×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
     

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

4.6 5759
by J. K. Rowling
 

See All Formats & Editions

Harry Potter has never played a sport while flying on a broomstick. He's never worn a cloak of invisibility, befriended a giant, or helped hatch a dragon. All Harry knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry's room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn't had a birthday party in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5760 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, locking themselves in their apartments for four days, emerging with a glow unparalleled to any I have seen. A sheep that I am, I decided to not stand out and bought the first Harry Potter book. A day later I emerged from my dwelling, smile on my face and a need to read more about Harry. Whoever said that Harry was for kids only? For shame! J.K. Rowling is one of those rare novelists who write flawlessly, capturing imagination, hopes and dreams, addressing children and adults alike. Great story line, clear messages and a whole new world to explore are just some of the attributes of the first Harry Potter. Harry, a wizard by birth and unaware of it, is 11 and living with his mother's sister and her family. An orphan, Harry is treated as such in a very Dickensonian way by his adopted family, who detests Harry for being different. That all changes when Harry starts attending Hogwarts, a school for wizards and witches, where a whole new world unfolds before him. The new school is not without dangers, and Harry learns the truth about his parents' deaths, as well as about the lightning shaped scar on his own forehead that made Harry a celebrity in the world of witchcraft. A fantastic novel that kept me yearning for more. And thankfully, there IS more. Highly recommeded.
Balina More than 1 year ago
The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book pulled me in from the beginning, when Harry was placed on the doorstep. I barely put it down. J.K. Rowling creates a magical world and you feel like you are Harry because you are experiencing Hogwarts for the first time, like him. Even though they are not normal experiences, you feel kind of like him, just thrust in. Thoroughly well written and very enjoyable.
DeDeFlowers More than 1 year ago
I am a 20-something reader. I have seen all the Harry Potter movies many, many times and I love them. So naturally I had to read the books before the 6th movie comes out. I'm so happy I did! This book is fun. It is different than the movie and definitly more solid. You get to know the characters and it makes situations that take place more meaningful. I think this is a great book for all ages, like most readers say. Their is nothing I can tell you about this book that the previous reviews haven't already said. 5 stars! It's a brilliant book.
Colette8 More than 1 year ago
Where to start? J.K. Rowling is an AMAZING author. These books are funny, engaging, entertaining, and way better than the movies. Her books are incredibly rich with detail...so much so, that I know for a fact, you can read them 15 TIMES and still want to read them again and again when new books are scarce. More than that, you take new stuff from them with every read. It's a great book series for any person, of any age. Everyone in my family has read them, and loved every minute of it, my parents included. So don't assume they're just for kids. On the opposite side of that coin, even if you know a kid too young to read it, odds are they'd love to listen to the story if someone read it to them. This series has turned my brothers into readers, when they wouldn't go within 10 feet of a book before. Try it out! You'll love it...all I can say is... get a hardcover...cause a paperback certainly won't last long. lol.
tob2007 More than 1 year ago
Quite a few years ago, I was a kid who spent all my time in front of th TV. Always thought books were for nerds. That is why I was so surprised when I got a copy of "Harry Potter" for Christmas. I thought I would never read it. One day I was home sick and the cable boxwas broken. I decided to read "Harry Potter". I finished it that day. I became a reader after that. These books are the best books ever, written by an exelent author. I cannot reccomend them enough! This book marks the begining of the greatest book series ever!
Lindsie More than 1 year ago
When I first heard about the Harry Potter series I was uninterested. I like vampire books, horror books, and of course chick lit books. However, I had to read it for a children's literature class, and I LOVED IT! What a good book- you do not need to be a child to read this series. I am excited to pick up the next book to see how the series progresses. A+++ for Harry Potter!
MishMan11 More than 1 year ago
Harry Potter is one of the very best books I've ever read. This book is about a young boy named Harry who found out he was a very famous wizard! It is filled with danger and excitement on each page. J.K.Rowling is a great author and releases new thoughts by the minute.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I own the original and I'm a huge Harry Potter fan. I couldn't pass up getting the 10th anniversary edition. It's worth reading over and over again. You find out things you didn't notice the first time or two. J.K. Rowling is brilliant. The cover art is beautiful as always. I highly recommend getting this copy. You can never have too many Harry Potter books!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Harry Potter so much. I have all the books, movies, shirts, legobsets, everything! J.K. Rowling i such a role model to me. I have reade each book multiple times and they keep getting better! Some if the people who write the reviews are idiots who havent read the books. Harry Potter is about love, friendahip, good overpowering evil, and doing whats right in the face of adversity. Twilight, in th eother hand, is about how important it is to have a boyfriend. The Hunger Games is a great book, but the second two bored me half to death. All the HP books are amazing :) Any HG fan will live Harry Potter. Uf you are looking for a romance, a fantasy, an action, or a book that has all of the above, Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone is the book for you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I do not think that any book will ever compare to the Harry Potter series. They have a magic that no other book has.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am obsessed with the Harry Potter series! I can't believe that it has been that long since they have been out! I love that they redid the artwork. It looks wonderful! I love that they have Harry looking in the mirror.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lov e the series, the movies, EVERYTHING about Harry Potter. Anyone can love this series! I would rate this infinity stars if I could!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is probably my third or fourth time reading this book. Just as good as the firsr time I read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I am happy to have the entire collection in ebook format.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Does anyone get excited when the harry potter weekend comes on?
booksatruestory More than 1 year ago
This is the third time I’ve read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I really enjoyed reading this along with Pottermore. Pottermore incorporates a lot of the details mentioned in the story. It was fun to pay attention to the little details this time since I know the story so well. I also liked reading the bonus material she wrote on Pottermore – it adds a lot to the story. I don’t know if I realized this before, but J.K. Rowling is excellent at showing and not telling. For example: “[Mr. Dursley] hummed “Tiptoe Through the Tulips” and as he worked, jumped at small noises.” She doesn’t have to say that he’s starting to lose it because I’ve decided that for myself. The books have so many fun characters that aren’t in the movies. I love how optimistic and humble Harry is. I also like how light-hearted and quirky the books are. The movies tend to focus on the darker aspects of the story. I never get tired of reading these books.
tremmons More than 1 year ago
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J. K. Rowling is a thrilling and compelling book. Harry Potter, the main character, is a wizard but doesn't know it. Shielded by his aunt and uncle, he lives underneath the staircase in their house. one day, his life is forever changed. Receiving a letter from Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, he learns that his parents were powerful witches. Because of this, Harry inherently will grow up to be a powerful wizard too! Adventures and challenges are faced by Harry and his new friends. Multiple aspects of daily life in Hogwarts kept me interested and excited. Quidditch is one of the many unique features Hogwarts has to offer. Harry, hardly knowing how to even fly his broom, is put in the lead position, the seeker. The seeker in quidditch is the player who primarily chases the golden snitch, and if he is successful in obtaining it, it is an automatic and instant win for his team. Harry encounters bullies, a troll, and even the evil sorcerer who killed his parents and left him with a scar on his forehead. It is a very unpredictable book full of surprises. Read the whole series to watch how harry grows, going through personality, physical, and emotional changes. Slowly growing from a timid, shy boy into a courageous, confident young man. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is a book of friendship, action, rivalries, and surprises that I recommend to all ages.
MrsTK More than 1 year ago
The Harry Potter series are for adults and children and everybody in-between!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I was 7, I was told to read the Harry Potter books. I despised Harry Potter. It seemed stupid and pointless. Then my friends started saying "Oh Harry Potter is the best" so I gave it a shot. I read the first book and instantly fell in love with them. I bought all the books and movies and decided that after reading each book, I would watch the movie for it. HARRY POTTER- THE BEST BOOK AND MOVIE SERIES EVER!!!!!!!! .J.K. Rowling is my favorite author ever.
Mztea More than 1 year ago
So happy these books are finally in e-format... but buying books from other countries and other languages would be also awesome.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book because it takes you different places in your imagination. The magic and wizardry was spectacular.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't you dare call Harry lame! I have no idea who you are, but that is so mean! Imagine if JKR heard you say that. Would she like it?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These boks have really changed my life. I sit and cry sometimes because im so sad thats its all gone. But its not really, gone. Itll always be here in our hearts. Without Harry Potter i would b enothing. I mean nothing. It has shaped who i am, and who i want to be. I am nothing without it. All the characters matured throughout the series. Snape went the whole series of being the bad guy, when he finally died he counteracts that whole theory. Draco Malfoy is a bully, but complety misunderstood. Weasley is our king, hermione is the brightest witch of her age, and harry is the chosen one. I get all my quotes,, from harry potter. I get all my jokes from harry potter. My room is covered with harry potter. Harry Potter is who i am. Its me. These characters, the settings, and all the wonderful things about this series will all be in my heart. And i hope they stay in yours too. Sincerly, - A proud PotterHead.