×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

H. M. S. Unseen (Admiral Arnold Morgan Series #3)
     

H. M. S. Unseen (Admiral Arnold Morgan Series #3)

4.1 15
by Patrick Robinson, David Mccallum (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

The H.M.S. Unseen is one of the most efficient, lethal submarines ever built. But suddenly, on a training mission off the English coast, it vanishes, baffling military intelligence on both sides of the Atlantic, including National Security Adviser Admiral Arnold Morgan. A missing weapon is dangerous enough. But then the unthinkable begins to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

H. M. S. Unseen (Admiral Arnold Morgan Series #3) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly Recommended
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LewPohl More than 1 year ago
I first discovered Patrick Robinson when I bought a paperback Nemitz Class at a yard sale. What a fantastic surprise . . . techno-thriller like I hadn't seen since the earliery Tom Clancy novels. . . you know, like before Clancy branched out into ghost-writer francises? I love spy versus antispy plots. In HMS Unseen, Ben Adnam [sp?] is a Jason Bourne-type professional killer/manipulator, lethal with a paper weight and a nose-bone smash into a sentry's brain. Ben, a former Israeli navy commander [though born in Iran] turned Islamic terrorist commander has Iraq, Iran, and the western powers closing in on him. He's cornered, no place to hide in the world. I had no idea how Robinson was going to finish this story, but Robinson did it -- leave it, and Ben, to Arnold -- plausible and satisfying. The plots are gripping, the characters,at times are militarily stodgie and sometimes James Bond "shaken, not stirred" lavish for a career navy dude. Robinson's overall sequences -- not the minutia about whether or not AK-47s might or might not have silencers,-- are what makes reading a Robinson novel a compelling adventure. I've read nearly all of Robinson's novels, starting with Nemitz Class through Hunter Killer. DiMercurio and Buff, excellent sub warfare authors, apply submarine service terms like "HDR masts", "BQQ-5", "DSUV 61" or "slot buoys". My point is. . . these specialists in sub warfare bog down into too much, it slows the reading. I really have had a tough time sticking to reading about pipes, bulkhead hatches and bowplane indicator "bubbles". Okay, but not the overall excitement of a Clancy-type novel that tickles the imagination of readers who enjoy international intrigue chess matches. Robinson's Admiral Arnold might be rude and irrascible, but the story line plots pitting Arnold against Chinese, Russians, North Koreans, radical Islamists are fun, suspenseful to the end and wonderful companionship. I really hate when each novel ends. Military leaders recommend Robinson's books for military personnel of all services. The story lines at times have been prophetic, they read like today's headlines. Robinson stages his plots as if he's got a radical Islamic advisor/informer whispering in his ear.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The sheer unbelievability of Ben Adnam is not the main downfall of this book. That is reserved for the absolute lack of research carried out about the Armed Forces involved. To name but a few problems; 1.The correct military signals term for a genuine situation is 'NODUFF,' not the one used in the book. 2.The two soldiers murdered on St Kilda could not belong to the RASC. The RASC ceased to exist under that name in 1965 when it became the RCT. 3.The regimental number of the corporal would have him joining the Army some time in the mid sixties, so even had he joined as a junior he would be at least 54 years old having served some 39 years. 4.The British Army have used diesel Land-Rovers since the late eighties. 5.The St Kilda installation would be checked over by a REME Control Equipment Technician (Ecky Tech) who would be a sergeant at most, officers do not carry out these inspections - they are not trained for it. 6.The maximum speed of a UH-60 Black Hawk helicopter is 184MPH not the 250MPH claimed in the story. In fact the absolute helicopter speed record is less than 250MPH. Mr Robinson has fallen into the trap of relying on a (very eminent)seaman for background detail on the British Army. Not checking out about the helicopter was just negligent (not what Ben Adnam would consider professional at all)- that piece of data took me just 25 seconds to root out via the net.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An action pact thriller you will want to read time and time again. You will follow an Iraqi terrorist through an adventure of international deceit and destruction. A book of strategic warfare and deception that will keep you on the edge of your seat page after page from cover to cover.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A fantastic conclusion to an all too real possibility. A classic tale of good versus evil. H.M.S. Unseen brings to head, a story of one man's mission to destroy the U.S. and the country who tried to have him eliminated. An excellent read that you will not be able to put down once you have begun the fanatasic ride.
Guest More than 1 year ago
H.M.S. Unseen is my first Patrick Robinson novel. Reviews I have read compare him to Tom Clancy. By no stretch! Although Mr. Robinson's writing ability is apparent, his story line does not approach the authenticity of a classic Clancy tale. As a matter of fact, a third through the book I became overcome with exasperation; the anti-hero too perfect, all others (in the free world) simple minded incompetents! Clancy's fiction is awesomely believable, even to the technically knowledgeable. Moreover, why a novel has to contain obviously excessive detail and filler subplots just to be over 500 pages is something I fail to understand. Criticism of too unreasonable a change later in the story in the anti-hero's otherwise super human flawlessness, is also something I find legitimate. Nonetheless, I felt compelled to finish the book, such is the quality of the writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago