×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Grave Intent
     

Grave Intent

4.7 9
by Deborah LeBlanc
 

See All Formats & Editions

In all their years at the funeral home, Janet and Michael Savoy had never seen anything like the viewing for ninetten-year-old Thalia Stevenson. That's because they had never seen a Gypsy funeral before, complete with rituals, incantations and a very special gold coin placed beneath the dead girl's hands.....When that coin is stolen, a horror is unleashed. If the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was just tired of being dissapointed book after book after book, until I desided to try someone new. When I first started to read it I was amazed at how it pulled me in right away, I couldn't put it down. I would stay up hours past my bed time because I had to know what happened next! The only time I found my self slowing down was towards the end, because I just simply didn't want it to end. The difference I noticed with this book that made me like it so much was the fact that the story didn't become corny and lose your intreast at the end, it got better and I'm glad that there is a female writer who understands the meaning of horror. She is great.
bebwright More than 1 year ago
I was quite surprised. The book was a really good read and flowed nicely. Loved the family especially the little girl. Will read more of this author........ Scary!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. It was scary all the way till the end. Would make great movie. Look forward to reading other books by this author.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Ephraim Stevenson branded his infant daughter with the imprint of a gold coin that he made for her so that she will have payment when she dies and not be stuck in the netherworld. At the age of nineteen Thalia dies in a freak riding accident in a small town in Louisiana; her family arranges for her funeral to be held at Savoy¿s Ephraim takes the gold coin off the ring he is wearing and puts it in his daughter¿s coffin. Michael Savoy¿s father Wilson comes back home during the Stevenson funeral because some very bad people want to collect on his gambling debts. He sees the gold coin and steals it with every intention of using it to pay off his bookie but he loses it before that can happen. The ghost of Thalia¿s grandfather warns Michael that unless the coin is returned to Thalia within forty eight hours, death will come for his loved ones. Michael¿s wife and daughter are at their summer retreat under supernatural siege with his child¿s life slowly slipping away, Michael and Wilson are also under ghostly attack at the funeral home. Only returning the gold coin to Thalia will save his daughter from certain death. --- GRAVE INTENT is a chilling horror story worthy of a Bram Stoker nomination. Wilson¿s sets events in motion by stealing from a corpse, which doesn¿t phase this hedonist, who symbolizes selfish me-me negative behavior; in contrast Michael and his wife risk their lives to save their daughter and readers believe they would insure that Thalia has the money to take passage to the other side even if their offspring was not in danger.--- Harriet Klausner
ClassicBookReader More than 1 year ago
Mystery, suspense, a supernatural element and an interesting tale of the past and of the present. You were introduced to the Savoy family who runs a mortuary, funeral home and burial site and crematorium. Soon that family comes into contact with a group of individuals that follow a leader who contains the gift of supernatural means. Sense of good and evil, a sense of an evil gift through a Cult like dictator, controller known as a group of individuals worshiping something beyond what society considers the norm. Now Janet and Michael Savoy experience something that they have never seen before. That most of the population has never seen before in their latest client the Stevenson family. There 19-year-old daughter Thalia has died from a freak accident. The Stevenson's pick a local funeral home where the Savoy learn that the Stevenson's belief is if a person dies, that spot, that area is where their soul remains. Now the Stevenson family are gypsies. They contain all the ancient beliefs systems and act upon the very nature of their legends and most of all their truths hidden inside the strange world of good and evil. From ancient rituals and incantations, and a gold coin which is placed upon the dead body of Thalia. But all hell breaks loose when that Coin is stolen from the dead body. True horror unfolds unto the Savoys. The ancient legend states that if the coin cannot be found and placed back upon the body before the rising of a second sun, one of their family members will die a horrible death. The coin is the key to stop the revenge of the gypsies. Nothing is worse than a curse by a dead Gypsy seeking revenge. This is a nice little story induced book that grabs the reader in many sections and is relatable to read. The reader can interact with the characters in the book because each one of them are down to earth and believable, each one seems like an average person. The Savoy family, is the family we can all relate to, the struggle of work, the struggle of being busy, children, marriage, and stubborn family members. It's a simple read fast and quick. I like all the characters. You are introduced to each one in a vivid way. Each character comes together so that the reader can imagine they are real. The book does flow easily as the reader reads, but sometimes there is some slow parts that tend to get a little stretched out. There are parts that seem like just filler to the book, making it longer than it needs to be. This reality makes the book at times feel too long. With that negative, it is still an enjoyable book. I think the book is written in a vivid reality that the reader can relate to. It’s written in a way you become the book when you read the sentences. The situations become visual images in your mind as you scan page after page. I enjoyed the style that it's written in. I enjoyed the vivid nature. I enjoyed the story. I have always been a fan of ancient curses and legends and all that type of reality. This book is filled with a down-to-earth way of understanding and also differentiating from the good and the bad and most of all, consequences of one person or other people's actions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started out good and kept the pages turning fast and furious. Excellent read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read from beginning to end a must read story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago