×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hand I Fan With / Edition 1
     

Hand I Fan With / Edition 1

4.4 33
by Tina Mcelroy Ansa
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0385476019

ISBN-13: 2900385476019

Pub. Date: 12/28/1997

Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Bestselling author Tina McElroy Ansa is back with another tale from Mulberry, Georgia, the richly drawn fictional town and home of the extraordinary Lena McPherson. Lena, now forty-five and tired of being "the hand everyone fans with," has grown weary of shouldering the town's problems and wants to find a little love and companionship for herself. So she and a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hand I Fan With 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Herman and Lena were the best love story I've ever read. I was slightly jealous. Of course I realize this is fictional, however some of the adventures these two shared...Oh my goodness! This book was something you just want to go on forever. I've shared it with a diverse group of friends, and it's unanimous...Tina you talk to the desires of women, and the hope for all men - True Love! Although I felt like I was there, nothing would be more satisfying then a movie. To see Herman become a mist, and enter Lena's body, the embarrasing yet endearing sounds of 'Lil Sis, etc. I read certain excerpts to my Fiance, and he was so taken in by the romance, the love and especially the words. He adoringly insisted that I read to him.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Hand I Fan With, was the first book I've ever read that had given me so many emotions at one time! I could not bare the thought of not reading about Lena & Herman for one moment. After Reading this novel in 2days I wanted more. I can't wait to experience more from Tina.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tina, girl, you blew the cover off this book! It was absolutely mind-shatteringly delicious. A matchless Epicurean delight. The Hand I Fan With is for those who love a book with many layers. It touches your senses, all of them. You can almost smell the scented candles. Smell those greens cooking. Feel Herman's touch. The best book I've read in a long time and I read an average of ten books a month!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Engaging, intriguing read this book years ago and it just pulls you right in to the moment of twists turns and heat!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the most interesting and exciting books I have read in a long time! Filled with mystery, a love story for the ages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didnt get to read it but from the reivews its sounds great
TheElizabethP More than 1 year ago
Interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a white Southerner and I adore Ms Ansa's books.. i was born in a small Georgia town much like MULBERRY.not long after The Hand I fan with came out my husband and I read it and we immediately became fans. My husband died three years ago and i only wish he could come into my life the way Herman did. This is a lovely romance story, it is facepaced with good characterazions, a good plot and Herman. What more do you need?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book i love the seris ,baby of the family was a great start and this was a perfect ending. Wish you would write more of these books i have read them all. You are one of my favorite authors .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this dook
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Avidreader47BM More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS FANTASTIC! I read it first about 10 years ago and bought it on cassette. I read it when it originally came out. It really help to make up my mind that the south was where I needed to be and I am originally from Florida I am now preparing to returned. But I digress "I really really enjoyed this book". I have read all of Tina's book and am waiting and hoping for her next one. Is their another one in the works? This book is for the reader who is highly imaginative.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aset More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book I had friend to tell me she did not particulary care for this book. So I am glad I read it for my-self. It took me a little over three weeks to finish this book, if I did not to work, I know I would have finish it much sooner. I love her loving relation-ship with HERMAN, it would be so nice to have a man to cheerish you the way that Herman did. It also, gave you in-sight to call on your ancestors for help. This book needs to be a movie and also a sequel. I did not cry but, I felf Lena's pain. READ FOR YOUR-SELF
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I want to see this book on the silver screen!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Herman brought love and fun to Lena, she let the town run her life. Yes I cried when Herman left, but their love brought new life. Lena now would still have a part of them there with her, not just a memory. I also couldn't put book down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hermon was truly a one of a kind man,in sprite and in the flesh. His support,teachings,understanding of Lena was encouraging. But the ending left me with a series in mind to finish their story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i loved this book iam an avid reader i could not put the book down i cried when herman had to leave. i let a friend read it and she was crying.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't know what woman would not love this book! It was absolutely great. I passed this book to so many people and all loved it. Tina is a very talented writer with a great imagination. I could truly relate to this book.