×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus
     

Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus

4.6 17
by John MacArthur
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jesus Christ did not die on the cross so you and I could have a nice day.

Ministers and teachers who water down the gospel of Christ in order to make it more popular and appealing may be leading their fun-loving audiences down the road to eternal punishment.

This book is John MacArthur's unflinching, unapologetic treatise on the modern tendency to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book blew me away. Dr. MacArthur starts with Luke 9:23, in which Jesus is quoted as saying, ¿If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow Me.¿ He then proceeds to tell it like it is, explaining that while salvation is a free gift of God, there is a cost to following Christ ¿ a willingness to deny self and submit to the will of God.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed the honesty in which John MacArthur wrote this book. Every Christian who takes up a seat in the pew at church, NEEDS to read this book. We are to 'examine ourselves to see if we are in the faith.' This book will certainly help you to do that.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Along with the Gospel According to Jesus, this is another book that can show you whether you're actually following Jesus. Read it at the risk of losing yourself and everything you cherish.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Like 'Knowing God' by J.I. Packer, this book will shake you down to your foundations. It's quite understandable, but not easy to read if you've been living the Christian Lite lifestyle. Read this one if you want to be a disciple rather than a groupie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read 25 of MacArthurs books .This is one of his best .Its right on .A must read for all professing christians !
Guest More than 1 year ago
once again, as only he can, John MacArthur cuts away the superficial 'fluffly'/'feel good' misconceptions, so common in the modern church, and reveals the intense commitment Jesus required of all who would name The Name....fantastic stuff, as usual
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great book by a master who can preach about what its like believing in Jesus.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have ever read. John MacArthur knows his Bible! This book is right on. If Amercia is to ever see revival the message of this book must be put into practice!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would certainly recommend this book because the author, John MacArthur, sets out what the Bible really says is the way to salvation through Jesus Christ; obedience to the sayings of a Jesus and repentance, is absolutely crucial to going to heaven. "Christianity without obedience is Christianity without Christ." Without Christ there is no salvation. "There is no other name under heaven, that has given among men, by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12 This book makes an important distinction between cheap grace or easy believism and the real truth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Details in plain language the differences in various types of churches. It lays the foundation to understand the true biblical doctrine that a "True" church will follow, and explains the dangers of being in a church that is too relaxed with the ways of our general society. After reading this, I had a greater understanding of the teachings of Jesus, and his intent for the church.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago