×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hater
     

Hater

3.9 171
by David Moody
 

See All Formats & Editions

Soon to be a major motion picture—produced by Guillermo del Toro and directed by J.A. Bayona

REMAIN CALM DO NOT PANIC TAKE SHELTER WAIT FOR FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS THE SITUATION IS UNDER CONTROL Society is rocked by a sudden increase in the number of violent assaults on individuals. Christened 'Haters' by the media, the attackers

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hater 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 171 reviews.
Dave_Lightfoot More than 1 year ago
WOW. The first thing I will say is, you don't need to read a review of this book. You just need to read it for yourself. This story is fantastic. David Moody has created a story that could possibly be one of the best modern "situation horror" stories ever written. I was hooked from the first chapter. This book starts at a fast pace and just continues to gain momentum right until the end. This isn't your run of the mill "horror" story. There isn't a monster, no vampires or werewolves. The fear comes from our own humanity, or what will happen if we lose our humanity. The author has created a world were a proportion of the population becomes affected by a "new" kind of disorder. Once affected they lose all humanity towards those not affected. They fear those who haven't changed and they HATE those who haven't changed. They find only one way of fixing this situation. Kill the unchanged. The horror in this book comes at the reader from three different angles. Firstly, we have the violence that is carried out throughout the whole story. It is relentless, in your face and most of all, it is believable. Every attack resembles something we could possibly read or see in the news on a daily basis. Secondly, we have the simple horror of normal people being trapped and confused in this situation. The author really creates a spine chilling experience by making us feel empathy with those not affected and from this we get a feeling of the fear that they must be feeling. Thirdly, the horror, at its best, comes from the very realistic way that David Moody has shown us how humanity, love and empathy can easily be destroyed once fear is added into the world. How friends can turn on friends once they are shown the difference. How we fear those who are different from ourselves and the lengths we are willing to go to get rid them. The story is easy to read, captivating, brilliant, scary and worryingly mirrors the world we live in. Expect a few shivers down your back and after reading, try not to judge those you walk past in the street. After all, it is only a story........ but it will make you think!!!
SavageBS More than 1 year ago
Awesome, outstanding, very well written book! "Hater" is the 1st book in what will be a trilogy. The next book, "Dog Blood" will be out soon according to back page's author's notes. Don't let the obscure title fool you, "Hater" is the real deal! A word of advice, read "Hater" now, don't wait until the movie comes out or until all three books are out and everyone is talking about it and your three books behind. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! A few random people are brutally attacked by strangers. The next day, several more attacks. All random, all appear to be for no certain reason. The media declares the attacks are being committed by haters! But who is a hater, what is a hater, how can we tell them apart? The government puts the following message on every television, every station- REMAIN CALM DO NOT PANIC TAKE SHELTER WAIT FOR FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS THE SITUATION IS UNDER CONTROL The haters can tell us apart, they already know, "it's kill or be killed, hate or be hated!" Haters are not zombies, their not vampires, read it and find out for yourself! The book gets better & better all the way through. It's fast paced and the ending is phenomenal! Guillermo del Toro, director of "Pan's Labyrinth", "Hellboy 1 & 2" has already purchased the rights to this novel for production of the major motion picture "Hater"! I will definitely watch the movie and definitely read the next two novels when they come out. Read it!
Luckeechikee More than 1 year ago
I had no idea what to expect going into this book but by the end of the first chapter I felt like I'd been punched in the face....but in a good way! It is amazingly well written and leaves you wanting more every time you have to close the cover. If you enjoy the infected human or undead genre you will undoubtedly enjoy this book.
OpalRain More than 1 year ago
Nothing about this book is entirely innovative or remarkable, but it was a good read that I would cautiously recommend. It's very interesting and I was definitely compelled to keep reading all the way to the end. It took a little while to get to the interesting part. The first half of the book or so was interesting, but typical. I would have gotten to the original bit more quickly because that's the part that made this book a four for me. If you start reading this book, you may start reading it and get a little bored at first, but push through it because the plot twist towards the end makes it worth it and makes it unique and a story that you will remember. Gory, morbid, strikingly violent, but it captures your imagination. If you enjoy horror movies/books, get this. If you're looking for a heart warming tale, go elsewhere! I would check out this author's other books for a casual and interesting read, but he's not my favorite.
JonathonThomas More than 1 year ago
What an amazing read! The book's cover catches the eye and draws you in. From the very beginning of the book, you are captivated. The pace is quick and never slows down. Page after page is filled with a unique sense of anticipation that forces you into the world of the Haters. The way Moody writes in the personal form forces you to think like the character and truly commit to his process of drawing conclusions and making decisions. Although his names is mentioned only a handful of times, you relate to the main character so well, you barely realize you don't know his name. I highly recommend this book for anyone looking to escape into a fantastical and gory alter-world.
Liston More than 1 year ago
Hater is different type of horror in which raw human fear, anger, and self preservation become the enemy where both the "normal" and the "haters" both feel that they must protect themselves from each other. I thought that the book was interesting from a psycological standpoint but it was just me but the main character irritated me but beyond my opinion, it was a decent book.
RHale More than 1 year ago
Pretty good book - I'm looking forward to the next one in the series. It stuck (mostly) with the rules and had just enough twists to keep it interesting. There were a few parts that were dry and also a few that were annoying (the children - these kids are a living advertisment for birth control). I will probably read this again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book leaves you wondering who the 'bad-guy' really is. Should be interesting to see if the movie does it justice.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Danny McCoyne is a bureaucrat at the Parking Fine Processing Office; a job he loathes but as poor as the pay is he needs to keep his boring position in order to feed his wife and kids. Depressed Danny knows he has no future beyond being near the bottom of his agency's food chain. Danny is stunned when he witnesses an apparent random act of violence. When more occur, the media dubs the assaulters as Haters. Victims are loved ones, friends and fellow workers as much as strangers. No one can explain why even as society begins to unravel as exponentially the number of attacks is beyond when the government can contend with. Danny anticipates the worst is yet to come; so he tries to keep his loved ones safe though that means hiding inside their home like convicts. He trusts no one especially the government who he thinks may be behind the sudden violence This is a chilling thriller as the increasingly violent society forcing innocents to lock themselves and their families in houses that are prisons seems plausible due to the pace of the story line. The brutality is often vivid, rightfully so, as that cruelty is what leads to self incarceration. Fans of a dark world will appreciate this grim thriller as normality is simple survival in a Moody world gone mad. Harriet Klausner
bob boehm More than 1 year ago
I love me but this book is weird don't mess with me Wisconsin and good morning .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not worth the cost
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I kept waiting for it to get better. It never did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not enjoy this book. I did not like the main character, or his family. The story is actually a good story though. It is about the ramifications of a society to oftened touched by hate. I felt a little dirty after reading it though. Could i become a hater?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was ok in the early going but became more and more rambling and disconnected. Are we supposed to root for this guy? He wasn't very likeable when he was well and sure wasn't later.
scarlett77 More than 1 year ago
Violence begins unexpectidly in all areas of society and it is expanding exponentially. People become enraged and attack others with no known provocation. The news says it is copy cat violence. Then a virus is suspected. Before long speculation is a thing of the past. The collapse of society is observed by a seemingly unconnected number of people. Then it starts to come closer and closer to home. What is the cause? Where will it end? This trilogy explores the situation with well developed characters and interesting storyline of escalating violence. A great new author. A great new series.
Fate More than 1 year ago
My first encounter with this hellishly delightful text was through the public library. I am a professional reader & read it in a day. My roommate loved it as well -- finishing it in less than a week (he works, has a boyfriend & parties full time). Every Xmas I give my youngest cousin money inside an excellent book. Last year it was Kostova's THE HISTORIAN. This year it will be Moody's HATER.
Annibebe More than 1 year ago
This book is unnerving, and leaves you wondering who the real enemy is.... Who really are the Haters? Can't wait to read his new one - hopefully, answers will be provided.
divideByZero More than 1 year ago
I read the whole thing and its just bad on many levels. Its looking for a metaphor and the author should of stated it in an abstract so that we might pin him down on it with Elmer's glue and get it over with. The previous reviewers alluded to a fast paced novel ... nope. Its kind of like Dawn of the Dead but you never get to the Mall. All character development kinda stops half way through and we are on a long wrap up for part two. I really liked the beginning of the book. The main character was developing nicely and I liked how the author gave us the hater's perspective when they changed. From there everything is miserable and self centered for the most part. If your not a hater, you do nothing but what good for you and skip everyone else. When your a hater, once you get past the initiation part of killing some innocent sucker just cuz its the most logical path to follow, your palling around with the bestest most magnanimous altruistic bunch of self center people that do everything for one another but kill everyone else as long as the timing is right and if its not, we act like we did before; whine and wait ... wait, mmm. I have a hard time with irrational acts leading to rational pacts of irrational people that have a global goal that must lead to nothing in the end because they are a disconnected people with no other goal. Did I just say that out loud? Maybe its a Gaea thing. Maybe its a Nietzsche "become what you are" thing, which I'm all for but it was never meant in this vein. Maybe its a I don't care because its boring thing. Hater/non-hater ... whats the difference with the exception of kill, kill, kill for different self centered reasons ... which kind of sounds like we are hitting a metaphor, but its not that easy in this book, and the journey isn't worth wherever this story goes, part two goes and beyond. I'm skipping the boat ride.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am truly confused by all the positive reviews. I feel as if I am missing something. Did I read the same book? The story starts out well enough, but around the middle it turns into a slow and laborious trek into the confusing and dilutions world of the "Haters". For me it certainly was not a page turner. I kept hoping that at some point it would start making sense. It's "us or them", a universal theme in many classic stories. However, this one lacks cohesion and focus, in my humble opinion.
ConchitaNYC More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will admit what first attracted me to Hater was its cover—the white stuck out from the rest of the black and green books in the horror section of Borders. The blood splatters on the cover helped drive the point home, too. I needed to read this book. Hater is something of a thrill ride. David Moody perfectly captures the apathy of the everyman. Danny, his main character, is neutral as the world begins to fall down around him. However, Danny’s love for his daughter really makes him pop as a character for me.  For people bored with the current “zombie” genre, Hater provides a welcome change—these “monsters” are driven by fear. We get to see inside the minds of the “haters,” as well as the “unchanged,” allowing you to really see both sides of the world Moody has created. Moody is a master of pacing—Hater is slow when it needs to be slow, and picks up pace at just the right moments. Moody knows how to suck you in (even when you really need to put down the book to be somewhere else! Thanks for the sunburn, David!)  I often recommend Hater to people who love the horror genre. It’s so different—it’s not set after the apocalypse; you actually get to watch the world fall apart. I’ve read it several times and I love it more each time. Definitely a must-read for anyone who loves chaos and tense situations (as well as top-notch writing).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hater was a good book, however the rest of the series sucks and just felt like a waste of time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago