×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hard Measures: How Aggressive CIA Actions after 9/11 Saved American Lives
     

Hard Measures: How Aggressive CIA Actions after 9/11 Saved American Lives

3.9 38
by Jose A. Rodriguez Jr.
 

See All Formats & Editions

An explosive memoir about the creation and implementation of the controversial Enhanced Interrogation Techniques by the former Chief Operations Officer for the CIA's Counterterrorism Center.

While the American public is aware of the CIA’s use of highly controversial “enhanced interrogation techniques,” few know the man who, in the wake

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hard Measures: How Aggressive CIA Actions after 9/11 Saved American Lives 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
CompulsiveReader-VA More than 1 year ago
WOW! This is a real eye opener. I don't think I would be able to put up with one tenth of the horse hooey that those folks who dedicate thier lives to keeping the rest of us safe have to deal with. And i don't mean all the really horrible bad guys they shield us from every day, I mean thier own government and fellow citizens, the ones who should be the most supportive! It is astounding to me that our best and brightest still choose to serve.
Easton More than 1 year ago
Excellent read, Jose Rodriguez is a great patriot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reads like a tom clancy novel except its true! A must read!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book shows just how screwed up our politicians and our political process CAN be!!!!!
Cabo More than 1 year ago
Hard Measures shows the reader in detail just what enhanced interrogations are. It clearly shows that waterboarding is NOT torture. Our own military people are subjected to this. The enemy has long been prepared for this. Loud music and standing for long times .....also not torture. The book points out that by just killing with drones, we do not get any intelligence to stop future attacks. This book is for anyone who wants to learn the truth about our government and our military.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written and compelling narrative must read story of a greatly undervalued American hero
lgken More than 1 year ago
This book covers much of the same material as The Black Banners by Ali Soufan but from the CIA perspective. This book is best read with the Black Banners. The two books sometimes supplement each other. They sometimes complement each other. They sometimes contradict each other. Together they present a fuller and more accurate account of the war against Al Qaeda. What I found most interesting is the difference in viewpoints about what to do with the terrorists after you stop them. The FBI wants to convict and imprison them. The CIA seems to feel this is not their business. The result is the limbo of Guantanamo prison which is neither a civilian prison nor a POW camp but something of both.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read after seeing his interview on 60 Minutes. We owe a debt of gratitude for all willing to put themselves in such a position to protect our country...in or out of uniform!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written book by Jose Rodriguez. After you read this book you have a full understanding of the value of interrogation programs that thwart more terrorist attacks and help make our country safer. You leave with a better understanding of how Courageous CIA Officers really are putting themselves in harm's way to protect our nation. A Must Read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a shame to see how honorable members of one of our governments most important organizations are repeatedly dragged over the coals for doing the legal and right thing. To cause a terrorist discomfort in order to save lives (American, European, Middle Eastern or other) is not a crime, it's a necessity. This book was very good at showing how our intelligence service responded after the attacks on 9/11 and the techniques that they used to save lives. Very, very well written insightful book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book but more of an apologia for his CIA career than an expose'.
TBird03 More than 1 year ago
the book sounds factual.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard measures lives up to its title!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago