×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Harriet the Spy
     

Harriet the Spy

4.5 118
by Louise Fitzhugh
 

See All Formats & Editions

Harriet, would-be writer and avid observer of life, records everything she sees and hears . . . until her notebooks fall into the wrong hands. A superb portrait of an extraordinary child. —Chicago Tribune. Bursts with life . . . a tour de force. —SLJ.

Notable Childrens Books of 1940–1970 (ALA)
Outstanding Children's Books

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Harriet the Spy 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 118 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this book is one of the most interesting books I have ever read in my entire life! I reccomend it to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remember reading this when I was in elementary school. I hated reading then and I was neevr good at it. But my mother made me read a book and I picked this book. Even though it was really thick the cover made me want to crack it open. When I was little this made me want to read more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Keeping notes of everyone in her diary, Harriet's notions of her friends become known and they dislike her. She then tries to do good so they'll like her once more. Shows children that great ambitions at the cost of others isn't the way to go.
Nicole Valli More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome!!!!!! I l-o-v-e-d it! Plus if u like it theres a sequel call harriett spies again and then theres another sequel after that called harriett the spy, double agent. I own all three. I luv her.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is great because it makes you feel like a spy. It deserves 3 stars. Also you would wish that you were Harriet. It is the perfect children's book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book for the forst time when i was 8 an have read it sveral times since it is definitely one of my top ten. The auther really makes you see through harriets eyes . A real classic recomend to anyone if yor worried dont be it is a clean well written book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read the hardcover. Best book ever!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As an itp patient i really feel this gives me a boost u c sitting in the hospital for hrs on end getting treatment can wear me out but this is the best ever(aside of dr bussel) i LOVE IT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It sounds good, and I only read one revew!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has good charecters who are intresting and unique. The writer has amazing detail and when i finnished reading it i felt like i could come to the understand friendship and growing up.
DebbyNY More than 1 year ago
This book my mother got me when I was approx 10. I LOVED it... I copied Harriet.. read all the time.. carried a notebook.. and spied on my neighbors... lol I am in my 50's now.. and have re-purchased it so my kids and theirs can have it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Harriet loves to observe. She writes down everything she sees in her notebook. Sometimes her spying is more important than her friends. When Harriet is losing her friends, losing her beloved nanny, and losing her notebook all at the same time, her world turns upside down. Will Harriet ever become the spy that she is in her dreams?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
100%
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I use to like this but now I hate it. Don't know why but I hate this just don't tjink think this is cool.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spies sometimes stalk people... trust me....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wowie this book was really great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This before kid would be sneaking around with a phone video and recording here she had to write and read favorite next to the barcularbunny the veggie juice sucker. Granny B
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why do you call her a stalker. Is it because she watches what people do all of the time. I am asking you this #1because you called Harriet a stalker and#2 because I have not read the book yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a good book exept Harriet is a stalker
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who doesn't love Harriet the Spy?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She rote in her blog alot she rote about other people enstead of herself
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We love this book! My kids always want me to keep reading. We love Harriet the spy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago