×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Halo: Cryptum: The Forerunner Saga #1
     

Halo: Cryptum: The Forerunner Saga #1

4.4 268
by Greg Bear
 

See All Formats & Editions

100,000 years ago, the galaxy was populated by a great variety of beings.
But one species--eons beyond all others in both technology and knowledge--achieved dominance.
They ruled in peace but met opposition with quick and brutal effectiveness.
They were the Forerunners--the keepers of the Mantle, the next stage of life in the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Halo 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 263 reviews.
IamNoble More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Cryptum, a great start to a prequel trilogy. It was a technical read at times, and didn't hold my hand as much as other book/game tie-ins. The pacing was good, and I enjoyed the progression of the characters and the way that my perceptions of them changed by the end. The book also had an epic scope that really felt appropriate for a novel on the Forerunners. As for the Forerunners, it was great to final get a gimpse of them in their element. If I could raise any cons, I would point to the book's length, which I felt could have been longer. A few more chapters/pages could have offered room for explanations and some exploration of certain topics/characters, especially for those unfamiliar with the Halo-verse. A brief disclosure - I am a HUGE Halo fan, with regards to both the games and the novels/lore. That aside, I always try to be objective when recommending a book. It would be dishonest to say, however, that my enjoyment of this book was not closely related to how much I love this IP and how many questions it answered for me. I recommend this book, especially to Halo fans, but also to those looking for a fresh sci-fi adventure that will hopefully lead to many more.
deesy58 More than 1 year ago
This is the first book of the "Forerunner Saga" from the "Halo" series that appears to have been written by multiple authors. The conceptual basis for the story is a somewhat unique variation on a previously-used theme. The book leaves the reader with a lot of unanswered questions, which is frustrating. If this is just a partial story, however (first of a series), then the lack of answers might be understandable. The book seems to have been written for Young Adults (YA). There are loose ends that remain untied, and a rather abrupt ending that suggests that the next book in the series must be read in order to complete the story. (Book #2 has apparently been released.) Some editing errors were noted, but they were not so egregious as to seriously detract from the readability of the book. I will begin reading the second volume immediately.
CalBookReader More than 1 year ago
I have read all of the Halo books. Overall I think this book was pretty good. I read the Halo books for entertainment and for something to do with my son, so that is the perspective my review is coming from. I do crave to learn more about the Halo universe, so anything that fills in the missing pieces is great. It was a challenging read (writing style) and I definitely would have liked to learn more about the Forerunner world after working my way through it. I think I learned more about humans than Forerunners. I am an educated person but I found myself utilizing the "lookup" feature on my Nook regularly. For that reason only I think this will be a difficult read for my younger son. I also think the first person writing style hindered the author's ability to provide us with many details about the Forerunner universe that an omniscient narrator would have been provide. All that said - buy the book. Good entertainment for less than the price of a movie. If you like Halo, like I do, it is more food for your hunger.
Brian Fletter More than 1 year ago
Although i needed the nook dictionary to read it, it was a VERY enlightening story for the Halo universe. A must-buy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book did a great job of explaing some of the great misteries of the ancient forerunners. Can't wait to read the next onin this series, primordium.
angela correa More than 1 year ago
This is a great book has little to do with master cheif but more to do with the plot of halo its self
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was awsome and it was very descriptive
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very informative about the Halo Universe, and I can't wait for the third book to be released. The book, only at certain times, can be a tiny bit technical. I also found that it was difficult to understand at certain points. Othan than thait it is a must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought the book around christmas 2011 and started to read and i LOVE it and halo rocks!!!! O.o
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is such a great series!!!!This cannot be missed!
sephiroth72381 More than 1 year ago
This first book in the trilogy is great as it gives amazing new insight to the HALO universe and the mysterious Forerunners and begins to answer why behind the HALOs creation and more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked this up simply because it had the words Halo, and then Forerunner saga on the cover. Greg Bear is an amazing author of sci-fi and he does the Halo universe Justice with this story. This is great for fans of the Halo universe because it begins to answer some of the questions posed by the games and the many other novels. but it also opens some new questions about the fate of humanity in the Halo present.
hobbit1968 More than 1 year ago
a well developed story and characters. wont put it down once you start.
Nicky Ancona More than 1 year ago
It seems to me that this halo book is my favorite.It goes into a large amount of detail with story and character design.Eric Nylund was my favorite halo author before however this book brings you to the origins and at the same time stays true to the stories of halo the game and the stories told by other great authors.I dare anyone to say this is not at the best of sci-fi writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Adds a wonderful spin to the back story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was actually better than I thought it would be.It was pretty well written too.If you want to know more about the history of the forerunners and the flood this is a great source.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although i am a part of the master race, i still love halo books, but cod fans spilling peasentry into this reveiw section, stop, and pc is the master race. Praisr GabeN.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anyone who thinks Call of Duty is better than Halo doesn't know anything about shooters. Halo, Battlefield, Titanfall, Destiny, and Planetside 2 are all better than Call of Duty. But the Elder Scrolls is my favorite game series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Halo doesn't suck, you do!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this Halo book as much as the other three I have read. Presenting the viewpoint of a being of fictional existence in a developing fictional situation is still refreshing to me. Having the novels from different authors revolving around the same fictional history keeps an entirely foreign circumstance grounded.