×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Great Stagnation: How America Ate All the Low-Hanging Fruit of Modern History, Got Sick, and Will (Eventually) Feel Better
     

Great Stagnation: How America Ate All the Low-Hanging Fruit of Modern History, Got Sick, and Will (Eventually) Feel Better

3.6 44
by Tyler Cowen
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0525952713

ISBN-13: 2900525952717

Pub. Date: 06/09/2011

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group

America has been through the biggest financial crisis since the great Depression, unemployment numbers are frightening, median wages have been flat since the 1970s, and it is common to expect that things will get worse before they get better. Certainly, the multidecade stagnation is not yet over. How will we get out of this mess? One political party tries to increase

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Great Stagnation: How America Ate All the Low-Hanging Fruit of Modern History, Got Sick, and Will (Eventually) Feel Better 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
James Jenkins More than 1 year ago
This book provides some fresh perspectives on why our economy is struggling as much as it is. I found myself agreeing with a lot of the points, although I still need some to mull iver the validity if them. It is short and under $4. If you have an interest in current events I suggest you check it out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An interesting alternative look at todays economy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this about as much as Cowen's other work, "Average is Over," which is to say: three stars.  It's a decent book with interesting ideas, and while I'm at least capable of being convinced of what Cowen is trying to prove, he doesn't make much of a case.  His theories seem to be the result of casual observation and baseless hypothesis, not rigorous analysis or erudite research.  He may be onto something, but this work is too easily dismissed with a casual wave of the hand.  A good read at 60 pages, but I'm glad it wasn't longer, given the quality.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Though I have only recently read this book I found much of it to be still thought provoking. Cowen introduces his ideas in common layman's terms yet they are provocative and engage the reader! I thoroughly enjoyed the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Scholarly economics-based summary of societal evolution that is contributing to resource polarization. Especially important points are lack of true innovation in favor of redundancy. Now with IPO of Twitter, wonder how many ways does 13 year old NEED to say 'wha's up'?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago