×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Halo: The Cole Protocol
  • Alternative view 1 of Halo: The Cole Protocol
  • Alternative view 2 of Halo: The Cole Protocol
     

Halo: The Cole Protocol

4.2 172
by Tobias S. Buckell
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the first, desperate days of the Human-Covenant War, the UNSC has enacted the Cole Protocol to safeguard Earth and its Inner Colonies from discovery by a merciless alien foe. Many are called upon to rid the universe of lingering navigation data that would reveal the location of Earth. Among them is Navy Lieutenant Jacob Keyes. Thrust back into action after being

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Halo 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 172 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Halo: The Cole Protocol" centers around an Insurrectionist 'home world' known as the Rubble (which is a collection of asteroids connected by tunnels). After learning that the Rubble has navigation data to Earth, the UNSC (United Nations Space Command) goes there to enact the Cole Protocol and destroy it, while the Covenant search for a heresy of Kig-Yar that are working with the humans that had settled there. It soon becomes an all out war for the Nav-Data, leaving Ignacio Delgado, who was in charge of guarding the Data, in the middle of the fight. He 'befriends' the Spartan Gray Team, who help him out from some untrustworthy Insurrectionists. It was a great read for those who are a fan of the Halo series, and those who want a well put together book. The Halo series has been used to convey a sense of unity towards a common enemy. The Cole Protocol shows that the phrase "The enemy of my enemy is my friend" doesn't always apply. I like this book because it tells why the people of the Rubble don't despise the Insurrectionists or the UNSC, and it told of the life of Thel 'Vadamee before he became the Arbiter in Halo 2. Although the book doesn't state when it takes place, the readers have to infer when it in the Halo Universe. To fully understand what is being told in the story, I recommend reading both Contact Harvest and The Fall of Reach before reading this book. And if you like this book then all the other Halo books are a good choice and the games only provide one small part of the story. Overall I give it 5 stars out of 5.
babyflower11 More than 1 year ago
the book was amazing. it was action back to action. awesome for halo fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was an ok book, plot wasn't too good at first but got better. Not much action overall. Mjolinr armor suit lack shields.
Josh-Herndon More than 1 year ago
the story takes place after halo the fall of reach the loss of reach started the cole protocol where if a ship is about to be captured the nav data has to be destroyed and incase of retreat the jumps have to be at random. And three spartans were deployed at a rebel city aka the rubble to makesure all of the nav data is safe and keep it out of the covenant hands
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started after fall of the reach,if you want proof read fall of the reach
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Cole Protocol was started way before Reach, when the UNSC was losing a lot of colonies due to careless ships leading the Covenant to other colonies. It was to protect the location of Earth. It was started by Admiral Cole, who was killed a few years before Reach. So it couldn't have been started at Reach.
nurfhurder More than 1 year ago
Loved it, just like the others
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i only found one problem with this book, aside from the spanish EVERYTHING, and that is that there were multiple small details the author ignored completely, such as the fact that the plasma rifle is an automatic weapon, you cannot make such accurate shots with it.
Ryanxia More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of all Halo novels, I was disapointed with this one. While I know there is a huge market to continue writing Halo novels, this author is not the one for the job. Without giving anything away I will just say that; the Spartans portrayal was the exact opposite as every other book. Very slack, disobeying orders, calling by first name, little things that can drive a die hard fan nuts. Also, this author must have spent his last vacation in Spain or Mexico because everyone and everything was some form of Spanish (in the naming of characters). All and all a very interesting story, and I think I would enjoy this author in original books, but he should definitely not touch another Halo novel again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Of all the Halo books I've read, I liked this on the best. Personally I enjoy Sci-Fi that has strategy and a reasonable explanation for the technology, not just a bunch of explosions and over the top descriptions of how badass the Spartans are. I found this book to have the best plot, with clear strategic objectives behind the battles that engage the reader, rather than just pages and pages of pointless cheesy action. Far from a literary jewel, but if you like the Halo books, than you should like this one. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yyyyeeeeaaaahhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the series this was the last book in the sseries and of corse it was goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooddddddsddddddddddddddd!!!!!!!!!##!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome! But what is with all the latin names? That dounds like someone wasent thinking about names to me...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U-265 More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVED IT one of y favorite action packed halos EVER.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is Delgoado a rebel?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Halo books are the first thing my cousin got me addicted to and this one will be my third
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No u dimwit! Since when were bookss free?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is it free
Anonymous More than 1 year ago