×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Green Darkness
     

Green Darkness

4.4 48
by Anya Seton
 

See All Formats & Editions

Part One Of Two Parts

This story of troubled love takes place simultaneously during two periods of time: today and 400 years ago. We meet Richard and Celia Marsdon, an attractive young couple, whose family traces its lineage back to medieval England. Richard's growing depression creates a crisis in Celia, and she falls desperately ill. Lying unconscious and near

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Green Darkness 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
AnneM217 More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books ever. I have read it several times, and couldn't wait until it came out for the nook. I am very unhappy with the nook edition. There are so many typo/misspellings. I have over 100 nook books and never have encountered such sloppy editing. If this were the first ebook I ever bought from B&N, I would probably never buy another one. You need to clean up this edition.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good blend of present and Tudor times. Would be even better except for the numerous typos!!!!
samNY More than 1 year ago
This story haunted me when I first read it, and have been waiting impatiently for it to be digitalized for the Nook. I agree with one reviewer who said it is one of Seton's greatest works. It will stay with you. I can't wait to read it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My copy of this book has a forward of it being beautifully written. It definitely has it's spell-binding moments. Also has moments where the writing is tedious to read. All in all don't miss the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I too read Green Darkness as a teenager many years ago and loved it. I don't think the parts set in 1968 are 'dated' any more than the parts set in the distant past-the past is the past. Celia and Richard's love story may feel disconnected because we come into the story as their whirlwind romance is entering a crisis caused by 'partial remembrance' of their past lives together. Seton has created very real characters and one of the wickedest villainesses ever on paper. I personally have no belief in reincarnation but this book still made me wonder.
Antaresana More than 1 year ago
This is by far one of the most exceptional books involving reincarnation that I have ever read. I have read it 5 or 6 times over the years since its first publication and everytime the book reveals more and more exact details of the process of visiting the Akashic Records in order to revisit a previous time in order to understand why certain things have happened this time round.I cannot understand why this book has not been made into a film as it would be so timely and people would relate to it and really live it.
Beverly_D More than 1 year ago
I first read this book in my teens, and have periodically reread it since then. Although some of the story set in 1968 now feels dated, at the time it was published it was then contemporary. To me it makes for a much more interesting type of read. Celia doesn't have much to her, 1968 version, but I was okay with that. The whole idea of reincarnation is that people will learn, over the next few lifetimes, the lessons they failed in the past, or perhaps atone for viciousness or evil. This book is where I fell in love with Tudor England; the intrigue, the danger, the confusion of those like elderly Lady Ursula, apt to be arrested for saying the reflexive phrase "By Our Lady" she'd used all her life. I could smell the fresh rushes, share the excitement of a pretty new dress, feel the repulsion of Celia at Leonard Dacre's crude advances, and her longing for Stephen, both a pure and impure love. I truly felt like I was transported back in time along with Celia Marsdon. I both wanted to stay there AND get the hell out of Dodge before Dudley's people, or Mary's, locked me up or worse.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this last night at 3 AM. The story behind this book is so beautiful, I can't stop thinking about it! It's amazing how well she intertwined history with fiction. And the fact that it's based on real people..I want to go to England now and see all of these places. I still can't get my head out of the story long enough to concentrate on the real world. Highly recomended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it! Whoop!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book many years ago and was captivated by it then. I lost my copy and had looked for another now and then but did not remember the author's name. I stumbled across this while looking for somthing else and I've enjoyed being captivated by this story oce again. I enjoyed every page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gothic romantic fiction at it's finest! Anya Seton draws you in and keeps you captive. You could not leave if you wanted to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book many years ago and enjoyed the story. Unfortunately this eBook is very poorly edited. There are many errors in it and I would not recommend it for that reason.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
S_Lamont_York More than 1 year ago
Don't waste your time buying the nook book version. It is riddled with irritating spelling and syntax errors. Not only that, but it ends abruptly on page 547, in the middle of a sentence! I didn't even get the whole book! I have no idea how it ends... Very frustrating...
GracieMae More than 1 year ago
I read this book nearly 30 years ago. I have read it several times since. It is still the best historical novel I have read! You will love how the story weaves in and out with realistic characters, romance and the deep rich history! You will not be able to put it down. Read and enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
avidreader93 More than 1 year ago
Green Darkness is certainly not the first piece of Tudor-era historical fiction I've read. However, it is without a doubt the best I've come across. This book was breathtaking in so many ways: the romanticism, the rich history, the convincing, realistic characters... Seton has truly tapped in the vein of human emotion through her writing. This is the third book I've read of Anya Seton's, the other two being Katherine and Avalon. Katherine remains my favorite; but Green Darkness, in its own way, is equally as good. You simply MUST read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spoiler alert! Avalon happens to be my favorite Anya Seton work, but Green Darkness comes in second! Both books are better than her famed Katherine (a mon avis anyways). Seton's ability and belief that love can pass the test of time (centuries in this case) is visible through Celia and priest Stephen's final reunion in the bodies of Richard and Celia Marsdon centuries after they first encountered eachother.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
nyrican4t More than 1 year ago
A seductive read that feeds the mind, heart and soul! I first read this book as a teenager and replaced my original copy again, so that my daughter could read it is well! Anya Seton has a writing style that turns from just typeface to a movie running in your head. She draws you in and the next thing you know you are part of the story. You care for the characters and become entwined. She brings it all, love, hate, honor, deceit, religion, spirituality, and all the while you're thinking of what comes next. She drew me in and I have become an avid follower of her works. Yet Green Darkness has become the standard by which I judge other works! A must for all!