×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Grave Talent: A Novel
     

A Grave Talent: A Novel

4.0 24
by Laurie R. King
 

See All Formats & Editions

THE EDGAR AWARD-WINNING NOVEL
THE FIRST KATE MARTINELLI MYSTERY

In Laurie R. King's Grave Talent, the unthinkable has happened in a small community outside of San Francisco. A series of shocking murders has occurred, the victims far too innocent and defenseless. For lesbian Detective Kate Martinelli, just promoted to Homicide and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Grave Talent 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An excellent book I¿d heartily recommend to anyone interested in mysteries/thrillers with an art twist. It is a San Francisco police investigation, revolving around a famous female artist, Vaun Adams, who has been in jail (under another name) for the murder of a child. When three more little girls are murdered near her current home, a hippie enclave, she¿s the logical suspect. But the detectives almost immediately conclude that she was wrongly convicted the first time, and is the victim of a frame by someone who hates her. The art elements (the description of her work, of her studio, and of her) as well as the characterizations, settings, private lives, motivations and detection are handled extremely well. The identification of the criminal, and the police pursuit of Vain Adam¿s enemy, trying to catch him before he can kill again, is packed with suspense. As far as I know, King has not written again about the art world. I wish she would. I think I¿ve read every art-related mystery still in print, and a lot that aren¿t, and this is one of the best. She includes the perfect amount of information about art and the artist, enough so the reader has a sense of it, an understanding of the plot, but not enough to bore the reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I ran out of Mary Russell novels so I bought this. Ms King is an artist and I can't wait for more of either series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great mystery. Fun, fast paced, and it had me guessing up to the end who the killer was. When I finally found out who did it, I was really surprised.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just have to comment on the review that stated "I had enjoyed the book up until the point when you discover Kate is a lesbian. I was thoroughly disgusted, and immediately returned the book to the library, 'where I had borrowed the book." You've got to be kidding! Right up until the day she realized she was in love with her best friend (who is a woman), Kate slept around A LOT with men. That didn't disgust you? Didn't bother you a bit, eh? Jeez. So, on to my own review: This is the first LRK book that I read, and I plan to get all the rest! Loved it (except for one little thing at the end, and I hope the author "fixes" it in the next books)!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kate Martinelli is an excellently developed character, and exactly the type of person with whom I best get along. I really enjoyed the story line, although it is of the type where you know the ending before you get there if you have read many books that are similar (thus 4 stars instead of 5). There are books that are good to read and there are books that keep you on the edge of your seat, and then there are books like this that you just want to know that the characters are okay in the end, because they have become your friends!
ohiogirlAR More than 1 year ago
I thought I would try to get into the Kate Martinelli series, since I do like serials. I had a hard time staying focused on it and made myself forge on to the end. Some of it was downright ridiculous, particularly the excessive descriptions that were read just from looking into ones eyes. Did they have mental telepathy or something??? It got quite redundant and very farfetched. I got pretty bored most of the time and thought it lacked suspense. And other parts caused me confusion. All in all, I am passing up on continuing the #2 of the series.
edofarrell More than 1 year ago
The professionals have written the detailed reviews you need to have a clear idea of the thrust of the novel. It is a worthy -- as seen by the awards it won -- first novel. But it grows tiresome at some points and frankly I'm not all that titillated by gay police officers, maybe there was more of an impact when the book was first written, but now one can barely call up a tepid yawn. The close of the novel, from denoument to final period takes, I kid you not, 97 pages of tedium; nearly a fourth of the book. I suppose it was intended to create tension and develop the characters more fully. It sent me into a paroxym of page turning, hoping for something of interest. A good three star novel, little more. If you like the genre or the author it is probably worth the money for the paperback version.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is great mystery literature. It begins a little cliche, but by the end of the second chapter, I was hooked. The characters are unique and appealing...unless you are a psychiatrist. There are frank breaches of therapeutic boundaries, but, hey, it's fiction. The plot has twists and turns, a subtle hint or two will have you doubting your intuition. An odd thing I noticed is the writing style shifts in the last quarter of the book. I found it mildly annoying, but I'm glad I didn't stop! If I didn't already own such a huge pile of TBRs, I would be searching for the sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent mystery read. I enjoyed it enough to want to hide in my bedroom and hope no one inter room or found me until it was done. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'd gather that anyone indulging in the sin of reading dark crime novels wouldn't be concerned with the lead character's sexual orientation but apparently reading sinful art isn't as bad as reading sinful art about sinners. With that being said, the Martinelli series, from the first book, are wonderfully written and enthralling. As long as you can get 'past the fact' that the detective is a *gasp* lesbian you'll enjoy these books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to say I was disappointed by this book. I read King's Mary Russell series first, and am glad I did. I enjoyed the Mary Russell series, and I would probably not have read them if I had read the Kate Martinelli series first. I had enjoyed the book up until the point when you discover Kate is a lesbian. I was thoroughly disgusted, and immediately returned the book to the library, 'where I had borrowed the book'. I really did enjoy her other series and recommend them to all, but this series disappointed.