×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Havoc
     

Havoc

3.8 24
by Jack Du Brul
 

See All Formats & Editions

New Jersey, 1937: A homicidal madman bears a safe holding a terrible secret that is thought lost when fiery fate intervenes. Decades later, the discovery of that secret is about to threaten the world once more....

Mining engineer Philip Mercer is in the war-torn Central African Republic searching for precious metal. There, he meets Cali Stone, a field

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Havoc 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like Clive Cussler and started reading these as a follow on to their collaboration
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read rhis book as a younger girl, but never got to finish. Im so glad i found it again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't stop reading. My husband read it before me and loved it too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If your looking for a good action novel, don't look here. The plot of this book is thin, and it jumps from one unlikely action scene to the next. There is very little plot or character development. Also the main focus for the book is a terrorists use of a nuclear device, and the author doesn't even get the basics of nuclear radiation correct.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tried this book to see how well Jack did on his own after reading the oregon files. Needless to say I was very Impressed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It has been so long since the last Jack DuBrul Philip Mercer adventure that I could not help but enjoy this somewhat shallow Novel. This is definitely not one of DuBrul's best works I would say it was average. Havoc lacked the depth of characters presented in his earlier novels. I just could not get inside the heads of the characters. I wanted to know more about Cali and Poli, what made them tick, what in their background made them who they are. I desired to know more of what Mercer was thinking, what was his logic, why he was doing what he was doing. I was drawing some of my own conclusions based on my familiarity of the character from previous novels. This novel was too much like a Dirk Pitt adventure story. No real depth to the characters, just action adventure. This why I never became a Clive Cussler Dirk Pitt fan, they were just too shallow. I was enjoying the Jack DuBrul Philip Mercer series because there was meat to the characters it required me to be involved with the characters and the adventure, not simply being entertained. Show me that Mercer is truly a PhD and worthy of a Presidential appointed position! I also missed Jack¿s mental and physical chemistry descriptions. I could not get that deep mental picture of the interaction between Mercer and his leading lady. The descriptive mental and physical chemistry has been tone way down. She¿s there they kiss, so what! If you enjoy non stop action adventure and have no desire for depth of characters you will enjoy this novel. Personally, I can¿t wait for the next Jack DuBrul in depth Philip Mercer adventure.
Guest More than 1 year ago
His best book yet. Ilove the drift in the path of Dirk Pitt.Mercer Harry and Book Out Do them selves.I love geology and Spend What little Free time i have rock hunting in SC and NC..Jack Keep Up the good work..I must Say After Spending Time in special operations it is nice to see an author who writes a piece that is action packed but shows the Human side of those tasked with our Defence.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1937 Chester Bowie makes a startling discovery about how Alexander the Great conquered the world. He realizes the emperor had a weapon of mass destruction millennia before anyone heard of nuclear energy. However, on his trip from Europe to the United States to further his work, Chester dies on that fatal Hindenburg disaster, but he leaves clues about his discovery.---------------------- In the present in the midst of the civil war that has caused death and destruction to the Central African Republic, Geologist Philip Mercer mourns the death of his girl friend. That is until he finds marooned CDC researcher nuclear energy expert Cali Stowe stranded in the middle of nowhere. She was on her way to the remote village of Kivu where apparently some unknown cause is deforming and killing newborns. He takes her to the village where she begins testing, but guerillas arrive and take the pair prisoners. However, warriors come out of nowhere to kill the guerillas, but European mercenary Poli escapes. As the couple flees to DC to follow clues left by Bowie, Poli comes after them.------------------------ The plot may be implausible, but it sure is fun as the action never slows down whether it is 1937 or the present or in Africa or the United States. Philip (see HARON'S LANDING) seems a bit shallow as he goes in a nanosecond from grief to desire, but no one will care as the adventures and escapes never stop. Thriller fans will enjoy Jack DuBrul¿s HAVOC.--------------------- Harriet Klausner