×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Green Beauty Guide: Your Essential Resource to Organic and Natural Skin Care, Hair Care, Makeup, and Fragrances
  • Alternative view 1 of The Green Beauty Guide: Your Essential Resource to Organic and Natural Skin Care, Hair Care, Makeup, and Fragrances
  • Alternative view 2 of The Green Beauty Guide: Your Essential Resource to Organic and Natural Skin Care, Hair Care, Makeup, and Fragrances
     

The Green Beauty Guide: Your Essential Resource to Organic and Natural Skin Care, Hair Care, Makeup, and Fragrances

4.1 21
by Julie Gabriel
 

See All Formats & Editions

Go green and get gorgeous

The promise of beauty is as close as the drugstore aisle—shampoo that gives your hair more body, lotions that smooth away wrinkles, makeup that makes your skin look flawless, and potions that take it all off again. But while conventional products say they'll make you more beautiful, they contain toxins and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Green Beauty Guide: Your Essential Resource to Organic and Natural Skin Care, Hair Care, Makeup, and Fragrances 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Green Beauty Guide (GBG) is a wonderful reference that will have a place on my shelf for quite some time. I personally found this book particularly useful because I have an allergy to the paraben preservatives that are commonly used in beauty products and cosmetics so I have a little experience with what the author is talking about. However, thanks to the GBG I am now aware of several other ingredients that I should also be watching out for when I read labels and I've been able to add several new items to my beauty routine with confidence. However, the Green Beauty Guide doesn't just put the spotlight on the things you shouldn't be putting on your face and body, but it gives you guidelines on how to actually find the products that don't contain the harmful ingredients which, believe me, is not as easy as it sounds. I cannot tell you how many hours I have spent searching through beauty aisles and cosmetic cases looking at itty-bitty ingredient lists - only to find parabens hiding away in products labeled as 'pure', 'natural', or 'allergy-free'. The GBG goes a long way towards debunking all of these common buzz word claims and gives the reader straight facts on the whole advertising/marketing game. Which brings me to the part of the Green Beauty Guide that I love the most - a list (with ratings) of several recommended products grouped by function and suggestions on where these products can be purchased. And for those do-it-yourselfers out there - a list of recipes for making your own green beauty products including information on how to obtain, mix, and store any ingredients you need for the products you want to create. I highly recommend this book to all women. Even if you don't have allergic reactions to your beauty products like I do, this guide will really help open your eyes to what you are actually putting on your skin everyday and might just inspire you to make some changes to the products you use. Over the just the past few years that I've been aware of this issue, the natural/organic/green cosmetics have really made some steps forward into the mainstream beauty aisles. It can only get better from here.
RARNY More than 1 year ago
This book was an interesting read. It is a VERY in depth look at the ingredients of your favorite beaty products. It does contain some recipes for a few things, but the ingredients are made up of things that are not in most kitchens , but that is understandable. I like the fact that the author recommends products you can use if you are not up to making your own. I also appreciate that theres atleast one company that yyou can find in your local drugstore. Kudos to the author for writing a book for the purpose of wanting to deliver this wakeup call we need and for not writing this for the purpose of gaining sales for her own products, like in some books i have read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's like the Skinny B!+c* and Skinny B!+c* in the Kitch books in one but about beauty. I'm loving it. I feel empowered and protected when I shop for beauty products now. I haven't yet tried the receipts, but once I get all the ingredients I will. I'm looking forward to it. I def recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book reveals the bad truth of what is in everyday beauty products. Thousands of toxic chemicals are put in fragrances, makeup, shampoos and conditioner that affect peoples health. A must read for anyone.
Organic_Goddess More than 1 year ago
I cannot say enough about this book!! It is absolutely phenomenol what beauty companies can get away with. It makes me angry now more than ever when I see an Oil of Olay commercial. 65yr old women are now looking 40 but at what cost? The sad thing is that most people don't even stop to think about what they are putting on thier skin that makes them absolutey 'wrinkle or sweat free' We are becoming robots instead of humans. Injecting botox into our armpits so that we don't sweat!! INSANE!! I am now starting my own skin care line as well as soy candles. I live in rural Saskatchewan and it is hard to find products that are actually natural. This book has given me the extra information that I needed to get passionate about informing people of the toxins they are putting in their body everyday. It is detailed and so easy to read. I call it my new skin care bible. The cover is ripped, I have 3 bookmards in it, information is highlighted. When I am reading it it feels like I am taking a skin care correspondence course and actually learning what I have always wanted to. This book has boosted my confidence and knowledge that I am now pursuing my dreams and starting a skin care line as well as opening up a store selling only good for you products. Not the fake 'organic' crap that you find in the drugstore. I love passing the skin care aisle knowing that it is all a waste of money. I stopped there yesterday though and saw way down on the bottom shelf an 'ORGANIC' moisturizer. Knowing not to trust the front label I flipped it over and read the ingredients. Propylene Glycol was second on the list, as well ast PEG-blah blah blah was fourth and after that I didn't even bother reading the other 25 ingredients!! One line that I have found on the internet after much searching is Julet's Room. She is based out of Vancouver and her stuff looks amazing. She has reviews on just about every products, ingredients listed and anything else that you need to know. I have ordered the whole line and can't wait to post my own reviews!! Take care everyone and stay green and true to the human that you are, don't be fooled by what the label says. Investigate it until you know for sure what's in there!! I will be the organic goddess that this earth originally intended for me!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
From the founder and owner of the organic skin-care line, Petite Marie, comes a revealing look at cosmetics and skin care that the most of the beauty industry would love to keep secret. For instance, all that a product needs to be labeled as ¿Organic¿ is a drop of organic essential oil. This is called greenwashing and most greenwashers spend more money on promoting themselves as environmentally friendly than they do on formulating toxin-free, environmentally sound products. With The Green Beauty Guide, Julie Gabriel starts with the basics of learning all about your skin and guides you through what you should look for in all your beauty products. She teaches you the how tell the difference between a good marketing campaign and truly organic products. You¿ll also find The Ten Commandments of Green Beauty, How to Go Green Without Going Broke and even recipes for your own organic beauty products such as cleansers, toners, facial masks, moisturizers and even acne zappers with simple easy to find ingredients. For me, a not so environmentally conscious consumer, the realization what most of us are doing to our skin and the environment was initially a bit intimidating and scary really but Gabriel¿s information makes it easy to make the green switch. I¿ve already been through my cabinets checking labels and packaging. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in making a difference.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book. I learned so much and i still go back to it information. Since reading this book i learned to read ingredients on everything i put on my face and hair. I have truly enjoyed the organic products i have found. I also love her blogs too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want a book about how to give makeovers not this stupid thing. This is just dumb!