×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing
  • Alternative view 1 of Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing
  • Alternative view 2 of Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing
     

Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing

4.0 40
by Mignon Fogarty
 

See All Formats & Editions

Online sensation Grammar Girl makes grammar fun and easy in this New York Times bestseller

Are you stumped by split infinitives? Terrified of using "who" when a "whom" is called for? Do you avoid the words "affect" and "effect" altogether?

Grammar Girl is here to help!

Mignon Fogarty, a.k.a. Grammar Girl, is determined to wipe out bad

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Who needs another book on grammar? Well, to be candid, most of us. We all struggle with the usual problems like lie vs. lay, affect vs. effect, and where to insert commas. In terms of these basic grammar questions, Mignon delivers the goods. In the guise of Grammar Girl she provides simple, memorable lessons in ... well ... grammar. The book is more than just a grammar guide. Go back and read the full title. Go ahead. I¿ll wait. You see the part that says ¿For Better Writing¿? That¿s the real meat of this book. Mignon isn¿t some dusty academic who wants to put you in your place and make you feel inferior when you misuse a semi-colon. She¿s a talented writer who wants to help you improve your writing. Tucked in among the tips are dozens of ways to make your writing stronger and more engaging. She even covers writing for blogs and Twitter. Last century we had Strunk and White as guides. This century was have Mignon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I used this book to do research for a graduate class in education. It was extremely helpful and clear.Used with other resources, it helped me earn an A. I have also used it to assist elementary school students, and, again, it was extremely helpful. The older student enjoyed looking up the information for themselves. I would highly recommend this book.
YvonnePerry More than 1 year ago
I love GG's podcast and have listened to every one of them--some of them twice! I always learn something in each podcast, or else she confirms something I thought I knew and I get to say "I was right!" I expected her book to deliver no less, and I was not disappointed. While some of the information in the book is also on the podcast, I enjoy having the book next to my computer so if I have a question, I can quickly refer to the print version instead of having to locate the podcast on her Web site... or is that website? I'd better see if that is in the book. If not, I'll write to Mignon and ask her to explain. Ah, there it is; take a look at page 150. See how easy it is to use? This is one grammar book at which no one will roll their eyes. It's a fun way to learn something useful. Keep up the good work, Grammar Girl. A devoted fan, Yvonne
Felonious More than 1 year ago
This is the first time I have been intimidated writing a book review. One would think that if I read the book this review would be 100% grammatically correct, that just isn't going to happen (I suffer from grammar allergies). Whenever someone starts talking or I start reading about adjectives, adverbs, conjunctions, and modifiers all I hear is what sounds to me like Charlie Brown?'s teacher (wah wah wah). I found myself having to reread paragraphs to get some of the information sink in (phrasal verb). This book might actually be a cure for those, like me, who suffer from grammar allergies; if taken in enough doses. Reading the book not only helped me learn if what I was doing was right or wrong but also explained what made it right or wrong. The "Quick and Dirty Tips" are great and easy to remember. If your memory isn't the best, the tips are listed in the back of the book "Quick and Dirty Grammar at a Glance". Knowing this could have saved me from reading the first 200+ pages (I kid). I recommend reading the entire book. I will have to reread this book several times and keep it on hand for reference. I'm not a professional or "serious" writer, I just post some book reviews and random thoughts on my Blog. I'm not too worried about my grammar. I just want my posts to not be horrendous. I highly recommend this book to everyone and think it should be mandatory reading for students.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For the first time in my life I know how to properly use affect and effect. Why? Because I can clearly picture Poor Aardvark in my mind's eye. Grammar Girl has done an excellent job in helping me to remember the trickiest grammar rules and in an entertaining way. This book is anything but dry and uninteresting. Even the grammatically challenged will enjoy this easy but extremely educational read! Everyone should own a copy!
Beverly_D More than 1 year ago
I think for most people, reading a grammar book is right up there on their to-do list with having a colonoscopy - Do I HAVE to? Or maybe that's just my own association, since I kept my own book in the bathroom and read it in bits and pieces. (It does lend itself well to that.) Fogarty not only offers the grammar rules, but clear and "sticky" examples that should help anyone but the most boneheaded imprint these rules and guidelines into her brain. Her own writing style in this is light, witty, and thoroughly enjoyable. I can (and probably will) spend much more time in the bathroom, perusing this book. Maybe some of it will even imprint in MY bonehead.
TMVH More than 1 year ago
Highly Recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shane McAfee More than 1 year ago
In the the interest of honesty, I was already a fan of Fogarty's 'Grammar Girl' podcast long before I got this book. This is not only a good informative read, it makes a great reference book. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
badrobot98 More than 1 year ago
i been looking for a grammer book for creativie writing and this helped me write like a pro
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago