×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hail Caesar
  • Alternative view 1 of Hail Caesar
  • Alternative view 2 of Hail Caesar
     

Hail Caesar

3.7 31
by Thu-Huong Ha
 

See All Formats & Editions


Winner of the PUSH Novel Contest, a searing portrait of a 17-year-old boy . . . written by a 16-yr-old girl.

Caesar thinks he can't be touched by anything or anyone. Boys idolize him. Girls lust after him. And he has power over them, because he doesn't care about any of them . . . until the new girl comes along, and turns Caesar's world upside down.
A funny,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hail Caesar 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I though this book had a fresh new take for teen readers. I really enjoyed reading it. I love reading books that are realistic and the story line can actually happen, and this book really juss went there and showed how a guy that age or anyone that age really does act. To the author; keep doing what your doing and dont stop there I hope to read more novels from you...
Guest More than 1 year ago
"Hail Caesaer" is absolutely amazing. It is easily one of my favorite books. Readers can't help but like Caesar. This book is really awesome. Read it, and you won't be disappointed.
CaViarLaVar More than 1 year ago
I begin was just like WOW! My imagination ran crazy... This boy was really cool so could be a friend of mine. I wish the story didn't end but it did...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jjaacckk More than 1 year ago
Hail Caesar I think has been my favorite that I have read so far in my life time. It is in present day and what a "gorgeous" teen has for him. He gets every girl under the sun and every guy envies him. No matter what he does, he has every girl head over heels for him. Eva, the new student, changed Johns world. She showed him that he cant get every girl by sex and sweet talk. Hail Caesar is a great, teen friendly book. Try it sometime!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hail caesar is a book that i took achance with. as i read it i felt it revolving around this gazebo and a pond or something. guys like caesar are jerks and the author does try to see the point of a person like caesar . i feel that there isnt a lesson ,it confused me . i personally didnt like the book.
Cynn More than 1 year ago
This was the worst book that I have ever read! It was a waste of my seven dollars, and I am so mad that I even wasted my time reading such a horrible story... I didn't even know what was going on half the time because it was so boring; everything and everyone just seemed so pointless! I had to force my eyes to stay open. Take my advice, don't read this book. It'll save you the time, money, and regret.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hail Caesar, I thought, was a very good book. I followed it, compelled, the entire way through. Since it was left with a lot of loose end and unfinished business at the end, I really hope that Thu-Hoang Ha comes out with a sequel. It would defiantly be first on my reading list. Great bool.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Read the full uncensored review at www.teensreadtoo.com
Guest More than 1 year ago
Many people who pick up this book to read think its going to be such a great book based on the discription on the back cover or even because the guy on the cover is kind of cute,but they are sooo wrong!!!'Hail Caesar' was good only for maybe the first one hundred pages,and then it went downhill.Most of the arguments/conflicts John or 'Caesar' had was never really resolved,and all it ended up was a bunch of yelling,cursing,and him being upset at the end.And sometimes it was hard for me to follow what was going on cause sometimes I didn't even know what they were arguing about!!Even the ending didn't really resolve anything,and I highly doubt Thu-Huong Ha is coming out with a sequel to this book.I'm glad I checked this out from the library and didn't actually buy it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ha definitely embodied the voice of the average teenager. Yes, there is cussing and sex and drinking and everything else that goes on in real teens' lives. But the impact of the story is there nevertheless- Caesar's self-centered world is disrupted by the new girl in town.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book was not very good. there was tons of cussing and john or 'caesar' was a total ass. no guys i know act like that. there wasnt that much depth and the characters were all pretty shallow. it was like a bad high school cliche. if you really want to read it, check it out from the library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was so exited to read this book the back made it sound so great but i was so disappointed when i got to i think the second page and every page from then on had a cuss word and alot of inapropriate things. If you are thinking about reading this book i wouldn't. :'
Guest More than 1 year ago
HAIL CAESAR is the story of the big-shot. That one guy everyone knows or knows of and can't help respecting, loving, wanting to be or to be with. PUSH Writing Intern alumna Thu-Huong Ha began writing HAIL CAESAR when she was fifteen years old, winning her internship and finishing her book at seventeen. She is part of a new generation of young writers whose talent exceeds their age by years and years and showcases writing ability and wisdom seldom common in contemporary teenage voices today. John, known to everyone else as Caesar, is the most popular guy around. He can't be touched, he gets what he wants and does what he wants. Life is good for him. He has nothing to worry about. Caesar believes he has everything but realizes everything in his eyes doesn't mean what it once used to. Not since Eva appeared, at least. Eva, the new student who doesn't see Caesar as social royalty. No, to her he's just a normal everyday asshole. Eva is witty, spontaneous, immovable, and outright antagonistic. Through experiences with Eva, Caesar learns to ask himself questions and be more open with himself about his own feelings, leaving one to believe: does Caesar really have feelings after all? Eva changes Caesar. She changes everything. But the question she has him asking himself is: is all of this change really beneficial, or just a detriment in the end? Thu-Huong Ha models a narrative of a guy who is on top of world but doesn't feel it anymore. The voice she creates is funny, methodical, deep, and classically misunderstood. With her debut novel, HAIL CAESAR, Thu-Huong Ha enters the world of a young-adult audience with explosions and purpose and great effect. **Reviewed by: Long Nguyen
Guest More than 1 year ago
OMG I thought this book was gonna be good, I was SOOOOOOOOOO wrong, this book has like no point to it. I keeps going back and worth, with the same thing over and over again, it didnt make any sense at all... This book was a waste of my money, and guys don't even act like that!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was just...wow. It was very different.It strayed away from the typical teen fiction novel in a way that kept the reader wanting more. Ha doesn't give any reason to Caesar's behavior, and no initial introduction to his personality. She leaves it for you to figure out on your own, which gives you the chance to grow with Caesar. The ending leaves you wanting more, but I think thats the idea... like life, you don't always get what you want. It was refreshing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked this book in a way. It was kind of confusing and the ending offered no resolution at all. In parts the dialogue made no sense and I had to read it a couple of times to fully grasp what the characters were saying and who was talking. The characters were shallow except for Eva. And the author never explained the reason for the main characters bitterness and emptiness. The author just made the main character not care and offered no explanation besides for his mother's death but she never explained his feelings for that tragedy except for a couple of lines. Contrary to my cons I did like this book because it was a fast read and offered something fresh and differet. Overall it was just OKAY!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ok so i don't read much, but only because i never find books that i really like and i always seem to lose intrest. Well i loved this Book i have 2 or 3 favorite books and Hail Caesar is for sure one of them. I couldent put it down and turned it on to a few of my friends. I love the way she just put you in Johns head. Although the dialog did get a bit confusing just take the time to go back and re-read and it will be fine. I thought this book would be Nothing intersting same old same old but it was very diffrent and new... One other thing... Bad ending, it was ok... But the book is worth it lol
Guest More than 1 year ago
At first glance, this book's concept would seem typical and overdone- popular boy doesn't quite grasp the meaning of life, then along comes a girl who changes everything, blah blah blah...you get the idea. Fortunately, Thu-Huong Ha manages to mold a totally generic concept into something new, something fresh. With a voice that's truly her own, this is a good read...quite thought- provoking. The only downside is the book is mostly composed of dialogue and sometimes it gets confusing- and sometimes it just gets repetitious. This book reminds me of the film 'Garden State'.