×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Grace in Thine Eyes
     

Grace in Thine Eyes

4.4 37
by Liz Curtis Higgs
 

See All Formats & Editions

Glen of Loch Trool. Spring 1808.

Davina McKie is a bonny lass of seventeen, as clever as they come and a gifted musician. Unable to speak since childhood, she is doted on by her belligerent younger brothers, Will and Sandy, who vow to protect their silent sister.

When the lads are forced to depart the glen, Jamie McKie intends to brighten his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Grace in Thine Eyes 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Seventeen-year-old Davina McKie has lived a sheltered life at Glentrool, under the protection her father - the laird, Jamie McKie - and her three brothers. Rendered mute by a childhood accident, she's found another voice in making music with her grandfather's fiddle. Jamie and Leana McKie, devout Christians, have raised their daughter to trust God and think the best of her fellow humans. So when Davina arrives on Scotland's Isle of Arran to spend the summer with cousins, she feels no trepidation about accepting the Duke of Hamilton's invitation to entertain his guests with her music every evening. No does she find it suspicious when Somerled MacDonald, a noble Highlander among the Duke's guests, singles her out for his attentions and quickly contrives to see her alone. Which Davina well knows isn't acceptable, for a virtuous young noblewoman in her time and place...but she's on her own for the first time in her life, and Somerled seems literally like the man of her dreams. Now, if you want to avoid minor spoilers that I have to mention in order to explain my reactions to this novel, stop reading. Or, read on - I won't give away anything that the back matter doesn't hint at, I promise. I nearly stopped reading this book when I realized that its themes would include a woman falling in love with her rapist. Although I've since learned from the author's notes that this historical novel's plot deliberately recreates the Biblical tale of Jacob's daughter Dinah, I still find that theme repugnant. But I did keep reading, because the characters insisted that I do so. Davina, Jamie, and Leana - 16-year-old twins Will and Sandy, whose boyhood misbehavior caused the accident that took Davina's voice - and even minor characters like older brother Ian come to life on the pages. The author manages to create Somerled MacDonald as a wealthy and highborn young man of his era, treating women as his culture has taught him to treat them, instead of as a stereotypical sociopath. She makes him understandable, although never (thank goodness, or I WOULD have stopped reading!) inappropriately sympathetic. Which causes the grace mentioned in the book's title to shine all the more brightly. Generally I avoid 'inspirational romances' because they tend to substitute earnest good intentions on the author's part for good writing. Liz Curtis Higgs, though, proves herself to be a rare and wonderful exception to that rule. I'll read her work again with pleasure.
juliabray More than 1 year ago
I cried and that is a good thing. Vary rarely do books prompt me to actually tears this one had me sobbing I used at least twenty tissues. I did not realize until I finished this book that it is the fourth in a series. I had no problem with the fact that this was book four although reading the other three would have given more insight into the main characters parents lives so I will now go back and read those. I also did not know until I finished the book that is was based on Ch. 34 of Genesis. The author does a wonderful job retelling the tale. I would not recommend this book to younger audience as it deals with some mature content. Would be an excellent book for a rainy day as I found it terribly hard to put down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Liz Curtis Higgs stands out as one of the most gifted writers that I have had the pleasure of reading. The Scottish historical series that opened with her acclaimed novel Thorn in My Heart ends just as brilliantly with Grace in Thine Eyes. Davina McKie is but a slip of a lass, whose childhood accident left her mute and her family divided by her father's resentment. When Davina is seventeen, her twin brothers are sent to Edinburgh to begin their schooling and she sets out to visit her cousins on the Island of Arran. There, the rumor of her uncanny talent on the fiddle spreads, and she invited to play before a Duke. Thrust unsuspecting into higher society, her innocence is quickly robbed but not her spirit. As she is forced to choose between resentment and forgiveness, her decisions propel an epic story of betrayal, love, and intrigue. Liz Curtis Higgs explores one of the most puzzling passages of scripture, fictionalizing the biblical story, and providing a woman's perspective¿so well that she brought tears to my eyes. Backdrops that with an amazing talent at holding readers captive, descriptions that are poetry, and it becomes a classic. I anxiously await her new Scottish historical releasing in 2008¿Highly Recommended
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved and yet, I hated this novel. I was left trying so hard to feel happy for rose, but my heart wen tout to Leana. Ever since I was young, the story of Jacob, Rachel, and Leah, has enthralled me. My heart always cried after Leah would have a child and say,'Surely NOW my husband will love me.' She had many children, but not the love of their father. Rachel had his love, but showed great disreguard for it. The way Liz has written these novels shines such a new light for some. It's easy for me to feel sorry for Leah, just as it is easy for some to feel sorry for Rachel, but in the end they we're all wronged, and all selfish. It is amazing how the sins of the parents, can taint the hearts of their young forever. My parting words are these, these books are tremendous. They will make you feel ashamed, that we do not show love,mercy, and forgiveness as well as some of these characters do. Let us all remember that God created us to love, not to hold grudges and be resentful. What a waste of our life to do so.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is hands down the best christian series I have ever read. The author recreated the biblical story of Jacob in such a captivating way that I did nothing but read until I finished the whole series. I laughed and cried with plight of the characters and a year later I still think about them. Very profound writing that will engage any reader to do some deep soul searching. Liz please write another series like this soon!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JEM36 More than 1 year ago
Whether a romantic, historian, or a fan of the many stories in the Bible, you will absolutely be enthralled by this story. This is the fourth book I have read by this author and rate them all as highly as this one. Ms Higgs and Francine Rivers are by far the two authors who set me to search my Bible for the wonderful people that God sent out before us to be our examples. Examples in how we should govern our lives and how we should not. Some excellent advice on parenting, as well. If your emotions are not set in gear, then you have none.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to spend an entire day reading. It is very hard to put down. I went out and bought the others the next day!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago