×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gunn's Golden Rules: Life's Little Lessons for Making It Work
     

Gunn's Golden Rules: Life's Little Lessons for Making It Work

4.2 150
by Tim Gunn
 

See All Formats & Editions

On the runway of life, Tim Gunn is the perfect life coach.

You’ve watched him mentor talented designers on the hit television show Project Runway. Now the inimitable Tim Gunn shares his personal secrets for “making it work”—in your career, relationships, and life. Filled with delightfully dishy stories of fashion’s greatest

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gunn's Golden Rules 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 149 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tim Gunn outlines basic and fundamental rules for 'making it work'. Life is so much easier if you are just nice and honest. Seems simple but we all know there are a lot of folks who need a refresher course. In addition to his advice Tim Gunn shares a lot of fascinating details of the fashion industry and Project Runway. And a surprising amount about himself - which will make you tear up and laugh all at the same time.
Gillian29 More than 1 year ago
This is a well written, candid book, with a very personal approach. One often feels that you are there speaking face to face in an intimate setting with Tim Gunn. Some painful areas of his life are revealed and he is to be admired for his honesty. Of course, because of the world he works in there are some other cheeky and funny revelations too. I think even more highly of Tim Gunn after reading this and wish I was lucky enough to have him as a personal friend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really really loved this book! It really helped me learn more about who Tim Gunn is and how he got to where he is today, with many helpful lessons for life, which I totally agree with. If you enjoy him from Project Runway, then I HIGHLY recommend it! If you don't know anything about it, then you might not enjoy it so much, but I recommend watching a few of the more recent seasons of PR :) THEN read it!
BikerDiva More than 1 year ago
Hey, what can I say...I'm a lady Harley rider. A little rough around the edges. I downloaded this book onto my NOOK and it has literally changed me. I can be a lady rider with class right? Thanks Tim for giving me a new outlook on the world around me, how to be more considerate and caring to those in my life and to those I don't even know. Now I'm going to be a sweet "BikerDiva"! My new outlook in everything I do now is "make it work". Thanks for a great book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If more people lived by these golden rules the world would be a ncer place to live in. Easy read and entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book made me respect Tim Gunn even more than I did before. He has so much class, and is so thankful for what he has.
Peppergirl More than 1 year ago
He's slightly snarky, full of humor, but gentle and genteel at the same time. Some parts were touching and some parts made me laugh till I cried. Definite page turner. You won't be disappointed.
LadyMia More than 1 year ago
Nice read. It was my in-between book that was easy to pick up at any point and carry on.
mln63 More than 1 year ago
I bought this book as a tell all reading on my cruise book. As the book goes on it is so much more. Yes there is some good gossip, but his chapters about being gay and dealing with his father was amazing! I have so much more respect for this man. Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really wish I could have my money back on this Nook purchase. Tim Gunn obviously has issues...huge issues, which I guess he's trying to work thru. So content: He talks about 'take the high road' and then proceeds to bash people right and left...and sometimes he strikes down...like at a clerk or an assistant. That's not the high road. For the catty part: Isaac M has an ego. Well do tell...and that surprises whom? The editor of Vogue is a bit of a diva...again, this is a surprise? Martha Stewart is an odd, rich duck....who sometimes disappears when it's time to do donations. Again, telling us this is the high road? Bashing your mother/family because of their odd quirks...highroad? Implying your father was a closeted gay man who may or may not have had some sort of relationship with J Edgar Hoover...highroad? Then there's also the nasty little asides about the designers from Project Runway...as well as the scathing remarks about Parsons. So bottom line: do not buy this book. It's poorly written and does not illuminate the audience...at least not in a good way. If you like Tim Gunn you like Project Runway...reading this book will not make you like him more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WyndDancer More than 1 year ago
I love Tim Gunn and this book is no exception. He uses examples from his own life to illustrate his points, and he is not afraid to admit that he has, upon occasion, behaved badly. No great revelations here, it's really all basic courtesy, but fun to read.
RFB99 More than 1 year ago
As others have said, Tim just has so much class! His whole outlook about being nice to people but yet standing up for what you feel is right is my entire philosophy. I, too, wish I could have Tim as my friend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great and fun book to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago