×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work
     

The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work

3.9 35
by Shawn Achor
 

See All Formats & Editions

Our most commonly held formula for success is broken.
 
Conventional wisdom holds that if we work hard we will be more successful, and if we are more successful, then we’ll be happy. If we can just find that great job, win that next promotion, lose those five pounds, happiness will follow. But recent discoveries in the field of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
EnergyCoach More than 1 year ago
We all like being happy, but most of us don't realize how much we actually need to be happy. It's easy to continue to move ourselves down to the bottom of the priority list in order to take care of all the other things that matter in our lives. And yet as we continue to push our own health and happiness to the side, our performance, not to mention our sanity, often becomes an afterthought. The Happiness Advantage builds a solid case that how we take care of ourselves significantly impacts our business. It is clearly the responsibility of anyone who wants to perform at high levels to pay attention to the benefits that come to them when they not only chose to be happy, but they make "happiness a work ethic". Thank you Shawn for bringing this information to us in a way that is easy to understand and apply to our daily routine. This is truly a fun, informative and life inspiring message.
c_dubb23 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It was easy to follow and it made alot of sense. It was helped my looking at everything at a new outlook. High recommended!
DrakeBullet More than 1 year ago
It has feel-good psychology, but also good practices to follow. It has helped me reshape my outlook and expectations. For example, I have been writing 3 things for which I grateful each day for 4 months. It is a habit that is working. (Read some books on the brain and this book's concepts really hit home.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have ever read! Shawn's uncanny ability to tell a story while teaching this unique "advantage" is amazing and true gift. I could not put this book down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book
Yogjen More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Great studies, statistics, and easy to impliment tips!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First of all, I would have to say I agree with the reviewer who said it was too expensive.  $12.00 would have been appropriate, not $25.00.  And another reviewer mentioned too much discussion regarding 'antidotes' although I believe it was anecdotes.  The first 50 pages were him descring how happiness helps you, how he taught this at Harvard, etc.  Seeing as the book was 210 pages, I think he should have coned this down to 10 pages max.   By poage 50, I was about to toss the book until I looked over at page 51 where he was giving some practical examples.  However, meditation, exercise and spending your money on activities that are socially enjoyable rather than on things is pretty well known. During most the the rest of the book, I felt I was just sitting there at Starbucks listening to someone tell me their opinions.  There was very little practical, hands on application until page 160-170 in which he discussed the 20 second rule and other approaches to breaking bad habits or reforming good ones.  But other than that, the book was filled with observations that anyone has had ovver the  years or heard from a good friend or family member.  I would not recommend this book to any of my friends and am sorry I spent the money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tuscaloosa More than 1 year ago
Great book with great practical advice!! An eye opener!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago