×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

GRE Prep Course
     

GRE Prep Course

3.4 17
by Jeff Kolby
 

See All Formats & Editions

Comprehensive, Rigorous Prep for the New GRE.

Every year, students pay $1,000 and more to test prep companies to prepare for the GRE. Now you can get the same preparation in a book. GRE Prep Course provides the equivalent of a 2-month, 50-hour course.

Although the GRE is a difficult test, it is a very learnable test. GRE Prep Course presents a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

GRE Prep Course 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I took the GRE for the first time in November 2004. I used books like Princeton Review and Peterson's material. I used these books to study mostly on my weak area, math. I decided to take the test again in December 2005. I only studied math and used the GRE Prep Course book. It was hard at first. The book was different than the rest -- it actually had hard math problems in small print, instead of large print baby problems like in the Princeton Review. I've never done well in math, but your book made sense. It made the other prep books seem like they were written to make you have to take the test twice. Anyway, when the date of the test came around, I felt prepared. I got up at 4 AM on the morning of the test to drive 2 hrs. to the testing site. On my way, my car started to have problems. I called my mechanic uncle and he said the car wouldn't make it. I was passing the airport, so I pulled into a rental car place, rented a car and got myself there with minutes to spare. Hours later, I got my scores: 240 points higher on my math! Your book works, Thank you, Leah
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would most highly recommend Nova's GRE Prep Course for both quant and verbal. I looked at Kaplan, Barron's, and a bunch of others, but they weren't anywhere near as thorough as Nova. For the quant, there are tons of questions for every problem subset, strategies and tips, and a diagnostic test to help you focus in on your problem areas. It also has great resources for the verbal, in terms of practice questions and vocab lists. I took the GRE after six years away from college coursework, and about fourteen years after taking any math course (last one was Calculus). I'm applying for Arabic lit, so the quant wasn't as important to me, but with the help of two weeks of intensive study with the Nova book I was able to pull up my score from a 680 on my first practice test to a 730 on the actual exam. The finer points of the verbal section helped me pull up from a 730 to an 800. Jeff Kolby has also written another book for Nova called the GRE Math Bible. Since this focuses just on math, it may have even more depth. Good luck, knock 'em dead
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Joby213 More than 1 year ago
The book really helped me prep for the test, especially sice i haven't touched math sice high school 17 years ago.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unless you only want the book, not the computer supplemental materials, don't waste your money. It won't work in either of the formats listed.