×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hard Times
     

Hard Times

3.3 32
by Charles Dickens
 

See All Formats & Editions

No other work of Charles Dickens presents such a scathing indictment against the relentless greed of the Victorian industrial society and its misapplied philosophy. With savage bitterness, Dickens unmasks the terrible industries that imprisoned the bodies of the helpless labor class and the equally diabolical institutions that shackled the development of their minds.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hard Times 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is typical Dickens where many subplots are interwoven into an overall main plot. Many subtle moral implications are made about the characters and subject matter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bad copy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't quite understand the plot of the book so far. If you have read the book before, can you please spoil it a bit for me? If so, respond to #equestria
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THEY'RE AT ANOTHER BOOK, FIND IT!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sigh nevermind. v.v
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im<p> Also<p> Grub<p> Ish<p>
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is really a good book, even from the description I knew it would be great and so it is. This is the most best books I've ever read :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
all the free dickens books have screwed up text. please fix them. I down loaded hard times, and got screwed up text from domby and son.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NancyLuvsReading More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book as I would all Dickens books. The true intention of the book is there in all the amazing characters that Dickens invents and the predicaments that are their's due to life circumstances and their own actions. Dickens always comes up with appropriate names for some of his characters as in McChoakamchild as a teachers name. I found that to be very amusing and too true in some instances of my own life. As for the accents and so called run on sentences well, practice the accents outloud till you get them. Any education, and that's what I consider reading books of another time period as, is worth the practice and little bit of work to obtain such enjoyment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
UniCacher More than 1 year ago
The prospect of millions of free titles may seem appealing, but you get what you pay for. In this case, the first paragraph alone indicates the value you receive for zero dollars. Nearly every other word is mis-scanned, rendering the text virtually unreadable. Don't waste time on the free texts. Spend a dollar to get a version that is edited and contains a functional table of contents.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago