×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith
     

Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith

3.5 29
by Anne Lamott
 

See All Formats & Editions

Look out for Anne's next book, Hallelujah Anyway, coming April 2017.

"Lamott has chronicled her wacky and (sometimes) wild adventures in faith in...the wonderful Grace (Eventually)." (Chicago Sun-Times)

In Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith, the author of the bestsellers Traveling Mercies and Plan

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Faith based with a christian undertone. Each chapter had a kernal of deep wisdom, a zinger that leads the reader on to discover deeper meaning in life, in relationships, in deeper connection with Spirit
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you're looking for a Bible-thumping, evangelical, fundamentalist experience, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a writer with wit and intelligence who takes Christian principles and applies them to the twenty-first century, look no further. Wake up, Copernicus! This might open your mind a bit.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a more reflective book than Lamott¿s others. The tone is deeper, darker at times, and more reverent. It is just as honest and almost as funny, but the maturation that is going on inside her is so palpable that it trumps all else.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book as I have loved everything Lamott has ever written. She helps me know that being Christian doesn't mean you can't be funny and honest about your faith--good days and bad days. I love the parts about her Mom, who sounds scarily like mine, I share her views on George W. and how horrifying his politics are and I particularly share her perspectives on motherhood. God bless Anne Lamott, if she rewrote the phone book I would read it and I'm sure it would be great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good reader for spiritual people
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Disappointing, I have read several of Anne's books and was looking forward to this one. This time her stories seemed to ramble on and found little Grace if any in several of her stories. I want the Anne of Traveling Mercies and Plan B back. Blunt, straight forward, funny, insightful. Somehow that Anne has been replaced.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LipstickPrincess More than 1 year ago
I just love this book & I'm thrilled I could get a bargain on it. Anne Lamott is one of my absolute favorite contemporary authors, and this is another gem from her. She is funny, irreverent, raunchy, biting and at the same time poignant, loving, generous and spiritually very, very wise. We are the same age and though my life trajectory has been far more conventional than hers, I can relate to so much of what she writes about God, doubts & crises, politics, addiction, fear, body image, motherhood and middle age. She really DOES send me from belly laughs to tears in just a few pages! I recommend her to all my friends....and some of them actually like her! You have to be open-minded and open-hearted to appreciate her; in other words, you have to be a little like she is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fishgirl More than 1 year ago
If you like Anne's style, it's a great read. She's so open and honest about her faith, it's refreshing. It's okay to be a Christian and not be perfect and admit it. Thanks Anne. Keep writing.
CarolinaMama More than 1 year ago
Anne Lamott won my heart in the first chapter. I could relate to everything she said as she was baring her soul. We are imperfect and can be that way and still have faith and grace and all the good stuff. A wonderful and refreshing read. I finished the book with much hope that we can all find grace in our lives if we just keep searching - sometimes quickly, sometimes slowly. We don't get grace because we earn it, we get it as a gift.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CordeliaWI More than 1 year ago
I liked GRACE, EVENTUALLY because it struck me as a very honest book. Not everyone will agree with Anne's choices (lifestyle, parenting style, attitude toward religious icons, etc.), but she is always provocative and entertaining. She tries, like many of us, to be non-judgmental, but even in her most tolerant days she often finds herself pronouncing judgments.

So be it....and that, in my view, is her ultimate conclusion.
She's trying her best to achieve Grace....and she will, eventually.

Cordelia

I also recommend: DREAMS FROM MY FATHER (Barack Obama)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love all books LaMott, so this will not be a surprise. Refreshing to find someone who shares so many of my own views. I think the folks who are panning this have not read any of her other books. My all time favorite is 'Operating Instructions'.