×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Goodnight, Nebraska
     

Goodnight, Nebraska

4.1 8
by Tom McNeal
 

See All Formats & Editions

At the age of 17, Randall Hunsacker shoots his mother's boyfriend, steals a car and comes close to killing himself. His second chance lies in a small Nebraska farm town, where the landmarks include McKibben's Mobil Station, Frmka's Superette, and a sign that says The Wages of Sin is Hell. This is Goodnight, a place so ingrown and provincial that Randall calls it

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Goodnight, Nebraska 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
WayneKerr More than 1 year ago
I liked this book. Good story, believable characters, steady pace. All in all, a very satisfying read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
captivating in its description and unexpeted in its turns, I was pulled along and lived with these people for all too brief a time Contrary to the more professional reviewers, the twists and happenings mimic authentic lives and also Nebraskans accept and move on outlook
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Novembers_Saturday More than 1 year ago
A disturbingly peaceful story. Isolated and lonely like the setting of the book in western Nebraska. This book would appeal to deeply introspective readers who are willing to look into their own isolated places in the heart. I would definitely read McNeal's other works. Yes, I would recommend this to bookclubs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Confession -- I grew up in Nebraska, left it as a young adult, still attend the College World Series (the best sporting event in the U.S.), and retain a favorable view of the overall goodness of its people. Accordingly, at times I found this book just not believable with all of the deeply-flawed characters that populate Goodnight. Then again, it made for interesting reading. Just be prepared for a disturbing event every 40 or 50 pages or so. Feel good stuff this ain't.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was probably one of the best books I have ever read. The way McNeal describes all the little details and emotions of the characters makes it possible for almost anyone to relate to at least one character. You will pick up this book and not be able to put it back down once you begin to read it. Even after you do set the book down you will be thinking about what happened for a long time after. This book is definetaly worth any persons time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tom McNeal's novel, 'Goodnight Nebraska' is simply one of the most enjoyable novels written in the last 20 years. McNeal's tone and style so perfectly match his story you can almost smell the midwest as you read it. The characters of this novel keep you pondering their choices long after they have made them and the relaxed feeling of the town makes you want to drive out and visit them. This is a great debut novel and hopefully not the last for Mr. McNeal.