×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gorgeous
     

Gorgeous

4.0 28
by Paul Rudnick
 

See All Formats & Editions


When Becky Randle's mother dies, Becky is whisked from her trailer park home to New York. There she meets Tom Kelly, the world's top designer, who presents Becky with an impossible offer: He'll design three dresses to transform the very average Becky into the most beautiful woman who ever lived.

Soon Becky is remade as Rebecca - pure five-alarm hotness to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gorgeous 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I first saw this book I wasn't exactly sure what it was going to be like. Books like this can go in so many wrong directions. The beginning was just a little boring for me but once Prince Gregory came along I fell in love!! This is easily one of my favorite books. The messages that it sends are, to me, fantastic! I really enjoyed Becky/Rebecca's interactions with the other characters in the book.   I definitely recommend this book for everyone. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm really critical on books and I was a bit reluctant to buy it seeing that it sounded a bit cliche but as soon as I began reading, I was swept into the story! I liked the Prince Gregory thing (he's like a mirror of the Duke William of England), and the family story behind it all. Now, I can say that I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone who likes thier good dose of romance and comedy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an interesting book with many unexpected plot twists. It ending gives an interesting take on the true meaning of beauty. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I have read in a long time! Love the twist. 281 pages. Well worth it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book!
Ashley-at-Nook-of-Books More than 1 year ago
3/5 I don't know how I feel about this book. There were parts I liked, and then more I didn't. I am not even sure how to explain my feelings in words, because I am so mixed. There were times when this reminded me of the movie, "Shallow Hal." I know this is a satire, but I just did not enjoy it or find it as hilarious as other reviewers. I almost put this book down several times. It borders on ridiculous a lot of the time. Our main character's mother is fat. Ok, so what right? Well over and over it is talked about how pretty she was before, and I felt like she was made out to be less of a person because she was obese. Then let's talk about Becky, herself. She leads a dull life ( and is evidently ugly) until she offered three dresses to make her beautiful. After she wears the first one, she becomes famous and loved. Often it is talked about how being beautiful is the only thing that matters. Also, I hated the best friend. Her stupid actions and to not being a friend at all to Becky. Then her language. I felt like she laid the F bomb every other word, and it was just beyond annoying. Then the book takes a better approached. To be loved for ones self instead of looks. That is the only redeeming quality in this book. I have read a lot of reviews that thought this was funny, and charming. I, honestly, spent the entire time finding it dumb and it is not one that leaves a lasting impression on me. I would not recommend this to others. I guess I just missed the joke and the point of this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story was very confusing during important parts of the story .so i could not understand the details and had to make inferences
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So I was caught on the description if this book and seemed interested. I bought the book excited but felt my hope leave me when I started the first chapters. In the beginning of the book, I hated the main character. I felt she was moody, ungrateful, rude, and constantly swearing to the point where I could barely stand her. But I loved the story line so much, I continued reading. I saw more of Becky and Rebecca, and though we didn't have exactly the same thoughts, I ended up connecting to her and Roche eventually. I loved Tom and the prince. All I must say is, my first impression wasn't gold but in the end the story was great and I would reccomend this to others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm the kind of person who loves reading practically anything and very much enjoys getting lost in a book. This one, while it had an interesting premise as described in the summary, proved to be very difficult to read. It was 300 pages of disjointed thoughts and ideas that seemed designed only to fill in the space between one plot point to another. The book was impossible to loose yourself in because of having to go back to reread and figure out what was said. What would normally take me a day or two to read took me a month and I solely read it in a desperation to at least give it a chance. I'm sorry, but no to this book. Good, interesting premise, but a horrible read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
296 pages - very different style
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't tell you enough how tickled and gratefull and how proud I am that you may have entered the amount of pages(281) (see)via my request about us all doing that for each other.If you doing that had nothing to do with me I want to thank you for being considerant and kind.I really hope that this catches on because it might be a decideing factor whether to purchase or not. ONE MORE ENORMOUS THANK YOU Granny B.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AllBookedUp More than 1 year ago
Rags to Riches Tale that Tackles Real Issues Who doesn't love a great retelling of a classic fairytale? A unique spin on an old-time classic tale. That is exactly what Paul Rudnick did with Gorgeous. On the surface this story might feel very Young Adult (rags to riches), but when you start to peel back the layers, Rudnick really creates a story for all ages with lessons in self discovery, social media, influence and the dissection of wealth, power and beauty in a way that is very accessible to those young and old. Imagine living an ordinary life, having an ordinary job with ordinary dreams and aspirations. Then you turn 18 and find yourself with a rude life awakening when you come home to find you only living parent dead. With nowhere to turn and just a mysterious phone number to follow, Becky Randle beings her journey in this coming of age Cinderella-like story. Becky meets influential designer, Tom Kelly who offers Becky the deal of a lifetime, one she could not possibly decline: he’ll design three dresses to transform Becky from a nothing special girl into the most beautiful woman who ever lived - Rebecca Randle. Rebecca soon finds herself on the cover of magazines and starring in movies and falling for the heir to the British Throne, Gregory, Prince of England! This newfound beauty of course comes with perks as well as disadvantages and of course there is a catch: Becky needs to fall in love and get married within a year to retain her beauty. But what happens when Becky finds herself in love but wonders if the love in return is for kind-hearted Becky or gorgeous Rebecca? From the comedic Rocher and the outrageous Tom Kelly to the eccentric Queen of England (and her pack of corgis) and everyone in between, Rudnick does an amazing job building an outstanding cast of characters who all play a role in shaping this unique story. The plot is delicately mapped out and the stories intertwined to create a perfect web that is set to entangle your interest. The pace is just about right, maybe a little slow out of the gate but certainly picking up speed and setting a racing pace for the end that will keep you guessing how this Cinderella story will unfold. This is a perfect read for that trip to the beach or for an upcoming book club to discuss some very real issues that we all face in today's world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
read the book in two days! It was very well put together and if you decide to read it, you will understand.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started this book believing that I would hate Rebecca Randle, but boy, was I proven wrong. Read it, gasp at the plot levels, excuse the language, but laugh at it's explicit colorfulness, and cherish this book to make you feel thag you do not have to be the Most Beautiful Woman Who Ever Lived to fulfill your dreams.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I realy wasn't feeling the story at first, but as I continued reading I felt a connection with Becky. A connectionI think most girls can relate with. Am I pretty? Do people even notice me? But on the way to answering those questions you find out who you really are, and when you kniw who you are life just falls into place. They should make a movie from this I'd love to see Tom Kelly's dresses! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! It was everything I love in a story; romantic, very funny and mysterious until the very end. The characters are amusing and loveable which made it an easy read. Paul Rudnick did a remarkable job weaving an important lesson about beauty into a creative and witty piece of fiction and I think anyone would enjoy reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I recommend it to any teen girls. The only thing I didn't like was that some parts were slow and boring, but otherwise an amazing novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly loved the book it was wonderful there was romance and love mystery and suspense. I felt sorry for becky at times and cheered for her at others. Paul Rudnick is a truly wonderful auther who brought this book to life for me. I feel that anyone who reads this book will love and adore it. It teaches you that beauty is not as important as people make it out to be. A kind heart and love is worth so much more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
it looks very well written. I love the story line.