×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Grave Peril (Dresden Files Series #3)
  • Alternative view 1 of Grave Peril (Dresden Files Series #3)
  • Alternative view 2 of Grave Peril (Dresden Files Series #3)
     

Grave Peril (Dresden Files Series #3)

4.5 623
by Jim Butcher
 

See All Formats & Editions

In all his years of supernatural sleuthing, Harry Dresden has never faced anything like this: the spirit world's gone postal. These ghosts are tormented, violent, and deadly. Someone-or something-is purposely stirring them up to wreak unearthly havoc. But why? If Harry doesn't figure it out soon, he could wind up a ghost himself.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Grave Peril (Dresden Files Series #3) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 623 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First off, I love the Dresden Files. I'm on the fifth one right now, but this one has so far been my favorite!! The action never seemed to stop and it was nearly impossible to put it down, and when you're a college student with upcoming tests it can make things difficult.The characters were great and the plot really kept you guessing. The great thing about the Dresden Files is that pretty much any of the books can stand alone and so if you were to only pick one to read, so far it should be this one! Highly recommend it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Dresden Files is officially one of my favorite series. If books one and two would not have hooked me (which they did), this one definitely would did the job. What I love about Harry is that he just thinks he's this average guy, er...wizard. But, truthfully, there is nothing average about him. Harry is the kind of guy you want on your side no matter what, whether going up against humans or ghosts or vampires or...anything. He is just a nice guy, and he always does the right thing. I love the world building Butcher created in this series. It is so utterly complex, with every mystical, magical creature having their own community, their own set of rules. This book deals mostly with ghosts and vampires. In the beginning Harry is chasing ghosts, only to find they've been tied to the vampires somehow. Of course, it all comes back to Bianca, who you will remember if you've read the first to in the books in the series. How this book ended...wow. I really did not see it coming. I cannot say too much without giving anything away, but we get to see more of the softer side of Harry that was hinted at in the last book. These books will never be labeled as romance, but the way Butcher was able to pen in the little bit of Harry and Susan is pretty special. I listened to the audio of Grave Peril. I think I've said it before, but here it is again: James Marsters makes an amazingly wonderful Harry. I really wish he would have read all the books in this series.
Anonymous 3 months ago
If you make it past this book in the series you will be hooked!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
Every once in a while the right combination of things come together perfectly. This audiobook fits that description. I enjoyed this book the first time I read it years ago but listening to James Marsters perform this story really takes it to a whole new level. The series seems to really be taking off at this point and the story was very well done. I completely enjoyed every moment that I spent listening to this book during my re-read. Harry Dresden's life is anything but boring. This book starts with a bang and really doesn't slow down until the end. I love how many different things can come together to make sense in Harry's world. In this book, there are ghosts, demons, and vampires all mixed together and it flows smoothly. The mystery was pretty complex in this one with a lot of things happening that will be brought up again as the series moves forward. I had a hard time setting this one aside. I am so in love with the characters. Harry is awesome in his own way. He is funny and able to think on his feet. He makes decisions based not only on what is best for him but what will be best for others. He risks himself to helps other people quite often. Michael played a large role in this book and I really enjoyed his character. It was really fun to go back and see some of my favorite characters early in the series. Karin, Bob, Susan and everyone else really all added important pieces to the story as well. James Marsters is the perfect voice of Harry Dresden. I absolutely love how this book was narrated. He didn't just read the story - he performed it. I could totally hear every one of Harry's emotions in the performance. I was really impressed that even the perfectly placed breath seem to add to the delivery. He performed all of the different characters flawlessly. I can't wait to listen to more books narrated by James Marsters. I would highly recommend this series to fans of urban fiction. This is a series that you will want to read in order since there are some story arc that carry over from previous books. I am looking forward to listening to book four in the series very soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ADropOfInkReviews More than 1 year ago
This is the third book of the Dresden Files. With each one, Jim Butcher continues to get better. That’s to be expected with every author. What I had to love the most about this book was Harry’s friend, Michael. Michael is a righteous man and is the Fist of God. He’s able to wield one of only three swords created from the nails taken from Christ’s body at the crucifixion. He has pure faith, something many can only dream about and strive for, but not Michael. He believes and that’s all that matters. As such, he’s given the power to help wipe out ghosts and other evil nasties in the name of the Lord. He keeps trying to convert Harry, which I found amusing. Harry, of course, is one of the main targets of this bad guy. Unfortunately, his girlfriend, Susan, is also caught in the crossfire. Along with having to battle ghosts, he has to face down his godmother, and some nasty vampires. It pays to be careful in an environment like this. All in all, this was probably my favorite of all the books in the Dresden Files series I’ve read. I’m sure my admiration of Jim Butcher would continue to grow if I had access to more of the books. It’s always wonderful fun to watch how an author grows in his or her writing career across a series like this. I can definitely see why he has such a large fan base.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thumb up
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great series of books by jim butcher.
Botched More than 1 year ago
Another fantastic novel in the Dresden files series. This time Jim Butcher introduces the serious and devout Michael, a strong knight to go along with the goofy intelligent Harry Dresden. While I didn't necessarily like the ending of the book, but I kind of expected it to end that way. Still a solid book in a great series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Harry is one of my favorite characters. He is a good soul taking on the evils of the world. When he is beaten and bruised he somehow finds the strength to pull through. Funny where he needs to be and sarcastic as hell, another great Harry Dresden adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Always a good read. Dresden is a great character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago