its subject.

For all intents and purposes, this book is an apocalyptic one, albeit shot up with a good amount of humor, where a satanic nun accidentally hands the antichrist to the wrong family and the kid ends up growing up as¿just a normal kid. The four riders of apocalypse are actually four motorcyclists (Hell¿s Angels), and a not always competent angels and demon are handed the task of keeping good and evil in balance until the end of days. With witches, witch finders, celestial and hellish creatures cut loose, this book counts down to the day that will end it all in a big war for which both Heaven and Hell have long been preparing for.

There is no question that this was a very fun read, the humor in it more than laugh out loud at points, however, it lacked the depth that Neil Gaiman¿s other books have had. Perhaps it is the fact that so many characters enter the story, from the Metatron (the voice of God) to Newt, a young man who thinks he is enlisting for the army, only to find out he has enlisted for an army of witchfinders composed of no more than two people¿and that is including himself. The characters are very colorful, but at the same time not very deep. The potential for greater exploration is there, but instead this book is kept light, meant to be much more comical than serious about its subject and that is not necessarily a bad thing, simply something you need to be aware of.

All in all, it was a fun read and would recommend it to anybody just looking for a good laugh and something to pass time with. But not to anybody looking for a serious read about the end of days.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I got this book I was very excited at the prospect of reading a witty laugh-out-loud book that I had heard so much about. When I finished though, I was dissapointed. Although this book was marginally witty and funny the guffawing moments that I had expected were few and far between. Also, I did not understand many of the references in Omens- I had to look up the Dick Turpin reference on Wikipedia (FYI Dick Turpin was an English highwayman which was why Newt said 'wherever I go, I hold up traffic' HaHA). I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Pratchett, Gaiman, or light humorous novels.
Anonymous 23 days ago
This was such a fun read! I must say, I was surprised that Gaiman and Pratchett wrote so well together. This book is snarky, witty, and engaging throughout, and the characters read like old friends you'd almost forgotten. I've never heard the Apocalypse approached in such a whimsical way before, and I think this is one of those books everyone should read at least once in their lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
a classic